We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality meal”
Review of Marinella

Marinella
Ranked #177 of 8,650 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $23
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Little Italy
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Good quality meal”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Sat on the patio on a hot night, nice bruchetta, complimentary bread and iced water, waited a little while for our mains, but they were quite busy, thought $11 for a glass of wine bit much, it was about $40 for a bottle! Both had the seafood spagetti which was lovely, (about $23) we both had a half lobster tail which was quite large, one of the best italian meals we've had. Portion size average, I could have eaten it again! Attentive service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    33
    7
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pay high&help u keep fit”
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

it is our first time there and i have to say it really disappointed us.well,the atmosphere and decorations r pretty well and thats why we walk into it.however,when we wanna change the table from open area to inside room,the host was veryyyy unfriendly!!!btw,the pasta just like those we can buy in convenience.the most upset me is the weight of food.come on!is it for kids?!i mean,i can finish my pasta with 3 mouthful of it.anyway,i wont go there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stefyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service. Would highly recommend.”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had a fantastic meal at Marinella and really were unable to find anything to fault in the experience. When we arrived, we were seated promptly and courteously. The staff to guest ratio was very high so service was impeccable. We never had to touch our wine bottle - our glasses were continuously topped up for us. We never felt rushed which is a common complaint that we have at many restaurants, where you are still chewing your appetizer when your plate is cleared and your main course arrives - not the case here at all. There was a decent pause in between courses, but not long enough that it would be considered a wait. We had our own server, but it felt like one of those seamlessly well organized establishments where if another server or member of staff sees an empty water glass or an empty plate even outside of their "section" they swoop in to remedy the situation. This made us feel as though we were being tended to by three or four people, but not once did we feel as though anyone was hovering or interrupting our meal/conversation. Our food was delicious and well prepared. Having just returned from a trip to Italy a few months ago, we found the food at Marinella to be better then some of the meals we had while away - and that's saying a lot since we ate at some amazing restaurants in Italy. We felt downright pampered at Marinella - like we were important guests rather than simply customers. We were there for a few hours in total - from appetizers to dessert and espresso and thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience. It is not an inexpensive place to eat, but for the level of service and quality of food we received, it was well worth it. We wouldn't spend that much on a regular basis, but for special occasions etc, it is definitely worthwhile to ensure you will have a great meal. On our walk home, we actually discussed the fact that we would be hard pressed to find a single negative comment to say about Marinella compared to many of the other restaurants we've frequented in the last couple years. They were as close to perfect as we've seen. It's unfortunate that others had different experiences, but I can only speak about my own visit which was excellent.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherill3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“An abomination and an insult to our intelligence, our pockets and our palate.”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We went there on Saturday night for the second time. First time was awful but I thought we’d give it another chance. I have to say, I don't understand how this restaurant survives. The service was terrible. We had reservations and when we arrived the restaurant was almost empty. Nonetheless, we were seated at a table right in front of the front door - basically, the worst table in the house. Even though there were at least 10 free tables in the restaurant. When we asked to move tables, the waiter and host were very unfriendly about it. Now on to the food. Overrated. Overcooked. The best thing about the dishes was the preamble - "my authentic mom in the back cooking this authentic italian fare, blah, blah, blah". That's where the expression "the proof is in the pudding" comes from. Or in this case, the pasta. This is a mediocre restaurant, more reliant on posturing and overpricing than quality and courtesy. How about a real family run Italian restaurant. BTW, 25 dollar pastas that taste like they came out of a can. It’s a fantastic mix of pretentious, overpriced and food quality that is way below acceptable – even at half the price. Wow. Is Toronto this stupid!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poppy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants in Toronto”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This place is a very nice restaurant situated in Little Italy. It is run by a family and the mother does all the cooking. The food is delicious and the service is very good. We have been a number of times now and we are always greeted by name and with a very warm welcome. Main courses are around $30. Try the Seafood Linguine with Marinella sauce. Excellent.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marinella also viewed

 

Been to Marinella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing