We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 4 nights recently at the hotel and we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. The hotel is in a lovely neighborhood with nearby restaurants, parks, and public transportation. The room was spacious with the most incredible view of the Toronto skyline. The rooftop bar was the happening place so we visited every night. I never felt out of place even though Im 50 years old. Everyone was very friendly and this is a very youth oriented hotel. It was a bit noisy late night, and there were a few inconsistencies like not have ice every evening, just once. You have to request from room service. Coffee service in the AM is in the lobby, but very early. If you sleep in, you will pay about $3.00 a cup at 8:30. So get there early. The rooftop bar hosts parties almost everynight, so you are sent to a side area to wait for the bar to open to everyone. Fun place though.

Room Tip: High level floors. Corner suites facing east have spectacular night time views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziq48103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear suziq48103,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had a chance to enjoy the unprecedented views from the Rooftop Lounge and Pool. Our Room Service department delivers ice for our guests as a complimentary service, on your next visit if you would like ice delivered to your room at a specific time just let us know. We delight in finding ways to cater our service to our guests specific needs and requests.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    269
    134
    72
    82
See reviews for
99
513
83
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is what I call a hotel to be. nice quality, entertainment. party life, just a bit noisy, especially the gusts ar eusually lots of noisy party animals, which come back to their rooms from 3 AM all through 6 AM with heavy door slamings, shouldnt expcet too much of sleep there. roof top pool is nice. and it is expensive so with this price you would expcet some quiteness but you wont get it ! staff are trained but not necessarly the most cooprating staff (not compared to Sheraton or usuall 4 star hotel) the only good thing about this hotel is their roof top pool and their design. not sure if it is worthed to sacrify your sleep for it!

Room Tip: good if you dont want to sleep there over night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear P D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experince with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the Rooftop and the design of the Hotel.

I am disapointed to hear that you were not able to achieve a restuful sleep during this visit. On your next visit please contact us directly so that we can update your profile and ensure that you do not have the same experince on your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've stayed at the Thompson Toronto a few times now and always enjoy going back. Although it may not be as well known as others right in the downtown core, it's definitely worth the extra few minutes walk. Or if you're flying in on Porter, better yet, because you can walk to the Hotel and arrive even before the shuttle would have you dropped off at Union Station. I absolutely love the rooftop bar and its amazing views of the city. The staff are great, and the rooms are well appointed and very bright, even the washrooms. The shower has frosted glass which allows natural light in to help wake you up after a long night. There's enough on-site food options to appeal to all appetites, whether it be breakfast in the 24 hr diner, or cocktails/appies on the rooftop.

If you like a unique hotel, personalized hospitality, and a extremely comfortable stay, the Thompson is a must for Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan_rf_young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear ryan_rf_young,

Thank you for your review. We are always delighted to hear from our guests and appreciate you sharing your experince with us.

We hope you will have a chance to enjoy our rooftop BBQ Menu over the summer as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Stellar design, thoughtful, artistiv, technical yet functional (heated bathroom floors!!) this is one of my favorite hotels. A beautiful rooftop bar, well stocked gym and yoga studio, delicious and varied dining options; I found myself not wanting to leave the hotel at all. The only things I could find flawed were minor and related to room service, which is kind of disappointing when all else is in such a superstar category, and really only required some critical thought from the employees. Spaghetti and meatballs and a salad should not come with mayo, ketchup and mustard but rather Parmesan for example. Timing was quite off for breakfast by about a half hour one morning, and an order taker got argumentative about having an omelette prepared as scrambled the next morning. Still, if these are my only concerns, and taking into consideration I am paying a low price for high quality food from a diner no matter how gourmet, I can safely say this is a hotel stay I look forward to repeating and recommending.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctraveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear nyctraveler83,

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate hearing from our guests. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and experience with us.

You are absolutely right your spaghetti and meat balls should not be accompanied by the condiments you mentioned; I do apologize for this error and assure you that this is not the standard accompaniments to this particular order.

Connect with us on your next visit so that we may update your profile and make this right.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip. Hotel is full of beautiful people many of them work there!
Location is just great, rooms are very well equipped and comfortable. The real highlight is the roof terrace with a very trendy bar and amazing views of the Toronto skyline.
OK prices in the hotel for food and drink are steep but no more than expected in an establishment at this level.
Would love to go back one day and will stay in the Thompson again. Special mention for Albert just a great front of house guy

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view lower floors overlook a building site across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Phil H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to join us on our Rooftop Lounge and bar.

I know Albert will be very pleased to hear your special mention, thank you for your acknowledgment.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were visiting Toronto for a wedding and stayed at the Thompson Toronto. The hotel has an European flavor, opting for glass and wood over carpeting and large pictures, etc. We found this decor to be very refreshing and stylish. Given the amount of windows in the room, there was plenty of natural light which made everything more inviting. The staff was helpful and friendly. Also, we liked the security feature where you need to use your hotel key card to operate the elevator. Finally, the hotel is in a good location in the city; walkable to everything. This hotel is definately a keeper!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorpSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear CorpSpy,

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Summer Rooftop hours have officially began so hopefully on your next visit you can enjoy our Rooftop Infinity Pool as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

In short its a place that effectively created an image of style and luxury, through advertising and location, but falls well short of earning anything better than an average rating.
I'm at the hotel right now and so far the staff were slow, took over 30min for our drinks order at 4pm... Not like it was busy or anything. The food order was brought cold, and wrong. When I sent it back they returned within 10min with the exact same order, only this time with a new topping... Still not what I had ordered. At least if it had been a new meal I wouldn't have cared, but to bring back the same cold incorrect dish... Seriously...
Still here and hoping the rest of the evening has some better luck.

Room Tip: Room could be better if you demand something on the 6th or higher floor... Otherwise you have no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kosono75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear kosono75,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we truly appreciate hearing from our guests.
While we strive to provide our guests with the exceptional service and experience our guests expect from Thompson Hotels, it is very clear that we have fallen short in this instance, for this I would like to offer my deepest apologies.

We had opened our rooftop earlier than planned due to the above normal temperatures for our guests to enjoy. As a result we did experience some issues with regards to service on this particular day. I assure you that we are working hard to address the issues which you brought forward to us and again I do truly appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon so that you can experience the level of service and atmosphere which the Thompson Toronto is known for.

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing