We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way Over-Rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Ranked #21 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way Over-Rated”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Well...For the price...I got ripped off! Hearing about how "great" it is...I was totally disappointed! The service was slow...awful for that matter....of course they put me on a "party" floor as well, and their excuse was..."Sorry, we attract these types of people"...Ha! That was my response I had gotten!! The Quality Inn has way more class and much better service!!! I give this hotel a 1 out of 5. And only giving it a 1 due to the fact that my bathroom had heated floors...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Alison W,

I am sorry that your last visit at Thompson Toronto did not meet your expectations. Our bars within the hotel do tend to get quite busy and we may experience a higher noise level on the weekends; however, this should never get in the way of our guests’ comfort. I apologize that you did experience noise issues during your stay. We do try our best to have security minimize noise late at night especially in our rooms. Please feel free to contact me directly if you wish to make a reservation in the future and I will work with you to find a room that will be more suitable for your stay.

Warmest regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    288
    154
    81
    90
See reviews for
115
556
88
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We didnt stay at the hotel but we did go to the basement bar 1812. Where do I start? Lets start at the door. After the 2 morons with clip boards checked our I.D we told them we were on guest list for an engagement party. Before they even let us in they eyed us up and down and then made us wait while they let in 6 randoms before us. Walked downstairs the an empty club (at 11pm on saturday) with horrible music. After getting to our table the waitress was asking our guests if they wanted to put something out our tab..we ordered 6 bottles..there wasnt any agreement to tab or any need for more drinks. after going outside for a smoke one moron let us in and then the other 2 morons refused to let us back into the club because it was after last call. Excuse me? I was embarrased and so were the people in our group, after spending ALOT of money we were treated very rudely. We should have gone to one of the other million clubs in the area and spent our money there. Never again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brigitta5420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear brigitta5420,

Thank you for your comments. I will be sure to pass this off to the management at 1812.

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The lobby is super cool, just don't arrive too thirsty because they pour their drinks here to some kind of technical minimum.
The rooftop bar is most pleasing, although again, they pour their drinks according to some weird miserly ethos.

Room Tip: An eastern facing room garners the best city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcmcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Marcmcman,

Thank you for your feedback. We have standard measures and consistent recipes for all beverages served at the hotel. I have discussed your concerns with our Director of Food & Beverage and your feedback will be taken into account when revising the seasonal beverage menus.

We hope you’ll join us again soon,

Kind Regards,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Rooms- Cold, dark, very unwelcoming.

Beds- Not bad, probably my only positive from my stay

Food- room service was slow and food was cold when it arrived. It took another 30 minutes for the re-order to arrive. For a Thompson I would have expected higher quality ingredients. Was very amateur food.

Service- Pretentious, Pompous and Poor. Employees don’t seem like they enjoy their job and it reflects in their inability to smile, service their guests and make us feel like guests.

Result- Stay away from the Thompson hotel Toronto. Go to Sheraton, Hilton, Trump or any other reputable brand. At least you’ll get pleasant service at these other hotels where you’re appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Mike W,

Please know that all of our guests are very much appreciated, and you should have been shown that on arrival right through to departure. I will address the issues you experienced with our Front Office Department to ensure that all guests receive outstanding customer service, which Thompson is known for. Each room has their own temperature control settings, and I apologize that no one instructed you on how to make the room more comfortable to your liking. I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and should you wish to stay with us again please contact me directly.

All the best,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Overall I would give this hotel 4 out of 5 stars normally. The reason why I am giving it two stars is because both nights I had difficulty sleeping because I could hear music all night. I am a VERY light sleeper, so if you are not a VERY light sleeper I doubt this will bother you.

The base from blaring music kept me up all night. Staff seemed disinterested. No me next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Daniel R,

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that the music from our bar had kept you up, that clearly is not our intentions, as we want all of our guest’s to feel fully rested during their stay with us. Should you wish to book with us again please contact me, as I would love the opportunity to provide you with a more quite room that would be more to your liking.

Best Regards,
Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hope Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our first stay at The Thompson: Awesome! I was worried we would stand out as we are a little older and definitely less "hip" than the majority of their guests. We loved everything about our 3 day experience: The staff, the room, super comfy bed, the location, fabulous view and the rooftop bar and pool!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pastaqueen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear iDilly1967,

Thanks so much for your kind comments! I hope we see you again in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I were in Toronto for a concert so we wanted to stay at a hotel that was walkable to downtown as well as the Molson Amphitheatre--the Thompson Toronto was perfect! The 24/7 diner was great for breakfast, as well as the much needed after concert meal! The rooftop pool definitely got crowded but being early morning people we were able to enjoy it a bit without a crowd. Our room was very comfortable.

The room rate was a bit high, but considering the location and time of stay (peak summer) it was expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dorothy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SayeKokeh, General Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Dorothy,

I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Thompson Toronto! It is true; we are located in a great spot, convenient to everything!

Looking forward to serving you again!

Saye Kokeh
General Manager
Thompson Toronto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#10 of 136 in Toronto
719 reviews
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Le Germain Hotel Toronto Mercer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing