We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Little Hotel in Toronto”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #39 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This past stay at Hotel Victoria was our 6th stay. We always stay here when in town for a concert. The location is great, the staff in amazing, the atmosphere is modern but warm. You feel like a star staying. We 1st stayed at this hotel a few years ago b4 the renovations took place and we loved it then. Now with eveything all new and shiny we absolutely will NOT stay anywhere else and continue to recommened it to all of our friends and family. We will be heading to Toronto again in a few short months for another concert and have already booked our room. Can't wait to stay at Hotel Victoria once again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, and are awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn Jer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev R, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

HI Jenn Jer L

Thanks so much for your great review - glad that you enjoyed the renovated rooms. And our location, which is of course really unbeatable.

A few things you may not know (or maybe you do, as a Hotel Victoria fan!):

- If you're in town for a show, book our "Show your Tickets to Save" package and save 10% off a room
- If you book with us directly (our website, on the phone), you'll get the lowest rate guaranteed
- If you join our Facebook page, you'll be entered into a draw to win a *free room night*. We draw every month.

We also have our TripAdvisor photography contest going on with a chance to win a free room night ANY night of the year (including TIFF!) - check our our Facebook page for more details on that.

See you again soon.
Rajeev Ruparell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Victoria because it was close to a concert venue we were attending, and we are so glad we did. The room was spacious, with wood laminates instead of carpet, which provided a clean, allergen-free rest, and the large bed was a perfect combination of firm but comfortable. The front staff provided exceptional service as well. Our only complaint was the parking situation; we neglected to check with the hotel prior to arrival, so we ended up parking in a nearby retail-area garage that cost way too much for one night. We would plan that better next time, and we hope the hotel would suggest parking arrangements in its confirmation e-mails. (If it did, we didn't notice it, and we are usually very good about those sorts of details.)

Room Tip: We were on the seventh floor with a view of Yonge Street, which is quite busy day or night. Noise wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev R, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Hi balhui,

Thanks for the review! Glad you enjoyed the rooms, our great location and the service (something we're particularly proud of).

We do our best to inform our guests of the parking situation, but you're right, it's not as clear as it should be. In the next website revision (which should be out shortly) it will be clear. Your suggestion of adding to the confirmation emails is excellent and we are now looking into this. Thanks. :-)

A few other things, just for your information: you can always get the absolute **lowest** rate if you book with us directly (calling or on our website) - also, if you Like us on Facebook (username "HotelVictoriaToronto"), you'll be entered into our monthly draw for a free room night...

See you again soon-
Rajeev Ruparell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We chose the hotel based mostly on TripAdvisor reviews! The hotel is in a great location! We walked to the Market area, CN Tower, and downtown shopping. We chose a Business Queen room after reading the reviews. The only complaint: the room was set for 1 person rather than 2. We had to ask for a second coffee each day. The hotel was clean, quiet, and in a great location. The reviews said there would not be a view from our room....but we were out most of the day so that was OK. The rooms are not huge, just as the reviews stated, but we stayed out most of the day so it was OK. We would definitely stay again if we were in Toronto!

Room Tip: The business queen room on the 5th floor was quiet! If we hadn't met someone coming off of the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowcountry_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajeev R, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Hi snowcountry_11,

Thanks for the great review! We're glad that you enjoyed the room and our location - we always get high marks for those. Our apologies for the oversight regarding the two coffee settings - next time you come back we will be sure to remedy this.

Also, just so you know, on our Facebook page (facebook.com/HotelVictoriaToronto) we give away a free room night every month. :-)

thanks
Rajeev Ruparell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night in Toronto "just because". We selected the Hotel Victoria because it was right on Yonge St and right town down near restaurants and the Eaton Centre. The hotel is a pretty old building with 12' ceilings in the rooms. We had a basic room which was pretty small - but certainly big enough for the time we were actually in the room. Bed was comfortable and other than a dusty cupboard shelf the room was clean. Bathroom was nice, but they have probably learned that wallpaper in a bathroom is not the best idea. Front desk staff were attentive and actually let us into our room at noon even though checkin wasn't til 3 o'clock.

Overall - I'd stay there again for a "one nighter".

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

HI GoKingBee,

Thanks for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay. Our building is definitely old (over 100 years!) which made the renovation quite challenging, but we're happy with our new, chic look.

Next time you're in town, try our Deluxe Rooms, which have over 400 sq feet of space (and have mini-fridges and free Netflix movies on AppleTV!) - in fact, we'd be happy to offer you a complimentary upgrade on your next stay! We'll get in touch with details.

Also remember to find us on Facebook (HotelVictoriaToronto), where we give away a free room night every month, and offer other exclusive deals and offers.

Rajeev Ruparell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Hotel Victoria on a number of occasions. Our first stay was based on a recommendation by a family member and now we recommend it to friends and family as well. The rooms aren't huge, but for me, they also have a more "homey" feel which I take comfort in. We almost always expect to see Peter at the desk and we almost always do. He makes excellent recommendations and goes out of his way to make sure everything is just right. When there is a snag, it's dealt with quickly and fairly. The hotel is easy to get to when travelling into T.O. and it's close to so many things. The only time we were disappointed was when we couldn't get a room because the whole place had been booked up by conventioneers. The place we stayed instead didn't begin to match up but cost a whole lot more.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleblancdicresce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Hi sleblancdicresce,

Thanks so much for the kind words! Peter is definitely one of our VIPs at the desk, we'll pass your comments along. We're getting a lot of great comments on our new chic look, and of course we're lucky to have such a great location.

We're looking forward to your next stay with us! Remember to find us on Facebook where we give away a free room night every month. :-)

Rajeev Ruparell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Hotel Victoria has been nicely renovated and offers well appointed rooms that are simple and small but comfortable.

The square footage of the rooms is small (i.e. New York small, not Paris small) but is all you really need.

I would recommend this boutique hotel as a reasonably priced alternate to the other downtown hotels.

You can find street parking at reasonable rates if you are willing to walk a few blocks -- no big deal.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBTravelReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Hi LadyBird1975

Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. :-) On your next stay, be sure to try our Deluxe King or Deluxe Twin Queen rooms (both over 400 sq feet) - in fact we'd be happy to offer you a complimentary upgrade next time you stay with us (we've sent you a direct message with the details).

Also be sure to check us out on Facebook (HotelVictoriaToronto), where we give away a free room night every month!

Thanks,
Rajeev Ruparell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

a small intimate hotel centrally located in financial toronto; near subway, major shops, and convention hotels; across from marche restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner and a unique
shopping center

Room Tip: get deluxe king for more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drnormy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean F, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2011

Hi drnormy-

Thanks so much, glad you enjoyed the hotel. We get a lot of comments on our central location, since we're right in the heart of the theatre and financial district. Next time if you're coming for an event, be sure to check out our "Show your Tickets and Save 10%" special on our website - pretty self-explanatory, just show us any event ticket and you'll get 10% off the rate. :-)

Thanks, we're looking forward to your next visit with us,
Rajeev Ruparell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 137 in Toronto
2,717 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#55 of 137 in Toronto
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#46 of 137 in Toronto
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: 56 Yonge St, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $151 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria is a Boutique Style Hotel in the heart of Downtown Toronto. Our historically modern guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing