We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, Swank Space with great service and restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Modern, Swank Space with great service and restaurants”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We loved it -- the hotel was cushy and comfortable, the staff was on top of things and we loved the vibe. We loved having choices of types of food connected to it -- great sushi, great diner food and the bar played great music (even if the ambience wasn't exactly our vibe). We loved it and would totally stay there again when money allows.

Room Tip: Next time we'll ask not to be by an elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksbDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear ksbDetroit,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us; we love hearing from our guests. We’re pleased to know that we met, and hopefully exceeded, your expectations during your recent stay with us. We’re grateful for your compliments regarding our rooms and staff and we appreciate your kind words. As well, we’re glad you enjoyed the variety of on-site venues we offer and we hope you were able to savor some great food. Most importantly, we hope you had an exceptional and memorable stay at Thompson Toronto and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    269
    134
    72
    82
See reviews for
99
513
83
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We were at the Thompson on the weekend with about 20 colleagues for a business meeting. Nice staff, nice rooms and meeting.

BUT poor soundproofing [in a "hip" hotel with a high-energy, youngish market special effort should be made to have good sound proofing between rooms and from room to hall.

Anyway, tired after a long day of work and travel, we [and some of our colleagues] were annoyed by noise from the hall and partying in other rooms during the night. Security quickly shut down a party at 3 AM when I complained.

This and other hotels ought to try to put business travelers on a quiet floor, and away from elevators. This meeting was booked quite a long time ago, so that should have been possible

Another thing is that the plug ins were hidden under a panel on the desk top. I am not hip enough to sort that out at 10 PM, so it would be good to LABEL the panel "plugs". I noted that it would have been impossible to plug in a little transformer, so business travellers [like myself] would probably prefer a good old power strip to this elegant, obscure approach to providing power.

We usually go to the Park Hyatt, and my recommendation was that we go there in the future.

Room Tip: take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear ksmithderm,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us -we value your feedback and we love hearing from our guests. As well, thank you for your compliments regarding our staff, rooms and meeting space -we appreciate your kind words. Yet, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you endured during your recent stay at Thompson Toronto, but we’re glad you said something. Our goal is to provide you with an exceptional stay in all aspects of our services and we hope we can make the necessary changes to make your next visit absolutely remarkable.

If you would like to follow up, please send a message to ThompsonHotels or contact the hotel directly. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to speaking with you.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
294 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Thompson. Some of the benefits that come to mind... a great location made it easy to walk downtown, along King Street, etc. I really liked the room - well appointed and perfect for a solo traveler on business but would have been great with my wife. I like the modern design and the built-ins. Well done. The exercise room was excellent and I was thrilled to find a hotel gym with free weights heavier than 50 lbs. Overall very cool design. The sushi at Wabora was good... not great... but good enough for me. I did really like The Counter and ate a couple of meals there.

The downside - the wireless didn't work perfectly and I'm never a fan of paying for Internet access. Service at times was a bit aloof but, whatever, I can deal with that. I didn't hear any noise but I was there mid-week.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel to friends and would gladly stay there again. Have stayed at a Thompson Hotel in D.C. and really like the brand.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise, avoid the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brichford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear Brichford,

Thank you for your feedback; we love hearing from our guests! We’re very grateful to hear that you enjoyed your time as a guest of Thompson Toronto. We’re glad that your room was perfectly suited for your needs as a business traveler and that you liked its fantastic design. We’re also pleased that we could provide you with such a great location in Toronto and that you didn’t have to travel very far to enjoy great food - it sounds like you especially enjoyed The Counter.

We’re sorry to hear that our service was not exceptional, but we’re definitely listening and we hope to address this concern - we look forward to providing you with an even better stay in the future!

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I booked this hotel for my partner and me so we could get away and relax for a weekend. I paid less than $150/night for a king deluxe suite and for that price it was fine. Big, nice bathroom, comfortable bed. However, the idea of anyone paying $250+ for this room is ridiculous - there are far better choices in Toronto for that price.

Here are the things that were not fine: they charge $10 for 24 hours of wifi. The overpriced room service menu is full of hot dogs and hamburgers. There are barely any healthy choices and certainly no interesting ones, so it makes no sense to order food when there are so many truly great options in the city - The Swan is only a 15 minute walk away, for example. They also apply a 15% service charge + $3 delivery fee (in addition to the 13% tax) for room service. It feels cheap and off-putting. I would rather pay extra for the room and not feel nickel and dimed. What others have said about the noise issue/thin walls is also true, although I don't think there were many people on my floor so it wasn't a big concern for me. The customer service is cold, unwelcoming and the staff members were obviously hired based on appearance rather than ability. And when you walk through the lobby at night it smells like a sea of Axe body spray, cheap pot and Bacardi, which makes it feel a bit like an episode of Jersey Shore. Overall, it seems like an overpriced hotel for kids from the suburbs and frat boys in suits.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vitsippor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear vitsippor,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay at Thompson Toronto; we love hearing from our guests! We are very sorry to hear that your expectations during your stay were not exceeded - our goal is to provide you with a great experience in all aspects of your stay. We would like to follow-up with you and hopefully perform the necessary changes to make your next stay absolutely remarkable. We'll follow up via private message.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I have to say first that I loved our room when we first arrived. Beautiful dark hardwood floors and floor to ceiling windows that fronted onto the front of the hotel. Our room was on the sixth floor so didn't think we would have to deal with street noise. Boy were we wrong! The rooms have no sound barrier between them nor from the street below. There are two clubs in the hotel that are hopping on the weekend and the noise from them is deafening!

We had attended a wedding there so decided it best to stay overnite and have a little mini vacation from the kids and hopefully be able to have a nice sleep in on the Sunday.

We went back to our room after the wedding ended around 1am. We were kept up until 4:30 AM due to the noise of our neighbours who decided to have a party in their room which kept spilling out into the hallway right outside our door. We called security twice to come up because the amount of people inside the room and outside our door at 3am was insane. They were shouting and fighting and it was a complete mess! There was no way anyone on the 6th floor got any sleep that nite. Security came up once but let them off with a warning. We called a second time after trying to sleep for an hour to the noise and they never arrived. Finally our neighbors settled down around 4:30am! We literally had 2 hours sleep before the doors started slamming again in the morning. I could NOT get out of the hotel FAST ENOUGH!

If you value your sleep at ALL I would not advise you to stay here. When we checked out they asked how our stay was and we said it was a disaster that we had to keep calling down because of the noise and they said they had alot of complaints that nite! No kidding! They must decide which is it a HOTEL OR A CLUB??!! Never again....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stampergirl1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear stampergirl1970,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns with us; we love hearing from our guests! We're glad to hear that you found our rooms beautiful! We apologize, however, for the troubles you experienced during your visit, but we're glad you said something! Our goal is to provide guests with an exceptional stay in all aspects of our services and we are sorry to hear that we did not exceed all expectations. We hope that we can remedy your stay with us; we'll follow up via private message. We look forward to speaking with you soon!

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

My husband took me here for my birthday weekend. I had booked this spot for him a few weeks earlier because it was close to the convention center where he was going to a show. He loved it, so brought me back. We were there for three nights over a weekend. What a cool place!

The room was incredible. We had a king size suite. It was immaculate and had very up to date modern amenities. The bed was definitely the most comfortable I've been in for a while. We had tons of space for our weekend. We ordered from room service a few times. Coffee in the morning and some snacks in the evening. No complaints there - everything was good, fresh, and brought to the door within 20 minutes by young energetic staff.

We found the night club crowd interesting to say the least. We're old enough to parents to most of them, but that's okay. No one gave us a hard time. The elevators were full in the evenings, but we never had to wait to get on. My husband got to know the doormen as he goes out for a smoke frequently. It was kind of neat to home to a line outside the door, and we just had to show our room card and in we went.

This place is not for every one... it is very hip and has a New York feel to it. We love it and will definitely be returning. It's time the Delta's and Sheraton's got a run for their money, and this place is giving them just that. Bravo!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonesBurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear JonesBurner,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us; we love hearing from our guests! We’re glad you were able to experience our hotel for yourself, and we’re happy to hear that after spending time with us that you’re a fan! We really appreciate your compliments towards our hotel, the services we provide and our fantastic staff. We’re pleased that we could provide a large, modern and comfortable room for you and your husband to enjoy. Most importantly, we hope that you were able to relax and have fun while staying with us during your birthday weekend - it sounds like you had a great time!

Thanks again for sharing your feedback with us and for providing such a great review for others! We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Level Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Decided to check out this hotel as I had dinner reservations in the area. The Thompson is ultra modern and didn't forget a detail. The rooms are exactly like the pictures and even had windows that opened. We stayed during the week, so there wasn't the noise that other reviewers mentioned.

The area is great for walking, shopping and eating. We enjoyed the rooftop patio (indoors in March) and the view is definitely worth the drink price. You are walking distance to the Rogers Centres and I will check this out again for any concerts.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelleyC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThompsonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear ShelleyC12

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us; we love hearing from our guests. It is always a pleasure hearing when are patrons have a fantastic stay and we couldn’t be more grateful for your wonderful comments and kudos regarding our hotel, rooms and location. We’re especially glad to hear that you took advantage of our rooftop and the spectacular views of Toronto.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Regards,

Timothy Hayes
Guest Relations
Thompson Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Shangri-La Hotel Toronto
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Trump International Hotel & Tower Toronto
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 132 in Toronto
2,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel

Property: Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel
Address: 550 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Toronto, Thompson's first international addition, opened the summer of 2010 in the diverse and artistically driven King West Village, a neighborhood adjacent to the city's financial and entertainment districts. Designed by Studio Gaia, 102 ultra-sleek guestrooms feature dark hardwood flooring, contrasting accents in lush orange and cool white, and floor to ceiling windows with sweeping views of Toronto's cityscape. The hotel's three dining facilities cater to all tastes: offering comfort food at The Thompson Diner, a modern incarnation of the quintessential 24-hour American diner, and traditional Japanese at Wabora Sushi.Other hotel amenities include a state of the art screening room, an exclusive nightclub, 1812, and Toronto's first and only rooftop pool bar and lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thompson Toronto - A Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing