We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere , nice steak and wonderful service”

The Keg Steakhouse + Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Keg Steakhouse + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 8,479 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere , nice steak and wonderful service”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

After a long flight my mother and I decided to go to the keg for a steak dinner located close by to the Sheraton centre. Our waiter Himangshu was very kind and well spoken . We ordered red wine which was lovely and arrived quickly . The Escargot was superb and much nicer than what I've had in France ! Both steaks were cooked to our likening and arrived within 20minutes. Unfortunate due to a sever bout of sudden onset heartburn from what I believe was cause but not eating for over 10hours due to long flights. Sadly I was unable to get have way through my steak . Our lovely waiter Packed it up nicely with cutlery so I was able to take it back to the hotel to devour at a later time . The manager who spoke to us about our trip and home country of Australia was kind and reassuring.

I would highly recommend the keg steakhouse in Toronto .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drlil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    511
    120
    34
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ambience”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had a business meeting here, food and service were great. I had a steak and if was done to perfection. Waitress was attentive we never felt hurried.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Reliable and won't disappoint...”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a good reliable steak house if you are downtown. It is within walking distance of most of the major hotels. There is a good buzz and atmosphere. The service is good and the menu has lots of choice. Prime rib and steaks were cooked as ordered and delicious. Reasonably priced wines and drinks as well. Try it if you are downtown and want beef. Check with the restaurant about availablity for the time you want to eat, they do fill up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank realtorav8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John`s, NL
Level Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Saturday Night Steak!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were staying at the Hilton which is just around the corner from the York St. Keg.Convenient with temps around -12 Celcius!We got there around 7:30PM,and the place was blocked,great atmosphere,the Leafs were playing the Bruins on TV and losing again as usual.We told the hostess we were not particular about where a table might be available(there are so many options)so we got a seat at the Bar,ordered a cocktail,and in 10 minutes we had a table.We shared the gorgeous escargot as a starter,bubbling in garlic butter,served with delicious dipping bread!My wife ordered the prime rib(medium well)came back perfect,I ordered the New York Strip Lion(medium rare)came back perfect too! Bob Mondavi Cab was on special which is always nice too!Steaks were great as they always are here,we should know since on our last five visits to Toronto we have had a great dinner here!You should definitely check it out!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank markie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

this was our early valentines getaway, we had dinner and ness was our server. she was wonderful.our dinner was delicious and cheese bread was great. we cant say enough good about this place. the atmosphere was great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank countytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse + Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing