We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best brewery tour”

Steam Whistle Brewery
Ranked #6 of 513 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located within walking distance of the CN Tower and Rogers Center, Steam Whistle Brewing occupies Bays 1-24 within the old John Street Roundhouse building, a designated National Historic Site that was previously home to the Canadian Pacific Railway steam locomotive repair facility. Thousands of visitors visit this brewery every year to attend one of the on-site events or take a tour of how the company brews its own Pilsner.
North Ferrisburgh, Vermont, United States
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best brewery tour”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was skeptical about paying 10 dollars for a tour- but well worth it- took an hr.- prebooked on line which was worth it- otherwise it would have been a 3 hr wait to come back & tour. Tour lasted an hr., given plenty of free samples & a bottle of beer to drink while walking through- tour guide- Claire - was excellent- very knowledgeable- head sets that made it possible to hear all she was saying- great idea to do- fun building, min. walk from Rogers Center

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,674
    670
    156
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great experience for our students”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We came last night and our students completely enjoyed themselves. They said it was the best activity ever and they also loved their take-home gifts. Very organized and friendly. Thank you!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCALanguageschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome bang for your buck and a great time.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Came down from Edmonton, went to go to the CN tower and discovered the steam whistle brewery. I am so glad I booked a tour. The guide was awesome and really knew her stuff. The beer is delicious, and the history was very interesting.
I highly recommend checking it out if you love beer.
It is also very cheap, and you get a lot of samples and a bottle of beer fresh off the line!!! I would definitely do it again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Assteria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best in Toronto”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After our visit to the CN tower my wife and I headed over to Steam Whistle for a visit. We almost left before the tour because they didn't open till noon during the week. So glad we decided to wait the extra 40 mins! Best brew tour I have ever been on!

I decided to do the 6 pack and tour and my wife did the tour with pint glass. As you walk in they provide you with a free sample even if you don't take the tour you still get a free sample. Then the tour starts and one of the first things a a free beer right off the bottling line! Our host was great and answered all our questions and very informative.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vernn2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Beer & tour”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Fantastic time was had a Steam Whistle Brewery. We took the tour which included a pint glass at the end of it - pint glass is a nice glass to take home. Before the tour (and if you just pop in to the bar off the street) you are provided with a free sample of beer. During the tour you are given a bottle of beer to drink. The beer has a great taste and the tour is interesting and taken by members of staff who are knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Great value and definitely worth a visit especially as it is across the road from the CN Tower so easy to access. You can reserve a tour date and time on their website and pay for it when you visit. We arrived early and they were able to move us to an earlier tour. Fab beer, tour and staff

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 220678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steam Whistle Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Steam Whistle Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing