We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HW”
Review of Centre Island

Centre Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.99*
and up
Toronto Inner Harbour and Island Cruise
Ranked #12 of 513 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Toronto: ride a bike or take a turn on your blades on any of the many trails located on the island.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“HW”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Excellent for picnics and super kid friendly. Carnival rides, bathrooms and restaurants. If you ever miss the last ferry to go back to the mainland the you can take a water taxi.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    373
    69
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

good to go with friends and family. lots to do and fun. small kids love it. beside the games, beach is kids favourite. very enjoyable place to go.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank specialist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Visit”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I went here on the Monday of the long weekend with my sister, her husband and my 2 year old nephew. Although it was very busy, the line up to buy tickets to the ferry moved very fast, and we only had to wait about 10 minutes to get on a ferry to take us across to the island. The prices for the ferry are very good ($7 for adults for a round trip). The island is beautiful, with lots to do and see. We went to the little farm animal zoo in Centerville (which is free to see). We also went to Franklins Children’s Garden which was beautiful and my nephew loved it! We went to the splash pad and to the park which were also perfect for him. Even though it was very busy, it didn’t seem too cramped. I am planning on going back soon with my boyfriend to go for a bike ride around the island. The only thing I would do differently next time would be to bring my own food over, as the prices were fairly high – which is typical of a destination like this. All in all it was beautiful, and I would recommend it to locals as well as tourists.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Escape to the "country"!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

A quick ferry trip and regular service takes you to this island which is also linked to the other Toronto islands by little foot bridges. Photos of the Toronto skyline are incredible from here as the whole shoreline is visible. No cars (except service vehicles) are allowed on the islands so travel by either foot or rental cycles (or if you are too little, get mum and dad to pull you along in a rental wagon!) There is also a couple of beaches on Centre Island with lifeguards.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nettynoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A must see for out-of-country visitors”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Walk around the homes there - they are so unusual and unique. I'm so glad someone can enjoy actually living on the island. The restaurant has very good food - try the lamb burger. You can rent bikes but we've also taken ours over on the ferry.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Centre Island also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Centre Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing