We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe a chain steakhouse but it is good”

The Keg Steakhouse + Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 8,477 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Maybe a chain steakhouse but it is good”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

After a day trip to Niagara, we asked the hotel concierge about restaurants nearby. His advice was - "there is a top price place round the corner but as somewhere to rely on, not too pricey but good - the Keg. A quick phone call and he had a table lined up for us - not outside but at a window, which was perfect.
We had the 8oz SIrloin Classics with Caesars and fries and a couple of glasses of Shiraz. Boy, they were good. Perfectly done to order and 8oz was more than enough. Service from Heather C was excellent and friendly, we really enjoyed it. It was quite busy, Friday evening, and the atmosphere was lively but not noisy. Would certainly want to do it again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank stanmansurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    511
    120
    34
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great steak, beer and service”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Number one when traveling is a nice atmosphere. 2nd food, 3rd service. Its even better when all three are first class. everyone was kind, and attentive. I had only 4 hours sleep the night before I went to DFW and they had taken great care of us and btw the desserts are worth the calories..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rgf49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Sirloin steak ever!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had the sirloin with pecans and goat cheese prepared medium rare. It was the best Canadian beef and the smoothest of goat cheese with a wonderful flavor. The steak was so tender it seemed to melt in your mouth. The ramiken of sort of a french onion soup to dip the steak was a delight. Steak sauce would be an absolute sin to add to this steak. The asperagus was excellent.

Dessert - Shared a Billy Miner's pie and a creme brulee. Both were wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swords, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Twice baked Potato”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Best steak in Toronto by far. Lovely atmosphere and friendly staff. The twice baked potato is a must.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“2 Different Worlds - same food”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Well I have recently eaten twice at the Keg on Jarvis (at Wellesley) as well as the Keg on York Street - both provide exactly the same menu (York St. is open for lunch and does BURGERS on the patio!) and both are always good but I guess I am losing my Victorian sensibilities. The service was great at the Jarvis location but I truly enjoy the atmosphere (downtown urban chic) at the York Street location. Whether on their great new patio spaces or near a blazing fireplace at Christmas (and yes it is open on Christmas Eve) the York Street location is great. I have also had dinners at their Esplanade restaurant but somehow the urban chic style just isn't there. As usual the Kegs provide good food at a hefty price but a lot cheaper than their best competition.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse + Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing