We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Royal Ontario Museum
from $15.60
More Info
from $33.50
More Info
from $95.82
More Info
from $201.31
More Info
Reviews (7,536)
Filter reviews
6,094 results
Traveler rating
3,523
1,919
512
96
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,523
1,919
512
96
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bat cave natural history blue whale chihuly exhibit dinosaur bones totem poles first nations special exhibit great exhibits canadian history on display all ages few hours rainy day rom minerals artifacts
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 6,094 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

The ROM is a great museum and has some excellent exhibits. Check out what they are showing prior to your visit to make sure it is of interest, but I am sure it will be great.

Thank stephenjA5439NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Museum requires a dedicated day to view everything that’s on display. It is a very impressive collection of items from all over the world and offers not only cultural but biological specimen.

I wasn’t thrilled about a few things, they charge $3 to store your coats and at the time of my visit they were setting up a wedding so an entire section of the museum had been blocked off and required a maze like path to get from one part of the museum to the other. Some other visitors were upset at this as well especially those who couldn’t have a clear path to the restroom. Additionally, I wasn’t aware that an entire floor was unavailable for viewing for some unknown reason, restoration possibly but this particular floor is what I had looked forward to seeing the most. I wish the front desk had let me known, I would’ve come back another day.

Thank ZiemlichV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

There is so much to see in this museum and it has something for all ages and interests. There were many school field trip tours going on the day we visited. We found ourselves "tagging along" with some of them to hear the animated story telling from the guides.

Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

The best museum i've visited. You will need a full day and comfortable shoes. Its only spread over four floors but its huge, and so much to see.

Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMtoronto, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Ontario Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Emma,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The ROM is one of the largest museums in Canada with diverse exhibits on ancient civilization and natural history. We definitely recommend spending at least 3-4 hours visiting our vibrant galleries!

We are glad you had an awesome day at the Royal Ontario Museum!

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Our family of 4 all enjoyed the ROM. Notably the Egyptian section and west coast pieces. Many rooms and stairs (elevator is available)

Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMtoronto, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Ontario Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The ROM is one of the largest museums in Canada with diverse exhibits on ancient civilization and natural history. The ROM's Egyptian collection is comprised of approximately 25,000 artifacts, and close to 2,000 of these are on display in the gallery.

We definitely recommend spending at least 3-4 hours visiting our vibrant galleries!


Cheers,
Chad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

At the request of my two small children, we finally made our way to the ROM. Walking into the main hall, we knew it was going to be a fun place to explore. The dinosaur section alone, we spent hours reading and learning. One of the most educational places for anyone to explore in Toronto.

Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

TIP : Devote at least two hours ..can be even three , once inside .
Very nicely done up as well as has a very good section covering almost everything . Not very expensive and a must visit on a cold day ..

Thank 89shivb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMtoronto, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Ontario Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Shiv,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The ROM is one of the largest museums in Canada with diverse exhibits on ancient civilization and natural history. We definitely recommend spending at least 3-4 hours visiting our vibrant galleries!

We hope you return in December for our Zuul: Life of an Armoured Dinosaur and Wildlife Photographer of the Year!

All the best,
Chad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

The Royal Ontario Museum (ROM) is probably the best museum in all of Canada, rivalling some of the world's best museums. There are lots of exhibits to see, with a great variety of subject matters. It is definitely a must visit in a holiday in Toronto.

Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I went through here for several hours with a few friends who insisted upon taking me. The museum has a huge amount of history to offer, and if you like medieval history, their collection is solid!

Thank Courtnei T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been a member for years. Such a pleasure. Lots to do on a regular basis and excellent special events. As a member I can drop in with a grandchild or 2 and spend an hour or 2 regularly spending time with dinosaurs and bats and catch all great special projects, which are always so well done. There is also a terrific speaker series, summer camps, weekend family event, Friday night events to get out and celebrate. Truly a wonderful place.

Thank Nora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews