We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Ranked #19 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was really disappointed with this hotel. In fact I chose to go somewhere else after getting into the room. Rooms are sparse and looked a bit run down. We could hear quite a bit of noise from outside. To be fair, we did not stay the night. But the high price and quality of accommodations made us unhappy. Not a good match for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank In2exploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear In2exploring,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is unfortunate that you were not able to experience the level of service which we pride ourselves upon. All of our Hotel rooms feature hardwood floors with top of the line amenities. Unfortunately we do not offer rooms with wall to wall carpeting which I understand is your preference. We do find that our heated marble floors in the bathroom does help create that same feeling but with a clean modern feel.

Warm Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,400 - 1,406 of 1,701 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a great night stay at the hotel. Right from our arrival we were greeted with a smile by the front door/ Valet employee and the front desk staff was very professional. The modern interior design of the front lobby/bar area was very nice. The ambiance was excellent at night. We have not had the opportunity to stay at such a modern design hotel like this one before, but we felt very comfortable, very quickly. Thank you for making our night out a great one. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Bill D,

Thank you so much for your review, we love to hear from our guests. I am looking forward to sharing your feedback with our team. We take great pride in serving our guests and seeing that everyone enjoys a comfortable stay with us.

Thank you for sharing with us and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit!

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Thompson may be a little distance from the downtown core, but the Streetcar is only one block away, and runs every few minutes.
Decor and ambiance very good. Staff friendly and helpful.
Rooms reasonably spacious, beds very comfortable.
24 hour restaurant on site, Bar stays open late, Bar food really good.
Cons - parking expensive, but why bring your car to a city ?
Internet charged daily - this is always an annoying extra, who doesn't use Internet these days ?
I always check Hotel sites for internet rates, it does make a difference to the bottom line !
Would recommend this Hotel, but compare rates to other Downtown accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allizbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear allizbal,

We always appreciate hearing feedback from our guests. I am glad that you found our location to be convenient for you. We are a short distance away from the downtown core and in and amongst some really fantastic restaurants, which I hope that you had a chance to enjoy on your visit with us as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us soon,

Warm Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Thompson Hotel is in the western part of central Toronto, a very long walk from downtown but close to the film industry part of the city. My family and I booked two rooms for the night at short notice. The first impression is a bit off putting, given that when you walk through the door you're greeted by loud music booming through the reception. From then on the experience improves markedly. The rooms are large and well built and feature comfortable beds. The bathroom has heated floors but neither of our rooms had bathtubs. At night the noise levels were low and I slept well, although I wonder how quiet the place would be in the summer. The hotel shares a building with a large number of apartments whose balconies are pretty close to many of the rooms. If people decided to party outside at night in the summer I can see the noise levels rising very quickly. We were there in winter and had no such problems. The diner served a good breakfast and the valet parking, as promised, delivered the car inside 10 minutes.

Room Tip: In the summer, ask for a room overlooking Bathurst Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faience44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Faience44,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests.

We hope that you and your family will return to see us soon, perhaps in the summer, when our pool is open to enjoy the indomitable views of the city from our Rooftop Infinity Pool.

Warm Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

having stayed at the Thompson earlier in the year on business - i visited Toronto with my wife for a city break - and booked the Thompson. The room was perfect - my wife loved it - and i have to say the service from the front desk, roof top bar and diner - were all without fault. I would never have guessed there was anyone else staying on our floor - although we were there over the weekend that the NFL came to town - so i know the hotel was very busy. I commented last time that the beds were super comfortable - and it wasn't a jet lagged illusion - they really are excellent. The location is great for exploring downtown - without actually being in the centre - and there are many bars and good restaurants within walking distance. We walked back from chinatown in under 20 minutes. I hope to return to Toronto for business a couple of times in 2013 - and already know where i'll be staying. This really is an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: i've had rooms on the west and northern corner - and both have been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear grove1

Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate hearing from our guests. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the vibrant the King West area during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel! On your next visit please share your preferences with us, we keep profiles for all of our regular guests so that we know what their preferences are for future stays.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Thompson Hotel Toronto is a perfect hotel and location for seeing Toronto. The rooms are quite nice and decent size. The lobby bar is the place to be. My favorite was the Diner though. Open 24hr which comes in handy after visting the bars and nightclubs in the area.
We requested a high floor, and the request was met with a great view. Only draw back was there was construction on the floor above starting at 9am in the morning. They should have had a better way to sort this out. It only happend one morning out of three, but it bares mentioning.
In all quality hotel and stay.

Room Tip: Ask about any construction in the area of your room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear G M,

Thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our 24HR diner and the view from your room.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!!

Sincerely,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was our first stay at a Thompson property. The first thing we noticed was that there are a couple of restaurants on the premises that appeared upscale, busy, and catered to a bustling and noisy clientele. The hotel was very modern and appeared to service an active and younger crowd. There was some noise around the check-in area due to proximity to the restaurants, but none noticable on our 5th floor room. I had to return to get something from the car parked in the basement, and on returning, my passkey would not work. A call to the front desk resulted in a quick response of someone bringing newly re-keyed cards directly to our room. All was good until we were woken up about mid-night - and almost constant noise in the hallway for the next 2 hours. I don't ever recall such an experience. It seemed like the walls were paper thin. All in all, a nice facility, but sleep was a priority in the evening before a busy day, and that objective was not achieved as I would have hoped. For this reason alone, I would not return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quill007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Quill007,

Thank you for sharing with us. While I am glad that you were pleased with the service of the Hotel, I do sincerely apologize that you were not able to achieve a restful sleep while visiting us.

We would love to have you return to stay with us, I would like the opportunity to speak with you with regards to your stay.

Sincerely,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 135 in Toronto
3,946 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
#10 of 135 in Toronto
1,315 reviews
Downtown West
Delta Hotels Toronto
Delta Hotels Toronto
#8 of 135 in Toronto
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Adelaide Hotel, Toronto
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#7 of 135 in Toronto
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Address: 550 Wellington St W, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $216 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing