We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing boutique hotel is on the wrong street”
Review of The Ivy at Verity

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ivy at Verity
Ranked #48 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing boutique hotel is on the wrong street”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I have not one complaint about this hotel. It is beautiful, and stunningly decorated. There are only four rooms, with private balconies, and they are clean and luxurious. Incredibly comfortable beds/pillows. Gorgeous bathrooms with Bvlgari shampoos&ody washes. The Verity contains several meeting rooms, a library, and an all-womans' spa (odd, right?!). The staff was very kind, and helpful. We checked in late, our in-room safe didn't work, and they replaced it immediately. Another front desk manager (Michael?) went out of his way to help us find affordable transportation to an out-of-the way concert that we were trying to attend. We had a complimentary continental breakfast, which was delivered to the "honor bar" outside of the guest rooms. (I have never had freshly pressed cranberry juice!!). The George Restaurant, which is, essentially, below the guest rooms (though, we were never disturbed by the diners) is absolutely fabulous!!!!!!
My only complaint is that this hotel is on a rather seedy section of the street. The downtown location is ideal for great restaurants (Origin, Blowfish on Bay, Canoe), and Toronto highlights, it seems out of place. There are several, what appear to be, homeless shelters within a block of the hotel. East Queen Street seemed to have a constant flow of indigent people flowing in, and out, of the McDonalds on the corner. I felt a little uncomfortable walking back each night, and I am from NYC. We never had any issues, but it struck me as odd that this gem of a hotel was in the wrong neighborhood.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank DFTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
83
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The Ivy is a hidden gem in the centre of Toronto. Spacious beautifully decorated rooms, luxurious linens and the bathrooms are stocked with the best toiletries - a deep bath and separate shower stall. You feel pampered and regenerated. Great dinner package options at George restaurant and spa options at the spa. Small and personal - treat yourself.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ility
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here for an evening and had dinner at George restaurant. What a fabulous experience. If you are travelling to Toronto, it is walking distance to the financial district, Yonge Street, the Eaton Center shopping mall and great restaurants. The room was sooo cozy, heated flooring, spacious bathrooms with various scented bath salts, contemporary design. The breakfast in the morning was right outside the door and we enjoyed eatting in bed. Dinner at George was AMAZING. The food, the service were top notch. I highly recommend it. There are only a few rooms, each one is decorated differently. The spa though is women only, so sorry guys. If you are looking for a boutique hotel that is cozy, in a great location and can splurge, Verity is for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoes4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is a really great hotel. Only 4 rooms but all are super lovely. The size room is fantastic. It's beautifully decorated and the bed is truly amazing (I'll be buying a Hastens bed one day!). Other benefits of staying there are access to Verity club sitting area, access to George's food (the restaurant) via room service and walking down to Sweetgrass spa in your bathrobe. Staff are super nice as well. A few things to be aware of....this area is pretty quiet on Sundays. It's really, really hard to find a place to find lunch (nothing is available from IVY as well as George is closed). Don't depend on the complimentary breakfast to get your morning started. The baked goods are OK to bland and there are too many fruit flies flying around the other things (fruit salad, orange juice) to make them appetizing. That's fine if it's a weekday - as you can step out and go next door to the cafe. But on Sunday, you're a bit stuck for options. That said - I can still look pass these small issues and enjoy my stay there! Worth considering the next time your in Toronto!

Room Tip: Rooms 3 and 4 are bigger. I like them the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSPrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We just spent one blissful night at The Ivy at Verity. Could have stayed longer but the hotel was fully booked for the rest of the week. However, even the one night was enough for us to enjoy the wonderful surprises that this hotel offers. This place is a piece of heaven, when you enter the hotel through the Club "Verity" you are transported into another dimension, where your every wish is fulfilled. Our room was tasteful as it was beautiful, colors that soothe, bed linens that feel like "cloud 9", nothing missing or lacking. Best of all, we get to use the facilities of Verity's Sweetgrass Spa, and wine & dine at "George" Verity's 5-star restaurant, all under the same roof. After one night I am refreshed and rejuvenated, as if I spent a week at a resort. A place like this is hard to find, lucky for me I found it. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiuAvakian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergambacht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This is a little lovely hotel. It is close to Eaton Center and close to the Hop on Hop off busses.
De service is excellent and the people are very nice. If I come back to Toronto I would stay there again.
Compliments for this hotel/bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: I staid in room 1. The bed is great and the bathroom is perfect. The have four rooms and I think Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frieda_van_den_berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

This place is just fabulous. Beautiful decor and furnishings, the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in, excellent service and a delicious complimentary continental breakfast(with the hotel's own crab-apple preserve).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowleopard59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Downtown
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#36 of 136 in Toronto
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#23 of 136 in Toronto
1,933 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy at Verity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy at Verity

Property: The Ivy at Verity
Address: 111D Queen St E, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#19 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#21 Business Hotel in Toronto
#31 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ivy at Verity 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Ivy at Verity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivy At Verity Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing