We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place... we needed more time !!!!”

Royal Ontario Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.99*
and up
Royal Ontario Museum Ticket
Ranked #4 of 501 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) is among the world’s leading museums of natural history and world cultures. In combining a universal museum of cultures with that of natural history, the ROM offers an unusual breadth of experience to our audiences from around the world. We realize more acutely now that nature and humanity are intertwined, and the ROM offers many examples in its collections and programs of these fundamental relationships.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Fantastic place... we needed more time !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The museum was fantastic. We went in about 12 noon and stayed until closing... We should have gotten there at opening. There is so so much to see. Floor on floors of exhibits. Price was alright... I think... I don't know what the going rates for Museum enterances are. We had to pay for 2 extra exhibits that was not included in the general admition. Gift shop was nice and full of things to purchase. We had lunch there in their cafeteria area... not the restaurant. Price were high... of course... standard for Toronto. Loved it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnconner111971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,249
    1,791
    508
    86
    33
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
438 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“Can't Go Wrong With the Rom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have visited the ROM quite a few times now and never grow tired of it. The exhibits are well set up and often eye-catching. There are collections to suit many tastes. My geologist daughter and I spend much of our ROM time amongst the rocks and minerals. A trip to the ROM is enjoyable for both adults and children. We especially like to pair it with an overnight stay at one of Toronto's many fine hotels.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
597 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Mesopotamia and textile special exhibits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our prime reason for re-visiting the ROM was the Mesopotamia exhibit. As always, the special exhibit was fabulous. Additional, we took the guided tour which lasts about an hour and the docent was added lots of value. Also interesting was the textile special exhibit. It was really well thought out and presented. They have one area which you can select videos related to textiles to watch. Be sure sure to spend time there, they have some really great stories.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Who Doesn't Love the ROM?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We went to the ROM on a Friday night where they have their discount rates available. A general student admission plus access to the Mesopotamia exhibit was $19. The Mesopotamia exhibit was great, but because admission was cheaper it was very busy. We had to wait 5 minutes before every artifact or station and you definitely felt rushed. The main museum was great. However, a little hard to find your way around, and this was not my first time. They have some great activities and games set up for children and teens, however I would suggest going earlier in the day as most of those had shut down around 4. Actually, I would suggest going early in general if you're the type of person who likes to take there time as there is lots to see. If you're interested in history, or animals/ dinosaurs I would say you will get your moneys worth!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank aaalexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
217 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Go on a late night friday and get a reduced entry price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Spent an afternoon here and only managed to take in 10-20% of what's on offer. The dinosaur section is good but right now it's the wildlife photographer of the year exhibition that steals the show! My only slight criticism is that 100% of the exhibits are behind glass...surely with the hundreds of staff on hand it would be possible to allow visitors to get a little closer to what's on show?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank noahoxford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Ontario Museum also viewed

 

Been to Royal Ontario Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing