We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for just my wife and I”
Review of The Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rex Hotel
Ranked #10 of 118 Toronto B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Definitely not a family hotel, which we loved... kinda sick of getting woken up early in the morning by screaming children in the next room everywhere we stay. Room was small and simple; just a bed, TV, window and bathroom. No phone or clock. If you're a high-maintenance type person, this isn't for you. Perfect for my wife and I on a long weekend trip to the city. Very centrally located - just about everything we wanted was within walking distance. Restaurants, bars, shopping, and Toronto Art Gallery were within blocks. Harbourfront was a little further, but still walkable. Parking garage up the block isn't too expensive, about $13 per night. Staff was great - they even loaned us a parking pass for two of our three nights that one of the managers wasn't using, so we only had to pay parking one night. Bar downstairs is great - live music pretty much all times of the day. Could hear the music just a tiny bit in our room, but didn't disrupt our sleeping at all. This place was damn near perfect, will definitely go back next time we're in Toronto.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deathorglory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 240 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2010

Very clean, modern, comfortable and compact! We were very lucky to find such a convenient location at such an affordable price. The manager/owner was very helpful and pleasant. The food was delicious and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

I´m not sure how I was lucky enough to find this place but it is absolutely a hidden gem. The place is right on Queen St. W a few short blocks from the CN tower (which I could see out of my window). You are a few blocks from the train station and have ample dining within walking distance.

I am not sure how long they have been a hotel there, but the rooms were pretty impressive - although small (which was OK for me). Absolutely the best thing about this place is the jazz bar downstairs. After checking in I was able to go downstairs, have some food, a drink and listen to some live music, perfect for unwinding after a day of traveling.

The room was small, but very up to date. There was no fridge, microwave, or anything like that, just a bed, TV and shower (nice shower). The food downstairs was great, the music was awesome, and the rates were reasonable.

The only potential negatives might be a) the room was small and b) they bill the room as FOOD on the receipt which made it confusing when it came time to get reimbursed.

All in all - Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VIVAHUME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Bruna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank JoacoDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Silvinha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank san_momotaro_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#58 of 138 in Toronto
2,759 reviews
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#57 of 138 in Toronto
1,677 reviews
Chinatown
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
Super 8 Downtown Toronto
#56 of 138 in Toronto
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#39 of 138 in Toronto
1,101 reviews
North York
Best Western Plus Toronto North York Hotel & Suites
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Address: 194 Queen St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1Z1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Queen Street and West Queen West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: $56 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Rex Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Toronto's Queen Street Entertainment District, The Rex Hotel is a true boutique hotel experience. Compact, modern and tidy, our rooms cater to today's current business or pleasure traveler on a short visit to the downtown core.The newly renovated rooms include ensuite washrooms, individually controlled heating/air conditioning units, flat screen television and cable, wireless internet access, and one double pillow-top bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing