We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just a dream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ivy at Verity

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ivy at Verity
Ranked #46 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Just a dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Ivy isn´t so much a classical hotel. It´s a business club with serveral nice meeting lounges, a lady fitness studio, a spa and perhaps the best restaurant "George" I have ever eaten at. We were told - also there was no one, when we we stayed - that the Ivy is a hot spot for weddings in Toronto. And I can understand this.

The rooms - they only have four, so feel yourself luck if you get one - are big and lovely decorated, with over king size beds which might be the most comfortable I ever had sleeped in, a big bath - seperated shower and closet - with Bulgari toiletries and several different bathing salts available for disposal in the big bathing tube.

The breakfast - croissant, cake, fresh fruit and juice, coffee or tea, everything excellent - was offered on tray outside the room on an old french pastries table and had to be carried in your room. We ate it on our balcony with view to the patio. Great start of the day. Coffee (Nespresso) and softdrinks were complimentary the whole day.

The hotel itself is very central, probably 10 min walk to Eaton Center with a subway station just around the corner and big public parking space on the other side of the street.

So go there, even if you don´t want to mary.

Room Tip: Room 1 we had was lovely. But I think you can not do anything wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barba23rossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theivyatverity, Manager at The Ivy at Verity, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
So nice to have a visit from our friends from Germany. Dank für das Kommen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
79
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
north
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had an excellent time here. The massage package with the room for two can be used by one person for the full hour by a RMT therapist. The breakfast consisted of coffee, a choice of freshly squeezed juice, pastry's, fresh fruit offered on a tray outside of your room. They have a small area to sit or you can bring your tray to your room.
The hallways are so confusing of how to get to your room or even how to get to the reception area, although they were very accommodating to help you find your way. It was a nice treat with the spa downstairs for the following day.
Very close to the Eaton Centre. A great part of the city. It truly was a welcomed treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theivyatverity, Manager at The Ivy at Verity, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review! Glad you had the time to enjoy the spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room #4 for one night. Concierge was so accommodating- helped with parking and showing us all the ammenities.
The room was spacious and beautiful. Large patio. Complimentary bath salt bar over the spa tub, separate stand up shower and toilet rooms.
The hotel also had a bar for guests in a small sitting area outside the room. It worked based on the honesty system- each drink you had you recorded and were charged 6$/alcoholic beverage at the end of your stay. They had wine, beer, and all sorts of hard liquor + mix.
There was a complimentary continental breakfast waiting on a table outside your room starting at 715- and when you were ready you called the concierge to bring a pot of fresh coffee.
Overall lovely, romantic spot. We also purchased the 4 course tasting menu at George which was amazing. Will return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shairstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theivyatverity, Manager at The Ivy at Verity, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your dinner at George and your found our staff helpful. Thanks for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I wouldn't have even known this was their unless we were staying there as part of a wedding party, but it was truly a special little oasis in the city. The room was massive by inner city standards. There was a king size bed, little sitting are for reading and another one with a little table for eating/drinks. There was also a large patio with a table overlooking a quiet courtyard. Never once did it sound like we were in a city. The bathroom was also huge and had a great assortment of quality soaps including 3 different scents of bath salts. Room included a continental breakfast. There also was an open area outside the room with complimentary soft drinks and cocktails for fee. Would highly recommend this quiet, gem in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckienen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I am amazed by just how relaxing one night in the city actually was.

But the bed is lovely. And the aqua wallpaper in #3 is soothing. And the design, in general, is excellent. And the bathroom is exquisite (with great soaps and the like). And they have this nice internal lobby where there's an honour bar and a Nespresso machine, which is actually where we enjoyed our dessert from George.

I would've loved to stay for longer (though, well, it's not exactly a cheap stay), and I would've enjoyed the possibility of a massage. I kind of wish I could stay here more often. Shame it's not dog-friendly, and shame that the parking isn't included. But these are definitely minor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melted_snowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theivyatverity, Front Office Manager at The Ivy at Verity, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We do have two packages that include massages that might be a perfect fit for you. We hope that you can return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I absolutely love the Ivy Hotel and have stayed there several times. It is a perfect retreat for a romantic get away with your partner and there are several packages available which include dinner at the hotel's George Restaurant. I have also used the Ivy when having a girls' day with my sister, niece and mom at the adjacent Sweetgrass Spa and an evening out so the room was nice to come back to. In addition, I have used the Ivy for business purposes if I book a corporate dinner at George or have meetings downtown the next day, the Ivy is conveniently situated in the downtown core. The 4 room boutique hotel is luxurious and cozy with a unique ambience. The staff and service is attentive. I am already looking forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are unique and you will enjoy any one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AB D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theivyatverity, Manager at The Ivy at Verity, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you, ABD, for your kind review of our establishment. It's nice to see that you enjoyed our spa and restaurant as well as our boutique rooms! We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband had an in- room massage, I relaxed in the spa, before our wonderful dinner at George. Back in our luxurious room, later that evening, we enjoyed a brandy and watched a light snow falling on our terrace. A magical birthday getaway. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theivyatverity, Manager at The Ivy at Verity, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks for your kind comments and for coming to stay with us, Susan! We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#21 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#32 of 132 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
Downtown
Toronto Marriott Downtown Eaton Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy at Verity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy at Verity

Property: The Ivy at Verity
Address: 111d Queen Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1S2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#18 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#21 Business Hotel in Toronto
#30 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ivy at Verity 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ivy at Verity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivy At Verity Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing