We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What hospitality we received!”

Steam Whistle Brewery
Ranked #6 of 513 things to do in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Located within walking distance of the CN Tower and Rogers Center, Steam Whistle Brewing occupies Bays 1-24 within the old John Street Roundhouse building, a designated National Historic Site that was previously home to the Canadian Pacific Railway steam locomotive repair facility. Thousands of visitors visit this brewery every year to attend one of the on-site events or take a tour of how the company brews its own Pilsner.
Kingston Ontario Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What hospitality we received!”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

What a great spot very interesting train station they are located in. The tour was really interesting and the draught beer was so fresh and they were not stingy with seconds and thirds. Our visiting freinds from Syracuse were very impressed. I was proud of the Canadian hospitality they received.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Skiforfun-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,674
    670
    156
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing beer ...good tour!”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

A great way to spend a few hours. I wish I had of stocked up more on the cases I left with.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cremdella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“the tour rocks”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

cheap samples, informative tour! all for ten bucks

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank mjhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Interesting, fun, and lots of samples”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

A group of us enjoyed a "VIP" tour which was won at a charity auction. If you get a chance to bid on one of these, it's well worth it.
The staff were wonderful and actually seemed to enjoy what they were doing. The tour was informative and interesting. Did I mention there were lots of samples? :)
We came away with a swag bag that had two great Steam Whistle glasses.

The location itself is also quite interesting. Have a look around at the trains if you have a chance.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank H2oson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Place, worth a trip for the beer lover.”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

If you like beer, go there. As a European I thought all North American beers were like carbonated water based on the ones I've tried, but they make a great larger, and its in a stunning area right near the CN tower, so you can hit both one after each other.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steam Whistle Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Steam Whistle Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing