We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“All around perfection”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've stayed at the Thompson Toronto a few times now and always enjoy going back. Although it may not be as well known as others right in the downtown core, it's definitely worth the extra few minutes walk. Or if you're flying in on Porter, better yet, because you can walk to the Hotel and arrive even before the shuttle would have you dropped off at Union Station. I absolutely love the rooftop bar and its amazing views of the city. The staff are great, and the rooms are well appointed and very bright, even the washrooms. The shower has frosted glass which allows natural light in to help wake you up after a long night. There's enough on-site food options to appeal to all appetites, whether it be breakfast in the 24 hr diner, or cocktails/appies on the rooftop.

If you like a unique hotel, personalized hospitality, and a extremely comfortable stay, the Thompson is a must for Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan_rf_young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear ryan_rf_young,

Thank you for your review. We are always delighted to hear from our guests and appreciate you sharing your experince with us.

We hope you will have a chance to enjoy our rooftop BBQ Menu over the summer as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    279
    143
    78
    85
See reviews for
107
535
87
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Stellar design, thoughtful, artistiv, technical yet functional (heated bathroom floors!!) this is one of my favorite hotels. A beautiful rooftop bar, well stocked gym and yoga studio, delicious and varied dining options; I found myself not wanting to leave the hotel at all. The only things I could find flawed were minor and related to room service, which is kind of disappointing when all else is in such a superstar category, and really only required some critical thought from the employees. Spaghetti and meatballs and a salad should not come with mayo, ketchup and mustard but rather Parmesan for example. Timing was quite off for breakfast by about a half hour one morning, and an order taker got argumentative about having an omelette prepared as scrambled the next morning. Still, if these are my only concerns, and taking into consideration I am paying a low price for high quality food from a diner no matter how gourmet, I can safely say this is a hotel stay I look forward to repeating and recommending.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctraveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear nyctraveler83,

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate hearing from our guests. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and experience with us.

You are absolutely right your spaghetti and meat balls should not be accompanied by the condiments you mentioned; I do apologize for this error and assure you that this is not the standard accompaniments to this particular order.

Connect with us on your next visit so that we may update your profile and make this right.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip. Hotel is full of beautiful people many of them work there!
Location is just great, rooms are very well equipped and comfortable. The real highlight is the roof terrace with a very trendy bar and amazing views of the Toronto skyline.
OK prices in the hotel for food and drink are steep but no more than expected in an establishment at this level.
Would love to go back one day and will stay in the Thompson again. Special mention for Albert just a great front of house guy

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view lower floors overlook a building site across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Phil H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to join us on our Rooftop Lounge and bar.

I know Albert will be very pleased to hear your special mention, thank you for your acknowledgment.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were visiting Toronto for a wedding and stayed at the Thompson Toronto. The hotel has an European flavor, opting for glass and wood over carpeting and large pictures, etc. We found this decor to be very refreshing and stylish. Given the amount of windows in the room, there was plenty of natural light which made everything more inviting. The staff was helpful and friendly. Also, we liked the security feature where you need to use your hotel key card to operate the elevator. Finally, the hotel is in a good location in the city; walkable to everything. This hotel is definately a keeper!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorpSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear CorpSpy,

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our Summer Rooftop hours have officially began so hopefully on your next visit you can enjoy our Rooftop Infinity Pool as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

In short its a place that effectively created an image of style and luxury, through advertising and location, but falls well short of earning anything better than an average rating.
I'm at the hotel right now and so far the staff were slow, took over 30min for our drinks order at 4pm... Not like it was busy or anything. The food order was brought cold, and wrong. When I sent it back they returned within 10min with the exact same order, only this time with a new topping... Still not what I had ordered. At least if it had been a new meal I wouldn't have cared, but to bring back the same cold incorrect dish... Seriously...
Still here and hoping the rest of the evening has some better luck.

Room Tip: Room could be better if you demand something on the 6th or higher floor... Otherwise you have no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kosono75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear kosono75,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we truly appreciate hearing from our guests.
While we strive to provide our guests with the exceptional service and experience our guests expect from Thompson Hotels, it is very clear that we have fallen short in this instance, for this I would like to offer my deepest apologies.

We had opened our rooftop earlier than planned due to the above normal temperatures for our guests to enjoy. As a result we did experience some issues with regards to service on this particular day. I assure you that we are working hard to address the issues which you brought forward to us and again I do truly appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon so that you can experience the level of service and atmosphere which the Thompson Toronto is known for.

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hosted a party at the rooftop. The service at the Thompson was top notch! The food and drink were incredible...the atmosphere was FUN and the hotel rooms were great. We are so grateful that we chose the Thompson to host our event and look forward to another stay in the future. What a swanky and sexy hotel!!

Room Tip: Tenth floor...worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjs_toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear tjs_toronto,

Thank you for review, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director or Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Thompson is super cool. Gorgeous design, delicious food (I recommend ordering the friend chicken late at night) and excellent atmosphere. It's located near everything fun and hip. Really the perfect place for a celebration, a romantic getaway or a way to spice up a dull work trip.

It's be hard to find a better place to stay in Toronto.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo K, Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear tjs_toronto,

Thank you for review, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Theo Kolovos
Director or Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing