We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Stay at the Intercontinental” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Toronto Yorkville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Ranked #15 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay at the Intercontinental”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We moved to the Intercontinental in Yorkville halfway through our trip, as our first hotel in town was a disaster. We couldn't have been more pleased with our room and the service at the hotel. We had a "city view" room on the 8th floor (the top floor), which gave us a nice view of the Royal Museum, the University of Toronto's campus and the CN Tower in the distance. The room was comfortable and spacious enough to give us some wandering room. The bathroom was nice, though we would likely have preferred a shower/tub combo rather than the stand alone shower, which was a bit cramped. The hotel is in a fantastic location, within walking distance to Bloor Street's "Mink Mile" to the east, miles of neighborhood restaurants and shops to the west, the fantastic university campus, and multiple subway stops. Despite being only 8 floors up from a busy street, it was also very quiet (unlike the hotel we'd escaped)!

Room Tip: Get a view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Karen l,

I am sorry to hear that your recent trip to Toronto did not get off to a great start. I am glad that you found our hotel in the heart of Yorkville and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the hotel and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    456
    125
    33
    19
See reviews for
292
428
113
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Beautiful Hotel in a beautiful city. Rooms a lovely size and furnishings excellent. Staff attentive. Situated only 5 minutes from subway to connect easily to the rest of the city. Well placed for lovers of designer brands with Ugg Australia, Burberry and Versace to name but a few only yards from front of hotel. Highly recommended

Room Tip: We had higher floor so no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Bernadette M,

I appreciate you taking the time to review your family’s recent stay at the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville. It sounds like you had the opportunity to tour our fashion mecca of Toronto; I trust you were able to find some lovely pieces to bring home with you.

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice while visiting Toronto and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in the city.

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed our stay with our newborn baby
Very friendly staff and helpful.
Huge modern rooms and very modern big bathrooms
I liked the lobby decoration
Excellent location near yorkville and the shops on bloor st.
Nice comfortable beds
Definitely i will go there again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonaarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Nonaarf,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent experience at the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville. I am honored that you have appointed us the best hotel on Bloor Street and that you will be staying with us again in future. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel.

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights when visiting Toronto from the UK for my wife's 40th birthday and had an amazing time.

The hotel is centrally located and easy to find. We hired a car so the car park was an added bonus. Great position on Bloor Street in the heart of the trendy shopping district with shops and restaurants nearby.

Check in was fast and welcoming, I had asked for an upgrade if one was available as it was my wife's birthday and the hotel granted my request. We had a fab room on the 6th floor with views of Toronto inc the CN Tower. The room was amazing, huge comfy bed, nicely appointed, robes , coffee machine, slippers , free wifi etc.

The staff at the hotel were so friendly and helpful , nothing was too much trouble.

I would definitely stay here again when visiting Toronto.

Well done Intercontinental Toronto Yorkville, you should be ranked #1

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank harrisbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear harrisbabe,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at the hotel in celebration of your wife's birthday. I am thrilled that you experienced the world class customer service that we pride our selves on.

Please extended our best wishes to your wife for her birthday and I hope we have the opportunity to celebrate another special occasion with you both again soon.

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice while visiting Toronto.

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

July 18th to July 19th - ONE NIGHT (thank goodness)
After a long day at Centreville Island with 2 young children, we landed at the Intercontinental Toronto Yorkville. We did the self-park for $22 for the night. The Public Parking lot was just around the back of the hotel, and it was underground. The elevator in the garage brings you right up to the hotel lobby, which was a fabulous feature.
We went out for dinner to Hemmingway's which was a short walk, and were pleased with our meal and service there.
After we returned, we used the hotel's pool. It was warm, and more like a length swimming pool. It had a huge windows that made the CN Tower visable.
On the downside of the hotel..... we were put in a joining room (still don't know why) on the 8th floor to a very noisy "group" of youngsters who decided to start to party at 930pm and went on until 7:30am the next morning. We made 5 calls down to the front desk throughout the night and morning, and either a phone call was made to that room or someone went up. The noise would stop for 15 minutes or so, and then would start back up again. The front desk also made us aware that it was a room with a king size bed, so only 2 people should be in the room sleeping. My husband said that there was always more than 6/8 people in the room throughout the night. The management did a lousy job in following up with that room throughout the night after their initial conversation with these guests. IT WAS THE WORST SLEEP WE HAVE HAD THIS YEAR! When we pay over $200 for a room at a 4 star hotel, like the Intercontinental Toronto Yorkville, we expect MORE than that.
The next morning, we stopped by the front desk, to express our concerns and asked to speak to the manager on site, and she wasn't available so I said we would be back when we checked out. We went to breakfast to the "Over Easy Breakfast" (2 buildings down from the hotel), which was FABULOUS and friendly service.
When we went to check out, we spoke to one of the hotel's manager on duty, and she wanted to hear our concerns, and she apologized. We recommended that the front desk or the nightly manager needs to be documenting customer's concerns throughout the night, so the morning manager can follow-up immediately with the hotel guests without having the guests approach them. The manager eventually offered us lunch in their hotel restaurant (after she just saw us just return from breakfast and knew we were checking out to go the Jays Game...ridiculous) or a snack for the girls. She then said, that she couldn't give us any money back as we paid online through Expedia and said if we visited the hotel again, that she could upgrade us to a better room. We didn't take anything from the hotel and just wanted to get the heck out of there. Our whole family was exhausted.
Unfortunately, we won't be going back to Intercontinental Toronto Yorkville.
If you want a good night sleep, try another hotel.

Room Tip: No joining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Jessica T

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am deeply sorry for the experience you had with your room accommodations and the service you encountered did not live up to your expectations. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acton,ont. canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here on Friday July 18/2014 just for one evening. In town for a concert at the ACC. The location is perfect for visiting the big city of Toronto. The location is Bloor and University, so the subway entrance is but a 2 minute walk away, and there are many great places to visit right at your doorstep. The Royal Ontario Museum is directly across the street. The hotel itself was nicely appointed, beautiful rooms, providing a fully stocked bar for your pleasure to purchase. Snacks as well. A little pricey but if you wanted it, then you did not have to go out. Fluffy robes and slippers in the suite. Staff at the front desk were pleasant and professional. The only drawback is the ability to find parking. It is actually available on the side street beside the hotel, and there is an elevator from the underground parking directly into the lobby of the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the top 8th floor. The view we had was very nice. There is also a pool available, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyv29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear cathyv29,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent experience at the hotel. I was happy to read that you had a very relaxing stay and enjoyed the guest room amenities. I hope you enjoyed the concert, I heard she was great!

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

The location is great. The facility is great except for the fitness room. It is very small and little variety.
However, the conceiege Carolina Avaria was FANTASTIC. She was not only knowledgeable and helpful but a lot of fun as well. Also the bartenders were amazing and fun. The outside patio a wonderful place to spend time.

Room Tip: Inside courtyard rooms were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear James S,

Thank you for your very valuable feedback from your recent stay at the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville. I was happy to read that you had a wonderful experience and that Carolina made a positive impact on your stay with us, I will ensure your kind words reach Mrs. Avaria.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#14 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 132 in Toronto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#23 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#20 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Toronto Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Toronto Yorkville

Property: InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Address: 220 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Toronto
#12 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#17 Family Hotel in Toronto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Toronto Yorkville 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our premium downtown Toronto hotel, located in the fashionable and exclusive neighbourhood of Yorkville. Our boutique hotel redefines luxury standards with sleek, crisp, yet warm and invitingly designed interiors, a uniquely personal touch to service and an approachable elegance. When you choose our downtown Toronto hotel you'll be in the heart of Yorkville, one of Toronto's most fashionable neighbourhoods, with high-end restaurants, boutiques, and art galleries only a short stroll away, as well as the University of Toronto and major museums such as the Royal Ontario Museum right across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Toronto Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Toronto Yorkville Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing