We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant Chinatown”
Review of Chinatown

Chinatown
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$76.41*
and up
Old Chinatown Food Tour
Ranked #51 of 507 things to do in Toronto
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With more than 200,000 Chinese who reside in Toronto, visitors are attracted to this lively and colorful district for bargain-shopping and restaurants.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vibrant Chinatown”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Chinatown always seems to be poppin' with vibrancy and is highly recommened as an easy yet remarkable source of variety, choice, great food whether ready to eat (e.g., bakeries) or full service restaurants or groceries and retail shops... If you've only ever driven past the strip and never gone in a store or eatery please find parking one day and take a stroll, enjoy the sights and smells of the space and, yes, the "hustle bustle and hype." I travelled the world, seen many a Chinatown in other cities and for the big town that Toronto is we should be very proud of our Chinatown's offerings...it come along long way (before the road and streetcar renovation were completed it was at the turn to of the 19th century it was so rickety) Chinatown is well worth visiting again and again…

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwodjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    289
    235
    61
    31
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Always great food in this part of the city.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Be sure to checkout the side streets for the cheaper, more authentic Chinese food. I usually get the Szechuan style Chinese food because it is hotter and more peppery, but the dim sum here is also fantastic.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank zachaysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Hustle Bustle and Hype”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The dining is mixed, stick with only the highest rated. Many do not pass the health test honestly. The stores are full of sub standard product. Not what you experience in NYC or Frisco.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canad_ian1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“to all you Asian foody lovers out there:”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Toronto's Chinatown has got it real. I've been to the Chinatown's of NYC, LA, Houston, ATL, Chicago, Vancouver, and Seattle, and I have to say Toronto has it best!

Granted I may have been hungry....=P

I think Toronto's specialty is all things rice porridge. =)
Dim Sum was good.
I think the area near Spadinas and Dundas St W has the best Chinese food.

Around Bloor street, you have a several Japanese stores as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoldenPeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little bit of China”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Want Chinese food? Authentic Chinese food? Go to Chinatown. Not just for the food...the groceries are cheaper there and just as good! Fresh fruits (some i don't even know the name!), and lots of little Chinese stores where you can find unusual trinkets and jewelries and other stuff...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nadia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown also viewed

 

Been to Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing