We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super tour, worth every penny even if its just to listen to Melvin!”

Chariots of Fire Ltd.
Ranked #4 of 123 Tours in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chariots of Fire offers Niagara Falls day tours starting in Toronto or Niagara Falls, Ontario. Our award winning tours include riverside viewing at the brink of the Falls, a scenic tour on the Niagara parkway with pictures stops at the Whirlpool Rapids, Hydro-electric dams, Floral Clock and Queenston Heights, free time at Niagra-on-the-Lake and complimentary tasting at an Estate Winery, including ice wine. All this for $77 per person (tax extra), children 3 years and under are free .
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super tour, worth every penny even if its just to listen to Melvin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

My partner and I spent 9 fantastic days in Toronto in June'11. We were working to a 'budget' and on our visit to the Tourist info centre on Dundas St West we saw some info on the Chariots Tour. The assistant kindly reserved 2 seats for us. Really good central location for pick up and drop off. The tour guide Melvin is worth his weight in gold!! What doesn't this guy know!! He even was talking about British history that we should know about!! After driving us there safely and dropping us off fist at the Skylon Tower for those of us who wished to go to 'the top o the tower' to take in the panaramic views. Personally think if i didnt go up the tower i wouldn't of really missed much, the actual Maid of the Mist Boat Ride is by far the best experience!! Besides the soaking (you do get to wear a very fashionable poncho!!) the experience if standing under the falls is incredible!! After the 1.5 hours spent at the boat Mel took us off to the rapids stopping off at Niagara on the Lake(absolutlely lovely little town) then off to the vineyards of the Canidian Ice Wine region!! Lovely tasting session had by all and the chance to purchase some at a VERY good price- about 60% cheaper than the Duty free prices at the airport! During the whole tour Mel keep us abreast with all the history of the region and at the end of the tour he presented us all with a box of maple cookies!! Really REALLY recommend this tour to anyone, well worth the $68 (inc tax). Ooh, but a word of caution to those who like to munch during their journey- Mel wont have anything eaten/drunk on the bus except water- he will mention this many times to all! Enjoy Toronto, its a fantastic, safe, friendly city and we will be back!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank missdixiedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    88
    18
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ride and Guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

What a awesome day it was when touring with the Chariots of Fire...Specially loved the Malvin what guiding all the time by providing information about the different places...Very informative and loved the way Malvin dealing with the passengers...Highly Recommended Tour...

Paresh Patel - Toronto

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank PareshPatel2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great tour and great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

The tour costs only $60 (not incl tax) which is $100 less than some other operators. The Chariots of Fire tour included a large variety of locations. We had a knowledgable driver who drove a small group of us in a car and mentioned some important facts along the way. We went to the Skylon tower, did the Maid of the Mist (an extra $12 if you have done the Skylon tower), a different vantage point for photos, drove down towards Niagra on the Lake making some stops for photos along the way. We had lunch at Niagra on the lake and stopped at a winery where we had free wine samples.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank LawrieZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very informative, enjoyable trip and would definately recommend this to anyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Great way to see Niagara Falls and the surrounding area. Excellent driver who provided a great deal of information on all aspects of the trip from Toronto onwards. Very helpful and keen to ensure that all travelers were enjoying the experience. We would certainly recommend this trip.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank KenHillsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chariot of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

I took this trip on my own while I was staying with friends in Toronto. The bus leaves at Toronto at 7.30am, making a few stops downtown. I'm not a morning person but this is really worth getting up for! The other tours all leave at 9.30am so you beat the traffic and the queues. Our driver gave us a short tour of the city on our departure, pointing out all the major sights. There is no toilet on the bus but the longest you're ever on it is an hour so it's not a problem. The drive to Niagara is around an hour from Toronto. The driver gives a tour en route, full of facts and very amusing. Thanks Melvin! First stop is the Sky Line Tower. Again, we were here early so we had the viewing deck to ourselves. I would really recommend this; it is by far the best view of the falls you'll see all day. This is a fun attraction in itself. Next stop is a veiwing point in touristy Niagara where you can hop off the bus and take photos. Then it's on to the Maid of the Mist. If you want to do Maid of the Mist and the Sky Line Tower, it will cost around $10 extra than the $60 fee. The Maid of the Mist has a longer line but it moves fast as there are two boats touring and they hold a lot of people. You will be given a waterproof poncho, wear it, you get soaked! This is a super fun activity and you go right up to the falls which are really spectacular. After the Maid of the Mist we went on to Niagara on the Lake. A lot of tours give you your free time in Niagara itself. There's nothing there but gift shops. You can do a few more activities: helicopter ride, behind the falls etc. but hey, you can only see Niagara from so many angles. Sky Line Tower and Maid of the Mist are the best, for sure.

En route to Niagara on the Lake the tour continues, stopping at a couple of sights of the way for a photo op. Niagara on the Lake is a beautiful picture postcard town with shops and restaurants. It is here you have spare time for lunch etc. Finally, the tour stops by the 20 Bees Vineyard for free wine tasting. This is really fun, the staff at 20 Bees are lovely and obviously have a good relationship with Chariots of Fire.

Then it's back to Toronto. You're home by around 5-5.30pm which is brilliant because you have an hour or two to kick back before dinner! We were all given a box of maple biscuits at the end of the day which was a really nice touch.

I can't recommend this tour enough. Our tour guide, Melvin, was informative and funny and I had a fantastic day. The bus is small enough to fit a lot in in one day, the bigger buses would be a nightmare. I never felt rushed or like I was hanging around. Thank you Chariots of Fire for a truly memorable day.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank AHS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chariots of Fire Ltd. also viewed

 

Been to Chariots of Fire Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing