We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top class!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chariots of Fire Ltd.

Chariots of Fire Ltd.
Ranked #4 of 120 Tours in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chariots of Fire offers Niagara Falls day tours starting in Toronto or Niagara Falls, Ontario. Our award winning tours include riverside viewing at the brink of the Falls, a scenic tour on the Niagara parkway with pictures stops at the Whirlpool Rapids, Hydro-electric dams, Floral Clock and Queenston Heights, free time at Niagra-on-the-Lake and complimentary tasting at an Estate Winery, including ice wine. All this for $77 per person (tax extra), children 3 years and under are free .
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“top class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

When on 27 Sept, fab trip, good recommend, Mel-driver/host, excellently pitched and delivered, learnt alot and enjoyed. Great value for money!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travellinchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    88
    18
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best . . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Like most, I did a lot of research online and was impressed with the amount of favorable reviews for Chariots of Fire. They definitely deserve their loft reviews. Our driver/guide Mel was great. He was very informative, well prepared, and had a nice wry sense of humor. But what really distinguished Mel was his thoughtfulness. I truly felt looked after with Mel. The tour has a lot of moving parts to it -- three pickup stops in Toronto, Skylon Tower, Maid of the Mist, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Floral Clock, winery tour, and four "picture stops" -- that Mel handled flawlessly. The guide can make or break a tour, and Mel made our tour one to remember.

As I mentioned, the tour offers much more than Niagara Falls. We had both lunch and a trip on Maid of the Mist. If you have time and opportunity, doing both is well worth the extra $12. The boat trip is a great way to see and feel the power of the falls up close. And the Skylon Tower? The views are terrific, and it's the best way to see the falls and the surrounding area. A buffet lunch at the top of Skylon Tower was a nice bonus for an additional $18.

All in all, a well-planned itinerary, an expert guide, and lots of fun activities all for a modest fee. You definitely get your money's worth with Chariots of Fire . . . and much more! Forget the rest, and sign up with the best!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice package tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked the Niagra Falls tour expecting to be driven there, dropped off and picked up a few hours later. The whole day was really pleasant with lots of unexpected extras. The bus was smaller which was a lot more comfortable. The day started early with a pick up close to our hotel. When we got to the falls, you could either go up the tower for a great view or be taken right to the falls. Those that went up the tower were brought to the falls later. We had plenty of time to view the falls and then we were taken to the Maid in the Mist boat for a very fun boat trip up to the falls. From there we went for a drive along the river with a number of stops for pics. Then we stopped in Niagra on the Lake for Lunch - this place is really beautiful. After lunch we had a stop at a winery for a wine tasting. It is a long day but well worth it. The driver kept everything well organized and on time. We didn't feel rushed, yet saw a lot. Everything was included in the price except for lunch, but there are lot's of choices. This tour is really well worth the price and the early start.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fred_Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

There's no doubt that if you're within driving distance of Niagara Falls then you MUST go and see it, but if you are staying in Toronto then we would definately recommend this particular tour.
It's an early start, with pick-up at 7.30am, but that does mean you arrive at the Skylon Tower and then the Falls themselves quite early, avoiding huge masses of tourists and (most importantly) you really benefit from the morning sun, which is beautiful.
I disagree with other reveiws that the tour can at times feel rushed, for us the timings were just perfect giving us just enough time to see everything without getting bored, take a packed lunch and you'll be fine. The complimentary wine-tasting, the last stop of the tour, was wonderful and a real perk of the day. The staff at the winery were so welcoming and knowledgable and we were treaated to the regions infamous 'Ice Wines'; a real treat.
Finally, it's been said that Melvin (combined bus driver & tour guide) has an off-beat sense of humour, but us Brits loved it! Wonderful knowledge of Toronto, the Falls and Niagara-on-the-Lake made the journey go quickly and when he wasn't talking we got to listen to Celine Dion... And all on a bus called 'Chariots of Fire', AWESOME!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Thanks to Melvin for an excellent day out. Good value too. I wonder if the trip should be done in reverse, leaving the falls until last?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank brightonalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chariots of Fire Ltd. also viewed

 

Been to Chariots of Fire Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing