We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss!”
Review of The Ivy at Verity

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ivy at Verity
Ranked #48 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bliss!”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We just spent one blissful night at The Ivy at Verity. Could have stayed longer but the hotel was fully booked for the rest of the week. However, even the one night was enough for us to enjoy the wonderful surprises that this hotel offers. This place is a piece of heaven, when you enter the hotel through the Club "Verity" you are transported into another dimension, where your every wish is fulfilled. Our room was tasteful as it was beautiful, colors that soothe, bed linens that feel like "cloud 9", nothing missing or lacking. Best of all, we get to use the facilities of Verity's Sweetgrass Spa, and wine & dine at "George" Verity's 5-star restaurant, all under the same roof. After one night I am refreshed and rejuvenated, as if I spent a week at a resort. A place like this is hard to find, lucky for me I found it. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiuAvakian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
83
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bergambacht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This is a little lovely hotel. It is close to Eaton Center and close to the Hop on Hop off busses.
De service is excellent and the people are very nice. If I come back to Toronto I would stay there again.
Compliments for this hotel/bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: I staid in room 1. The bed is great and the bathroom is perfect. The have four rooms and I think Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frieda_van_den_berg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2011

This place is just fabulous. Beautiful decor and furnishings, the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in, excellent service and a delicious complimentary continental breakfast(with the hotel's own crab-apple preserve).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowleopard59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Got a chance to stay at Ivy in colourful Room 3 (each of the 4 rooms is different in size or decor) on a Saturday night. Pure bliss! Huge bathroom with separate room for the toilet and separate large shower stall and huge soaker tub with choice of scented bath salts. High-end Hastens bed, swivel wall-mounted flat screen large TV, desk, 2 upholstered chairs, overstuffed armchair, ottoman, actual balcony facing peaceful courtyard (over George restaurant), and complimentary continental breakfast (coffee ready to order) and honour bar (several full-size bottles but no gin; two kinds of wine and assorted beers kept on ice) available just outside the room for in-room enjoyment.

Being a Saturday/Sunday, the business centre/library area of the private women's club upstairs was empty and the concierge said I could use it. Although the gorgeous basement-level pool, hot tub, and spa area is women-only, I still recommend this place to couples if the man can skip that part. We got the urban one-night getaway package, so a 4 course tasting menu at George was included. The service at George was a little rough -- we weren't offered any upgrades or wine pairings and the amuse bouche and first two courses came out too quickly -- we hadn't even received our aperitif cocktails yet!

Ivy is significantly cheaper than staying at Hazelton but now that I've stayed overnight at both, I would choose Ivy again and again. The only difference is the slightly smaller closet space at Ivy compared to the two-sided closet/storage area in Hazelton rooms, and the lack of a TV in the bathroom at Ivy. Otherwise the room setup and comfort quality is the same. Ivy provides Bulgari white tea scented toiletries along with the choice of 3 scented bath salts. Hazelton provides a fridge in-room stocked only with wine products and teas whereas Ivy gives many choices just outside the room and a free breakfast (Ivy continental included 2 kinds of croissants, jam, apple strudel slices, an interesting coconut oatmeal porridge that tasted great at room temperature, fresh berry fruit salad, choice of orange or grapefruit juice, and hot tea or coffee on demand.) Yes, Hazelton does room service and has a restaurant open for brunch on site, whereas George at Ivy does not provide that flexibility. The indoor pool at Hazelton was a huge disappointment (no windows, awful lighting and no relaxation area around the pool) whereas the women-only pool at Ivy is lovely and even has an underwater treadmill! Queen Street East between Church and Jarvis is no Yorkville. But for $200+ less on average per night, Ivy offers better value at a similar standard.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThingsToEatandDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Who knew that I could travel a half hour from home and feel like I was in Paris?! We had a lovely stay at the Ivy for a 1-night getaway in the city.

I can't compliment the hotel and it's staff enough. First and foremost was the European-inspired decor of this chic little boutique hotel - just stunning. With only 4 rooms, it's intimate and cozy, but doesn't feel 'small'.

Wonderful spa, library and lounge area. The hotel rooms are excellent - no detail spared. The walkout to the terrace was a nice surprise.

The 'honesty bar' in the sitting room down the hall was a personalized touch.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mangotree42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

To start off, the reception greeted me with smiles and hospitality. The room was extremely clean and set up with bath salts and nice music. The bed was like drifting on a soft cloud. The decor and art were stunning and well thought out. I felt at home and much relaxed in this hotel and didn't want to leave. Especially after an amazing massage done right in the convenience of my room. The staff was extremely accommodating and allowed me a late check out, so I could soak in the tub with some lavender bath salts (tub big enough for two). mmmm...

I would return to this hotel at any opportunity I may have.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayMerrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Ivy at Verity twice as an overnight getaway in the city. Each time we purchased a package which included one massage, dinner for 2 at George (restaurant associated with Verity), room and breakfast. The package offers excellent value. The rooms are beautiful (especially the bathrooms) and everything is elegant and luxurious. Food at George is excellent. We have food allergies and restrictions that the chef has always accomodated. We find that the chef has a preference for fois gras which we find too heavy so we make sure to ask the staff to exclude this. We've been to the Hyatt in downtown Toronto and prefer the Ivy to it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busymom1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
Pantages Hotel Toronto Centre
Downtown
Executive Hotel Cosmopolitan
Downtown
No photo provided
Grand Hotel Toronto
#23 of 136 in Toronto
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Cambridge Suites Toronto
Cambridge Suites Toronto
#36 of 136 in Toronto
1,786 reviews
Downtown
No photo provided
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy at Verity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy at Verity

Property: The Ivy at Verity
Address: 111D Queen St E, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#19 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#21 Business Hotel in Toronto
#31 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ivy at Verity 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Ivy at Verity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ivy At Verity Hotel Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing