We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Downtown Toronto”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #40 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Fredonia, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Gem in Downtown Toronto”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We have stayed at the Victoria five times in the past seven years, and continue to enjoy this small boutique hotel. We first chose the hotel because of location -- It is a 10 minute walk from Union Station, a 3 min. stroll to the King St. Metro stop, and 10-15 min. walk to the entertainment district. We return because the rooms are always extremely clean, the amenities better than average, and the staff at reception are kind and accommodating without being effusive. There are very good restaurants in the area, and the St. Lawrence Market is close enough to gather together a picnic meal. Yes, the rooms are smaller than a large chain hotel, but perfectly adequate, and we don't go to Toronto to spend time lounging in our room. The recent renovations now make the Victoria a higher end boutique hotel in our opinion, and our only concern is that we might not continue to enjoy the very moderate price!

Room Tip: We like quiet, and are always happiest in a room without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grauntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPatterson, Director of Sales at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thanks for your comments! We get called a "gem" a lot which we don't mind at all. We hope you will continue to book directly with us - remember that booking with us directly, either by calling or on our website is the best way to save. Also if you haven't already, be sure to find us on facebook where we give away a free r5oom nightevery month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    477
    167
    52
    30
See reviews for
138
482
100
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This little hotel (56 rooms) is a hidden gem in downtown Toronto. Located right on Yonge Street bewteen Adelaide and Fronts Streets, it has very few faults. Parking isn't available on site, but a 7 minute walk away, which isn't a problem because you can unload and then drive to the parking garage and walk back. All quite safe and reasonalbe (our parking was $21). The room we had was a Business Queen - beautifully appointed, small, big TV, free Netflicks, free wireless Internet, great bathroom - and amazingly quiet! Our room was on the 4th floor and looked into a courtyard, so there wasn''t any traffic noise. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and thorough. There is a small restaurant (Over Easy) adjacent to the lobby that serves breakfast and lunch - very good and reasonably priced. I would definitely go back and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannonvillegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPatterson, Director of Sales at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and please pass on the good word. Check us out on facebook as well where we give away a free room night every month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a great place to spend a night or two if you are staying in the city and don't need to spend a lot of time in your hotel. The hotel is historic - that means the rooms are smaller than the big chain hotels around. The rooms are clean and recently updated. We stayed here before the upgrades & were impressed with its cleanliness then. The beds are comfy, the staff is pleasant, the price is right, & there is a great place for breakfast/lunch off the lobby - "The Good Egg". The pancakes are shaped like a maple leaf! This is our go-to place for a weekend getaway in Toronto. We parked our car @ a garage a few blocks down & walked where we needed to go - feeling comfortable & safe the whole time. If all you need is a clean bed & bath while in town (and a tasty breakfast!) - this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sedonamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPatterson, Director of Sales at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
We like that you call us your "go-to' getaway in Toronto! Thanks for the kind words and hurry back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Checked in to the Hotel Victoria yesterday. We made a reservation for a queen bed. However, we were given a very small room with at most a full size bed. When calling down to the desk we were informed that all rooms have either twin, queen or king beds. At one point, Peter the hotel manager, said it was a "euro queen". So far, when compared to the boutique Chezz Swann in Montreal, the Hotel Victoria pails in comparison across the board, from customer service to shoddy upkeep of the common areas. My recommendation would be that you stay elsewhere in Toronto.

Room Tip: Make sure to check out your room before settling in for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank openville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

My friend and I stayed here originally for one evening after we booked on a website. Although the hotel was very small and in the middle of construction and had no restaurant, room service or amenities, it was centrally located and we elected to stay another night at full rate. Upon checking out the following day, we were informed that we incurred a charge for smoking in our room of $135.00. We absolutely DID NOT smoke in our room. The only evidence for this accusation that we know of was an empty pack of cigarettes left by my friend in the trash can when cleaning out her bag. We were told the room reeked of cigarettes, although I am allergic to cigarette smell. The staff treated us like common criminals and were rude beyond belief. This charge apparently was in reference to our first night, yet we were not informed of this impending accusation and charge when booking another night of course.

The general manager was not available and we were told the charges WOULD NOT be reversed by the rooms manager. They offered no proof other than the fact that cleaning staff claimed it smelled, but admitted work crews had been in and out of the room.

As a result of this experience I highly discourage staying at this hotel. The Hotel Edward is a far superior hotel very close on the next block on York.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank berrigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverGRP, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Hi "Berrigrl",

We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Just a few gentle corrections: we are in fact currently *not* under construction, we *do* have an on-site restaurant, and our newly renovated rooms feature a number of amenities, including free WiFi. Our upgraded rooms also feature high quality bathrobes, free local calls and free in-room movies.

With respect to smoking, we have a zero tolerance policy, and do charge a $125 cleaning fee (not $135). Guests are informed of this charge by the front desk on check-in, and it's also indicated on the registration card, corridor signage, and in-room materials. We charge guests mainly because it's costly and difficult to remove the smell of smoke from the drapes, sheets and duvet.

We don't charge guests arbitrarily. In your case, we provided a photograph of an open box of cigarettes, and both the housekeeping and front desk staff confirmed that the room smelled of smoke (they don't receive any portion of this charge, and so have no reason to fabricate). This is about as much indirect evidence as one can have before charging a guest. Despite this, as you know, and perhaps against better judgment, we discounted your final night's stay by $50.00.

Again, we are sorry you had a negative experience. As most of the guest reviews on this site indicate, it's not at all typical.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Stay for 6 nights in Deluxe Queen Twin room which was very nice. Front desk staff helpful and Carla very nice and extra helpful with advice and directions. Hotel is only a block from the Hockey Hall of Fame. There are several places to eat in easy walking distance. Rating would be 5 stars except bathroom is small and there is no chair with arms in the room. We will stay here any time we are in Toronto.

Room Tip: Ask for the Deluxe Twin Queen room, only two per floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank threepiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPatterson, Director of Sales at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass on your kind words to Carla and the rest of the team. We're just in the final stages of our renovation, and in fact, will be placing the chairs, mirrors and accessories this week! We do hope you will return to experience the added comfort. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Victoria in the beginning of this month and simply had to write a review immediately. This hotel exceeded my expectations. We are from Philadelphia/New Jersey (There were 6 of us) and going to see the sights and best of all, see the Phillies play the Blue Jays. We didn't have to take ANY transportation at all for the whole 4 days we were there, which is HUGE, because we did A LOT. We were in walking distance to the CN Tower, Blue Jays Stadium, Hockey Hall of Fame, a huuuge mall, and Second City Comedy Theater, and a ton of nightlife and restaurants. The fact that we didn't have to take transportation is a fabulous thing in itself, because that could add up if needing to take taxi's, etc.
I stayed in a room with four people (2 double beds) The rooms were very spacious, very clean, and we even had a great view of the city where we could literally look out of our window and point and say "Let's go THERE tonight!"
Admittedly, when we first arrived, there was an issue with our 2 friends who were staying in a seperate room. They didn't have anything saying that they were staying there and all the rooms were full at that point. They did, however, accomodate them by allowing them to stay in my room, which was kind because they're not supposed to do that. As we were getting ready for dinner, they called saying they figured it out and they could go to their own room. Although it was a predicament at first, they handled it professionally and solved the issue right away.
There is also a restaurant downstairs where we had breakfast and it was super yummy. The staff was very friendly, the location was AMAZING, the hotel is gorgeous. I have been many places but this was definitley my favorite vacation ever.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandaB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverHotelGroup, Owner at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Wow, thanks so much! We're so happy that you enjoyed the hotel. We're all really excited about the guest feedback that we've been getting about the renovation, and our location definitely always gets great reviews. We look forward to your next visit - and be sure to find on Facebook ("Hotel Victoria Toronto"), we give away a free room night every month!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#52 of 137 in Toronto
1,609 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#56 of 137 in Toronto
2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#46 of 137 in Toronto
2,136 reviews
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 56 Yonge St, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria is a Boutique Style Hotel in the heart of Downtown Toronto. Our historically modern guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing