We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for brunch with the family”
Review of School Restaurant

School Restaurant
Ranked #344 of 8,479 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $11 - $15
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: West End
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for brunch with the family”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

School is a great place to enjoy brunch with the family. I recommend the crunch french toast! The place is small, so be prepared to wait on the weekend if you don't get there early. The interior is funky, service warm, and food is delicious! The double smoked bacon is worth the price!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayward_Spring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    51
    22
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Best day at School”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Went for lunch on a Saturday. Patrons lined up out the door. Asked the hostess the estimated wait time. Seated right away if we sat at the diner counter style bar area. Best decision we made. Our server / bartender Owen was awesome. Provided great advice regarding the menu. We enjoyed the following:
Cheesy Bacon French Toast with salad. Awesome. $13
Smoked Salmon Endive Salad. Loved it. Large portion of salmon. $12
Loose leaf green tea. $3.50 each x 2
Peanut Butter cookie. So good. $2
$34 + tax + tip. Bill came in an envelope labeled “Progress Report.” Very kitschy.
All baked goods prepared on site. The building previously housed an auto garage. Great atmosphere. Outstanding service. Would recommend.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bedhead57g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great Breakfast Location”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Our experience was limited to breakfast and an awesome breakfast it was. Four of us each was pleased. As mentioned by others the service was average or a bit less than average but the food compensated. The Black 7 Blueberry Pancakes were yummy and towering. The Crunch French Toast is a must & the Omelet is generous and well garnished. The decor is rustic-modern. Personally, I like the place. I look forward to returning and trying the dinner. The neighborhood is becoming trendy though parking is tough.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buz117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Too cool for school”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

What could have been an enjoyable lunch was ruined by School having no heating on one of the coldest winter days in Toronto. Attempts to move table seem to fall on deaf ears. Service hit and miss, but could not really fault the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stewart2726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I went here with firends ove rthe summer. I have to say I was disappointed. The patio was very pretty. The menyu made my mouth water... but when our food came , it wasn't as good as it sounded on the menu. the waiter was very pleasant and nice but the service was slow. It was a Sunday and busy so I think the kitchen might have been behind the eight ball. I would return here to have coffee and maybe one of their good looking baked goods, but I don't know if I would return for a hot breakfast.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Muriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed School Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to School Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing