We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupendo!”
Review of Marinella

Marinella
Ranked #179 of 8,656 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $23
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Little Italy
St. John's, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stupendo!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Marinella at College and Grace is a gem of a find. We first visited two years ago and have visited each time in Toronto since. The welcome is genuine, the food is authentic and truly delicious. Daily specials rival the menu for your attention. Most pasta is handmade on the premises, as are the cured meats and pickled vegetables. The mixed appetizer platter is an adventure in good eating-and very generous. Save room for dessert or take it home to enjoy later but don't miss out on it. Mama's chocolate cake is superb-perfected over the years according to her son (your host).
If you are fortunate enough to dine on an evening when cheesecake is on offer, indulge. It's worth every calorie.
I can't recommend Marinella too highly. If you love Italian food, you'll love Marinella.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    33
    7
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
“Like mama makes”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My mother is an 82 yr old Italian that believes there is no one that cooks as well as she can therefore does not like to go to Italian restaurants...but she will go to Marinella's for their Risotto and home made pasta and bread...Marinella cooks from the heart.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“this kitchen ROCKS!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I;ve been eating at this fabulous Italian restaurant for years. it's 2nd and new location on college street has taken things up a notch! Although the new place is much swankier and definitely well designed...the kitchen is still fantastic food cooked by mama and Pino! Front of the house is run by John Soraci...your host with the most! I can NOT stop talking about how cook their sauces are and in particular for this review...shrimp or seafood marinella...knocks it out of the park! I have been eating this dish for over 10 years and can't go there ever ever ever!! without ordering it! my co-diners and I are even a little obsessed!
so refreshing on this strip of trendy restaurants to not only be in a beautiful place to eat but be treated like family and experience all these great recipes that come out of the kitchen!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheeky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We also live and frequently dine at Marinella’s and have never received anything but excellent food and service…If you did not receive the same I can not explain why. Give it a try again…I am sure you will not be disappointed again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable food cooked by Mum”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Here for the first time as part of a group of 4. We were greeted excellently at the door and sat done quickly. Our host who i assume was the owner went to exhaustive trouble to go through the menu with us advising that everything was cooked by Mum and that all food was home-made and fresh with some ingredients imported from Italy.
Whether mum was actually cooking or not the food was very good and the service continued to be good during the night.
I travel here this time of year for a mining show and would go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarlosPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marinella also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Marinella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing