We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh food, beautifully presented.”
Review of Melanie's Bistro

Melanie's Bistro
Ranked #967 of 8,477 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: Canadian, Italian, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: East York
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh food, beautifully presented.”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We went on a Tueday night and Melanie's had a special: $24 for an appetizer and entree, or the same price for entree & dessert. It was our first time there and we really enjoyed it. The menu includes popular items but served with a twist. For our appetizer we chose the house-made liver pate and the goat cheese salad, both delicious. Our mains were the Buckwheat Crepe filled with grilled veg and ricotta - great for vegetarians- and the Atlantic Salmon. We were really pleased with the quality and presentation.
The staff were friendly, polite and well-trained. The owner came by to say hello and welcome guests. Return visit? definitely.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ehpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, far from downtown, worth the trip for us”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We were in Toronto for work and were taken to Melanie's bistro for lunch. It was so good we went back for dinner the next night!
In all we tried almost everything on the menu - Cannot recall everything we are but the lobster mac and cheese lives up to its billing. Meat was excellent and the chicken tikka wrap was just AMAZING. Pasta was also great. Decent wine selection.
Must try the desserts. Service was very good and in good time. Liked that we were not rushed out after dinner but could stay and talk.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EverRoamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great bistro service a bit slow”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We've been to Melanie's twice now, and have been blown away by the quality of the food both times. They got a fabulous review in the local paper, too. But we've found that it can be a bit slow at times. Melanie herself takes care of the customers and is a very hands-on owner.
This time we just had the mains- the certified Angus beef and the citrus salmon. Both very nicely done, good mix of flavours and nicely-sized portions. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatyaTorontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Snobby and rude”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

My boyfriend and I attempted to go to Melanie's Bistro for dinner as we heard such great things about it. We didn't have reservations but took a chance that there may be a table. I completely understand that when you don't have a reservation at a busy restaurant there is a high probablity you won't get seated or will have to wait a while. What I didn't expect was a hostess who treated us like we were some kind of disease that walked in the door because we had the audacity to even enquire about a table when we didn't have reservations. There are plenty of restauants in Toronto, and in the east end that make you feel more welcome. I don't care how good the food is, I'll spend my money elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingfoody88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
412 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Special neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Have wanted to eat at this restaurant for a while, but as it is small, it requires at least a coupld of weeks advance planning to get reservations on the weekend. Really interesting menu, famous for their mac and cheese with lobster appetizer (rich enough for 2) and very reasonable. Good selection of pastas, fish, meat and vegetarian offerings. Attentive service. On still ungentrified strip of the Danforth so parking is easy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melanie's Bistro also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Melanie's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing