We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$158
$150
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$220
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Omni King Edward Hotel(Toronto)
$275
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Delta Hotels Toronto(Toronto)
$307
$262
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$180
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$388
$256
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$200
$139
Westin.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$160
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$135
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,730)
Filter reviews
1,730 results
Traveler rating
1,009
346
178
97
100
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,009
346
178
97
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barheated floorsinfinity pooltoronto skylineroom serviceking suiterain showerboutique hotelbars and restaurantsbeautiful hotelthis past weekendking streetdowntown corecn towerentertainment districtvalet parkingcolette
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,314 - 1,319 of 1,730 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I was completely overwhelmed with the quality of this hotel. I adored my stay here. At night my friend and I ventured up to the rooftop and that's where all the magic happens. The hotel is blessed with an unbelievable view of the Toronto city skyline. The rooftop is complete with an infinity pool, a bar, and plenty of couch space. Its a great place to stay, and for a night out.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Leana D,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially that you had a great time on the rooftop. We sincerely value your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The ONLY reason I booked this hotel was because of the hype surrounding the hotel's rooftop lounge and pool. If you are thinking of straying from your usual chain of hotels to check out this heavily promoted feature, think again. You will absolutely be disappointed.

First, upon check in we were told the rooftop lounge closed at 4:00 for a wedding ceremony. Check-in is at 3:00 (although we did get an early check in, about 2:30). We had a grand total of 1.5 hours to enjoy the lounge. Not a problem initially, but there's more.

Second, we arrive at the lounge at 2:50 ready to check out the pool. There was yellow caution tape all around it. It was closed? When I called to reserve the room, confirm the reservation, AND AT CHECK-IN, I commented on my excitement to check out the pool, and no one told me the pool was out of order. (yes, that is correct, even at check-in they didn't tell me). Interestingly, the Thompson Toronto posted a picture of the pool on their Facebook page on May 29 (only 2 days before our check in). Seems slightly deceptive.

In an effort to enjoy the lounge despite the pool option, we ordered a pitcher of Sangria (mediocre), turkey burger (very good), and salad (mediocre). It took approximately 30 MINUTES to get our pitcher of Sangria (so we are down to .5 hours to enjoy our drinks before the lounge closes), and 40 minutes for our food to arrive (20 minutes to scarf it down). The time it took to get our drinks and food was absolutely unacceptable. It wasn't even that busy!

The moral of the story: the coveted lounge experience was actually incredibly anti-climatic and underwhelming.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear MelissaCraig,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us. I apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional. We value your feedback and are making a concerted effort to communicate any venue closures both through our social media outlets as soon as we become aware of them and at the very least, upon arrival. We hope that you will stay with us again soon so that we are able to provide an outstanding experience for you.

Best Regards,
Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had originally booked the Shangri-La for a special weekend celebrating my girlfriends birthday. Her friends convinced me to switch to Thompson since we would have access to the cool rooftop bar.
Check in was a breeze and the front desk staff was friendly and top notch. We went up to the room, dropped off our stuff and set the AC to 75, the room was a little warm. When we returned a few hours later the room was actually warmer, up to 83+. Unfortunately the heat had melted several party favors creating a mess and ruining the party we were attending that night.

The hotel sent someone up right away, and the HVAC guy was very friendly. He told us the AC was regulated so as not to work at full capacity. He also brought us a fan and opened the AC so as to work properly. The room never really cooled down much below 75.

The manager was very nice and offered to send us a bottle of wine. At that point it didn't really matter as the favors which my girlfriend spent all day making melted in an 80 degree + room.

Not what you expect when you're paying $450+ for a suite.

I will say the rooftop bar and lobby bar are very nice and a mix of 30 or so year old professionals.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBarrister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Buffalobarrister,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We regret that the air conditioning was not working sufficiently during your stay. We have improved the cooling system in the hotel and hope that you will stay with us again soon so that we are able to provide an exceptional experience for you.

Best Regards,
Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Thompson Hotel is ideal for 20-30 year olds seeking a luxurious stay in the heart of the entertainment district in downtown. Keep in mind that this is both a hotel and home to wealthy residents, so the security is tight. Do not expect to have a party in your hotel room as you will not get past the 'bouncer' at the elevators. The Thompson has an exclusive reputation and you're only allowed one outside guest for your room and the rooftop pool/lounge. On the main floor they have an amazing (and expensive) restaurant, Sparpetta. Also situated on ground level is an unreal 24hr diner. Downstairs is a bar that happens to get busy on some week nights and weekends. Upstairs is the fabulous rooftop with an infinity pool, cabanas, and a bar. You can also get bottle service for a hefty price to pair with lunch. Unfortunately you will more than likely run into cheeky crowds at the Thompson but it comes with the territory.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank libs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear libs07,
Thank you for taking to time to share with us. We always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and work very hard to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay with us. Since your stay with us in June of 2013 Scarpetta has since closed. In it’s place will be the opening of Colette Grand Café , stay tuned for more information!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thompson!
Best Regards,
Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

hotel is really funky and has an interesting concept. Rooms are nice and clean. However, we had a bad experience with the breakfast. The front desk person was able to solve for us. The bar was really nice looking but the pool was closed when I visited which I assume is due to the weather.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Champagnewithaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear facchs,
Thank you for your review. We always enjoy hearing from our guests and we appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us. We hope to welcome you back very soon,
Best Regards,
Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews