We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
86
107
67
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
107
67
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjazz barlive jazzprivate bathroomfree coffee and toastuntil midnightemergency vehiclesinteresting hotelsingle roomqueen streetcentral locationcn towerlocation is amazingbasic hotelcooked breakfaststreet noisesmall roomno elevator
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 284 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2017

SERIOUSLY REX HOTEL JAZZ & BLUES BAR?
We're visiting from NYC, came to The Rex Hotel Jazz & Blues Bar tonight early to hear a piano player, we sat right up front by the stage.
As soon as we sat, I noticed a tip jar on stage, gave hubs some $$ which he put in, then sat back to enjoy some drinks & an appetizer.
We politely & respectfully watched, didn't talk, stare at our phones, etc. It was wonderful to relax as we had been out sightseeing all day.
We paid our check, left a nice tip, waited until the piano player was finished with his song, and then quickly & quietly got up to leave.
Immediately, upon seeing us, the piano player VERY LOUDLY on his microphone told us to "hit the tip jar".
Everyone stopped to stare at us. I smiled and said "We already did". He started calling me names (again, loudly on his microphone) It was mortifying, uncalled for and juvenile.
From the sidewalk and down the block from The Rex, we could hear the piano player, LOUDLY on his microphone, continue to call us names.
SERIOUSLY Rex?
So disappointing and unprofessional.
We'll take our business elsewhere, I will be reposting this to other travel reviews as well.
9/28/2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank greatamazingdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

I wanted a fairly-priced overnight accomodation near the Union Station and the entertainment district. The very dated Rex hotel fulfilled that criteria. I was pleasantly surprised by the very clean room and comfortable bed with tons of clean white towels. I was however also surprised by the single bathroom and shower stall (although very clean) that was shared by several rooms on the floor - not sure how many did.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Nyamburak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

I got what I paid for with few reservations: no one wants to share a bathroom/shower with an entire floor; plus the shower fixture wasn't the greatest. However, I've already reserved a room for my September trip
A fabulous staff!!
It ain't the Sheraton, but it's worth my money! By the way, if you don't appreciate jazz, ask for room on a higher floor.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile

A bed and a bathroom above a jazz club; close to town in the entertainment district. Room 225 included a bathroom; other rooms have share bathroom. Jazz every night; all done by midnight when we stayed on a Monday night. Tidy & cheap for our one night (transit) stay.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank CM67Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Perfect location for wandering around Toronto and a good price. Rooms are small and the jazz music lasts until 1am, we attempted an early night on the first night after our flight but it felt like the jazz band were playing a private gig in our room. My advice would be ask for a high floor room or have a coffee and go downstairs. They charge a cover fee even if you stay in the hotel though which to me seems unfair

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank K5069MTrichardb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews