We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We went for rooftop drinks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Ranked #23 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,339 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“We went for rooftop drinks”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is not much to look at from the exterior but everything inside is fancy.
The rooftop bar gives you a great view of the city.
We went downstairs for drinks since there was a private party on the roof that didn't look much or sound like a party.
The bar downstairs was more lively.
$15-$16 for a glass of wine.
Very cozy and comfortable. It wasn't that busy for a Friday.
The waitress was a little flighty finding the tables but sort of added to the fun!
It's worth a stop however the rooftop bar is for hotel guests or invitees on the list!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wasntme58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear wasntme58,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time on our rooftop and appreciated the 360 degree views of our beautiful city.

We look forward to your return,

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    294
    156
    87
    93
See reviews for
122
564
87
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This place is "better than average" but not completely "very good."

When you walk into the lobby, it is dark and mysterious. A bit unusual for a hotel. The first thing the front desk did was refer to the lobby bar--rather than address my need to check in. That was strange. After check-in, the desk told me about the various offerings in the space: the nightclub, the restaurants, the lounge. While I appreciated being told, it felt a bit more like being in a club with a hotel rather than a hotel that had a club. I don't mind the key card necessity for the elevator, but the darkness, the pounding music, and the swanky feel was a bit pretentious.

The room itself was open and large. The lighting system (switches) is designed to assist the guest, and the hardwood floors were a nice touch. The TV could be larger for such a "luxury" space, but by and large, I had no complaints on the room. As a matter of fact, I slept well in the comfortable bed.

It was the air of pretension that lingered, including upon check-out. While I was staying there through a Priceline deal, I was charged $2.65 or so for "taxes" on the Priceline charge. I didn't fully understand that as Priceline had already charged me $20+ in service fees and taxes. And now the hotel had to nickel and dime me for charges that had already occurred?

Would I stay here again, Priceline or not? Probably. It's not really "me" as it's a bit too vibey. But my other half would have loved it. I was there on business, and it's more of a "date place" than a "work hotel." But I recognize it was nice to "shake things up" and experience something a little bit different.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Throbbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Thorbbert,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad that you appreciated our hardwood floors and state of the art Lutron Lightening system.

This year the city of Toronto has implemented a “Destination Marketing fee” of 3%. When booking your reservation through a third party this information is provided prior to the completion of your booking. I am very sorry if you felt that this reflected badly on your overall impression of our Hotel.

Hopefully you will have an opportunity to return with your wife on your next visit.

Best,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Lovely big room, great bed, good room service, free luggage storage. Car parking more reasonable than anywhere else and handy to Billy Bishop airport for our crappy flights with never to be used again Porter Airlines (how do they manage to trash an expensive, new, hard sided suitcase in one short flight...and then not give a rat's backside!?) Would stay there gain for any reason! Good location for anyone visiting Toronto.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christiem2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear christiem2010,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am sorry about the experience that your new suitcase had on the flight over. Luckily there are several options for replacement of such items close by to the Hotel, and of course our staff is always on hand for a quick repair to ensure you and your belongings get home safely.

We look forward to having you back soon,

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Come on, how often do you get this amazing luxury while traveling??? I love this hotel. Clean, sleek, contemporary styling from lobby to room. I love the amenities and in-room snack drawer and stocked fridge. So tasteful. Rooftop pool is sublime and club scene is tolerable and chic. A little on the noisy side Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Monday, but totally worth it. Got an amazingly stylish ride to the airport in the hotel Jaguar, thanks to Albert--so lovely. What a bonus. My new favorite hotel group. Thanks for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Isabelle B, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We delight in exceeding our guests expectations and I know that Albert will be thrilled to hear your comments.
We hope to welcome you back to the Thompson Toronto Hotel very soon!
Best,
Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My new wife started work the Thursday after our wedding and as such a honeymoon was not possible. After much deliberation we decided to take a three night staycation honeymoon at The Thompson Toronto and this turned out to be a excellent decision.

From the moment I was offered an early check in and a room upgrade on the day of our wedding right up until we were granted a late check out every request we made was carried out in a efficient, courteous and friendly manner. The King Suite we were upgraded to was amazing and the rooftop pool and bar is definitely one of the highlights of Toronto. We enjoyed the experience of staying at The Thompson so much that we extended our stay by two days. We plan to return for our first anniversary and hopefully for many more after that. The Thompson Toronto will be the only hotel we recommend to visitors to this city going forward.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Patrick O,

Thank you so very much for your review, we are delighted that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us and we look forward to your First Anniversary!

Please contact me when you plan to return so that we can make sure to arrange something special for you,

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I know Toronto very well and truly know the hotels in the City...
The Thompson is really a great hotel for singles/couples/families/dog lovers...location is ideal for tourist/business/pleasure stays..

The staff strives do go above and beyond their job description..I must make a special note regarding .. Lousia Duhamel..front desk "can make it happen"..so helpful and informed of the "best of the best"...

The rooms are very comfortable and the Suites are fantastic too...If you want to have a great experience in one of the best Cities of the World...Book The Thompson

Room Tip: Do not use the parking lot across the street.. not secured..worth the cost for hotel valet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawson1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear dawson1313,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am so pleased that you were able to share your time in Toronto with us. Your kind recognition, I am sure will be very well received.

We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed two nights, August 22nd and 23rd. Check in was fast, had a note and chocolates waiting for us in the room from the hotel manager which set the tone for great service. Unfortunately that is where it ended. Beautiful hotel, the decor is ultra modern and fun. Rooms are average in size. We were on the 9th floor and had a balcony. We went up to the roof top pool, small but clean and very crowded. No room to walk with people laying on the ground because the loungers were taken. Also went up to the roof top for drinks, nice view.

There are certain details that make this hotel average and cheap
1/ coffee service in the lobby ends at 9am. this would be fine if you had coffee in the room but you don't
2/ no chairs on the balcony so you can't enjoy the balcony, had to wheel the desk chair out and only one person could sit out there
3/ only two bath towels, had to call housekeeping for more
4/ ran out of toilet paper and kleenex
5/ breakfast that is included is continental, why bother. There was even confusion about that among the servers at the Thompson Diner.
6/ tv cables not working well, had to fiddle with it
7/ internet is not included with the room

The only place we received incredible service was at the restaurant Scarpetta. We would highly recommend this culinary experience. Service and food where incredible. They made the stay worthwhile. Check in staff was indifferent, bar/service staff was also mediocre at best. Outside of Scarpetta, no one made you feel like they were happy to see you.

I am glad we went to see the place, one night would have been enough.

Room Tip: 9th floor with the balcony was great, could see the city but they need to get outside chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChillView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Chillview,

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate hearing from our guests. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience in Scarpetta while I regret that your experience with our staff was not equally as enjoyable.

We are making some changes within the Hotel which will address a number of your concerns, please stay turned as I am sure that you will be pleased with our improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#9 of 137 in Toronto
745 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 137 in Toronto
1,174 reviews
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing