We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great staff, fair hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Toronto Yorkville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Ranked #14 of 131 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great staff, fair hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at a special event price ($175/night), for which the Yorkville hotel was a decent value. It's centrally located, right next to U-Toronto, the natural history museum, and Toronto's upscale shopping on Bloor St, if you like that sort of thing. The funkier shopping district on W. Queen is a good hike, perhaps best reached via metro. The art museum is about a 20-minute walk.
The room was standard hotel fare, with a bed of mediocre comfort. We had a room on the inner courtyard, so no view, but very quiet. In the room, not much to be noted, except for the TV. I have seen many hotel TVs in the last decade. I don't watch much, so it's not a big deal, but this TV was THE worst one I've seen in that decade. Large screen, but fuzzy, distorted picture: it seemed as if it was an analog TV using a converter for digital (I didn't check).
For this level of hotel, they could also use higher-quality toiletries.
The staff at Yorkville deserve special mention: uniformly helpful, courteous, and friendly. Bravo to them.
Only a 5-minute walk away, 7 Grams is a local coffee shop well worth a visit. The hotel breakfast, as noted by many, is very expensive (as is always the case nowadays): we passed on it and enjoyed our little walk up to 7 Grams.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bayarddc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear bayarddc,
Thank you so much for posting your review of your most recent stay at the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville!

Your comments have been noted and will be discussed to ensure the most pleasant guest experience. Thank you very much for your compliments to the staff; we do indeed take pride in the customer service we provide.

Glad to see you were able to experience some of the local attractions!

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look very forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    436
    122
    31
    19
See reviews for
277
409
109
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Intercontinental on Bloor Street. Upon arriving to the hotel, we asked what kind of upgrades were available - we were Ambassador Club members (and stayed at this hotel before). The girl at the front desk, Noory, who was very helpful told us we could get a Studio Suite upgrade. We then asked her why we couldn't get an Executive Suite upgrade, the same as the last; she then said we would have to talk to the manager. When the manager came over, he told us "I would have given you an executive suite, however none are available - maybe next time." We took that for what it was and proceeded to our room. We then happen to check the IHG app and website to see what other rooms where available instead, when we found out the Executive Suite WAS actually available. We called down to talk to the manager, at which point he said "yes, the room is available. However I am not going to give it to you because I would rather sell it to someone else tonight if they need it!" So in other words, yes it is available but I won't give it to you, despite the fact you are (and paid) Ambassador membership because I don't feel like it/and might be able to see someone a $600 room (even though it was already 7:00pm). When asked if he realized that he lied to us, he basically had nothing to say/was speechless... Needless to say, we were speechless too and will not be staying here again - where your staff lie to paying customers!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear JakeW,

Thank you kindly for submitting your review of your most recent experience at the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville.

I am very sorry that we were not able to offer you the requested room upgrade. While we always try our best to accommodate all of our guests and their requests, we can only do so as far as occupancy and availability allows us. During the time of your visit, we were able to offer you the Studio Suite upgrade and I do regret that we had very limited inventory of the Executive Suites available, and could not offer the room type as requested.

I can ensure you that our Front Desk staff is very attentive and sensitive to our guests' needs. I am very sorry that this situation was perceived differently.

I do remain hopeful that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Wonderful concierge and front desk staff. The room was very comfortable with good wifi service (they charge for the wifi, which does seem silly in this day and age and at those hotel prices, but it was complimentary as part of the conference meeting arrangements). Good restaurants in walking distance (although the Museum Tavern next door is really only mediocre for food, but they were very nice about not charging a colleague for her meal).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gasngoArlingtonVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear gasngoArlingtonVA,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville.

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay and an even greater pleasure to read your compliments to the concierge and front desk staff!

We are in fact, in the midst of introducing complimentary internet service to our Ambassador, Platinum and Gold Priority Club members, which should be implemented in July of this year.

We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Simon A
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Being from Scandinavia it feels strange that breakfast is not included in the price. Especially since the price is about the same or higher than we're used to at home. Other than that I found the room excellent, the gym and pool area was very convenient. The opening hours of these facilities made it possible to fit in some exercise time in a very busy conference schedule.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kropell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Kropell,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review!

It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville.

Upon booking your next stay with us, simply inquire about our breakfast inclusive rates; we do offer great rates and packages that include breakfast in the room rates.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I originally stayed here 9 years ago and have to say this stay was as good as I remembered it. We were here for a total of 4 days in two stays - one night and three nights. For the longer stay we were given a room on the 8th (top) floor with views towards downtown and the CN Tower. The rooms were both spacious with bathrooms that had a bath and separate shower. Check in was OK if a little slow on the first stay and check out was fine. The location of the hotel just 5 minutes from the subway is ideal and two of the main streets to downtown - Yonge & Bay - are very close if you feel more energetic. The pool on the top floor was fine for my needs - not a great swimmer - and as long as there are only a couple of people in it adequate for those who want to swim lengths. We didn't eat in the hotel apart from a rather expensive snack in the bar one night - drinks were also expensive as is usual for this class of hotel. Internet is also expensive at $11 for 24 hours but IHG are making this free across their range of hotels from July - about time in my view. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful and I would certainly go back again if in Toronto.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andym1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear andym1954,

Welcome back after 9 years!

Great to read your stay was as enjoyable this year as the last time you visited the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville! We take great pride in our customer service, our staff and our hotel amenities and it is great to know our customers note our efforts in keeping the customer satisfaction high.

We look forward to welcoming you back - hopefully sooner rather than later!

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Excellent location near the subway, high-end shopping and some superb restaurants/cafes. The rooms are well appointed with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. We were charged on our visa for items from the mini bar that we did not use but in the end the hotel refunded it after some debate. The pool is a small lap pool that only accommodates 2 swimmers. Overall a good value

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wherenext_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Wherenext_10,

Thank you for your lovely review and compliments! I am very glad you enjoyed the location of the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville and our hotel services and amenities.

Also, great to see you had a chance to try out our lovely swimming pool!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stay here on occasion. The rooms facing street are noisy. They have some odd fascination with using chemical fragrance in abundance-everywhere. It's overkill and frankly in this day and age where people are becoming more aware of toxic chemicals in their environment, chemical sensitivities, why bother? If you must spray everywhere with scent at least make it nontoxic natural. Parking is atrocious and for every in and out you have to repay the crazy fee. Front desk says its not their parking lot and they only have an agreement for a number of spaces at a "reduced" rate. I say time to negotiate again or suck up the parking cost for your guests in your pricey rates. I'm sure for 250-300 a night they could include parking if needed, don't think it would bankrupt the hotel. When you check in and they ask yOu if you if they can do anything else for you, mention this if applicable, maybe if everyone asks for the complimentary parking they might actually look into it. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoleilVert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear SoleilVert,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your most recent stay at the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville.

I was dissapointed to learn you did not enjoy the scent in our lobby. While you are absolutely right in stating that we do use an air-freshener method; I can assure you that we do so in a most non-toxic and environmentally friendly way. In fact, most of our guests enjoy and appreciate the welcoming scent in the lobby.

In regards to the parking garage adjecent to our hotel; it is in fact a public parking garage and does not belong to the hotel. We do charge a daily fee for our valet service that is comparable to other hotels in our neighbourhood and across the city.

Thank you once again for sumbitting your comments. They are absolutely crucial in addressing our shortcomings and maintaining our strengths. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville and show you an impeccable stay!

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#15 of 131 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 131 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#18 of 131 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,516 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Toronto Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Toronto Yorkville

Property: InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Address: 220 Bloor St W, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#11 Business Hotel in Toronto
#17 Family Hotel in Toronto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Toronto Yorkville 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our premium downtown Toronto hotel, located in the fashionable and exclusive neighbourhood of Yorkville. Our boutique hotel redefines luxury standards with sleek, crisp, yet warm and invitingly designed interiors, a uniquely personal touch to service and an approachable elegance. When you choose our downtown Toronto hotel you'll be in the heart of Yorkville, one of Toronto's most fashionable neighbourhoods, with high-end restaurants, boutiques, and art galleries only a short stroll away, as well as the University of Toronto and major museums such as the Royal Ontario Museum right across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Toronto Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Toronto Yorkville Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing