We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Ranked #16 of 134 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Some issues”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stay here on occasion. The rooms facing street are noisy. They have some odd fascination with using chemical fragrance in abundance-everywhere. It's overkill and frankly in this day and age where people are becoming more aware of toxic chemicals in their environment, chemical sensitivities, why bother? If you must spray everywhere with scent at least make it nontoxic natural. Parking is atrocious and for every in and out you have to repay the crazy fee. Front desk says its not their parking lot and they only have an agreement for a number of spaces at a "reduced" rate. I say time to negotiate again or suck up the parking cost for your guests in your pricey rates. I'm sure for 250-300 a night they could include parking if needed, don't think it would bankrupt the hotel. When you check in and they ask yOu if you if they can do anything else for you, mention this if applicable, maybe if everyone asks for the complimentary parking they might actually look into it. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoleilVert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simonantoine, General Manager at InterContinental Toronto Yorkville, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear SoleilVert,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of your most recent stay at the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville.

I was dissapointed to learn you did not enjoy the scent in our lobby. While you are absolutely right in stating that we do use an air-freshener method; I can assure you that we do so in a most non-toxic and environmentally friendly way. In fact, most of our guests enjoy and appreciate the welcoming scent in the lobby.

In regards to the parking garage adjecent to our hotel; it is in fact a public parking garage and does not belong to the hotel. We do charge a daily fee for our valet service that is comparable to other hotels in our neighbourhood and across the city.

Thank you once again for sumbitting your comments. They are absolutely crucial in addressing our shortcomings and maintaining our strengths. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental Toronto Yorkville and show you an impeccable stay!

Sincerely,
Simon Antoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    472
    125
    33
    19
See reviews for
297
442
116
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, MB
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the InterCon Yorkville with a friend for three nights during Grey Cup 2012. We had been looking for something close to Rogers Centre, but with the Grey Cup being on rooms were limited.
Arrived into Toronto late Friday morning and went straight to the hotel. Front desk staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in to our room early. Room was very spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was huge and very clean. We had a nice view of the courtyard from a lower level floor. We had a few drinks in the lounge and the atmosphere was nice.
While this hotel is a little ways from downtown it is literally one block from the subway which was very handy and got us everywhere we needed to go, including back to the airport. We also managed to find a couple nice restaurants nearby.
My only complaint was the $30 we paid for a roll away bed. We had a friend decide to take the train down from Ottawa on Saturday and stayed with us Saturday/Sunday night. While I have no problem paying $30 for a roll away bed, what we got was not worth $30. It was fairly old and beaten up. Since it was last minute and with this being a higher end hotel, I would imagine they do not use the roll away beds very often so it didn't reduce my overall impression on the hotel. The other aspects of the stay more than made up for this.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and will consider it on future trips to downtown Toronto

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavyJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for work for three nights. Nice decor, details and touches that make it a 4+ star. Room service food insanely pricey but typical. Apples and bottled at the front desk were a nice touch, especially handy as a before bed nightcap after a late night out ;)

Rooms very spacious and nice (I think I had a deluxe King). Large television, ipod dock station, all the amenities. Bathroom was nice but bathtub was very old and not really worth soaking in (something I look forward to after a day of work). Bed was uncomfortable - this was the biggest downfall of all! If you love a comfy bed, you will be disappointed. My other coworkers also complained about this, so I know it wasn't just me! Otherwise it would have been a near perfect stay.

For the price, probably not worth it. It might be a different story if I were footing the bill.

Room Tip: Had a deluxe king near the front of the building facing the ROM. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall we were quite happy with this hotel. The location was excellent and the rooms were large and well furnished. The bedding was very luxurious. The shower was a bit small but the simple amentities were nice including plush bathrobes (two of them). Even the shampoo, conditioner and bath gel were nicely scented. Some of the in room items for purchase are high priced ($8 for a large water bottle) but that is to be expected in a downtown hotel. The staff was friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandtracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Full service hotels as they should be. From the greeting at the door, to a fast friendly check in, to the quality of the rooms. Nothing is too much trouble, the concierge team are so knowledgeable and always make time to make sure they sort out whatever you need from them. The location is great, close to the subway or a walk to the Most things of note & interest close by. The only two minor quibbles are the breakfast is al a carte so you can't be as picky as I like & its not as close to the tower as its sister hotel but maybe that's me liking the tower.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wreckinballbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was on my way from Woodstock to Halifax, and decided to stay over a night in Toronto first in order to make it easier to get to the airport for an early flight. I'm a small town girl through and through and loved that our hotel was right across the street from the Royal Ontario Museum. The feel of the hotel from the moment you walk in the door is relaxing, and the look is very modern and smart. The desk staff was efficient, if a little cold, with their delivery of all we needed to know about the hotel. The pool and fitness area was clean and had a great flow, which made it easier to enjoy our time spent in them.
The morning we checked out was fantastic. The desk agent was very friendly, asking us about what brought us to Toronto and asking us about the trip we were taking. I feel bad not getting her name, although she was working the night audit shift on March 26/27th. It was an early morning for us and we had a great reception coming down to the lobby. She evcen made sure there was a taxi for us before we went outside.

All in all, a great trip and a beautiful property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators, it's a quiet end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaytS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I had just stayed at the Intercon in Montreal and wanted to try this one out based on my positive experience there. While this property is a bit older, the high quality of service and care were similarly impressive. Check in and check out were fast, staff were bright and dedicated, and I felt very welcome.

The room was plush and comfortable, again with nice fabrics, a good couch, fast internet, and a great big bathroom, albeit a very small shower stall. Yes, there were a few technical problems (toilet running, one light in the bathroom which worked only intermittently), but these didn't really interfere with my one night stay.

As one traveller mentioned, you can hear the rumble of the subway from the rooms, just like at the Park Hyatt around the corner, where I've usually stayed in the past. But I don't see that as problematic, just an atmospheric attribute typical of downtown TO.

The location of the hotel is excellently situated across from the ROM, near the subway, U of T, Koerner Hall, good cafes, and even a Shoppers Drug Mart downstairs. A definite keeper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Midtown
Park Hyatt Toronto
Park Hyatt Toronto
#15 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Midtown
The Hazelton Hotel
The Hazelton Hotel
#1 of 134 in Toronto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 134 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Toronto Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Toronto Yorkville

Property: InterContinental Toronto Yorkville
Address: 220 Bloor St W, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Toronto
#13 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#17 Family Hotel in Toronto
#18 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Toronto Yorkville 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our premium downtown Toronto hotel, located in the fashionable and exclusive neighbourhood of Yorkville. Our boutique hotel redefines luxury standards with sleek, crisp, yet warm and invitingly designed interiors, a uniquely personal touch to service and an approachable elegance. When you choose our downtown Toronto hotel you'll be in the heart of Yorkville, one of Toronto's most fashionable neighbourhoods, with high-end restaurants, boutiques, and art galleries only a short stroll away, as well as the University of Toronto and major museums such as the Royal Ontario Museum right across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Toronto Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Toronto Yorkville Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing