We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delectible”
Review of Black Hoof

Black Hoof
Ranked #273 of 8,575 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delectible”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This restaurant is superlative. The wait staff is knowledgeable, the food sublime.
You must love, love meat or seafood and be a bit daring. It will be well worth it.
No reservations, opens at 6.
Get there at 545 and it will be an awesome experience.
BTW... they make the best cocktails..

Gotta run... must get there now!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    33
    15
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not as Good as Bourdain Made it to Be...”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just ate here on a trip to Toronto. Sunday night at 7 - we were able to get in fine which was cool. Remember no reservations. Food was good, just not as good as Bourdain made it to be. Server was cool and let us taste a couple of wines. Price was very reasonable. Went across the street for cocktails after dinner. That was a cool place to chill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobby-SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmmmmeat.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Not the place for vegans. You have to be a bit adventerous to try this but it was a great meal. Since they don't take reservations it is a bit hit and miss if you will get seated. We went down about 8pm on a saturday. They told us it would be about 45 minutes and we could wait next door at their sister establishment and have drinks. We were with friends and that worked out well. The place (I forget the name) was a seafood place and we had oysters, sardines and a few other dishes along wtih some drinks. When our table was ready we paid up and went back. Since we had eaten a bit already, we ordered 6 dishes for the 4 of us to share. Horse tartare, bone marrow, scallops and oxtail(best dish), tacos, salami plate and pickles. All were fantastic. I'd go back next time when we are again with friends who don't mind a bit of a food adventure. Around $60 each with drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffS_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My excitement didn't last too long.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Wow. I was soo ready to try this restaurant. Anthony Bourdain was here ( seemed to enjoy it ) and the menu seemed irresistible . My disappointment started with the waitress and finished with just ok meal. The young waitress was quite "unhappy" and unhelpful person, who didn't even look at us when talking to us. Bone marrow was tasty, however very small and for sure not enough for a party of 3 to share ( as suggested by the waitress). The sweetbreads tasted good, but not $16 good ( 5 scallop-sized bites). 3 items in (3 people eating ) and still hungry, ordering "THE CHARCUTERIE " that everybody likes. Is it really necessary to charge extra for the bread ( that was delicious, by the way ;) ( not made in house though), when the price is so high? Of course you need bread when you eat cured meats and salamis. ( It would be a good idea to include it in the $19 price tag).
Hm, I wanted to love it ( since I like different foods ( no matter at what price), but left disappointed and won't come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katulienka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic (for Toronto hipsters)!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We tried this place out on a night out in Toronto, went out of our way to get there, actually. It's fairly small and blah inside, most of the staff inside give off the air that they're better than you, especially when you ask a question or two. There was nothing that especially stood out about the place other than a long wait for food and highly overpriced drinks. The cured meats platter was good, especially the horse. The beef heart and the pork carnitas tacos though... eh. Expect to pay a little more than you wanted to if you want to walk away full from a meal, but decent enough if you're more interested in something small.
The whole experience just kind of... felt like an experiment in being 'seen', as if they were more committed to being hipstery than actually GOOD, which is something I end up experiencing far too often in Toronto.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hoof also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Black Hoof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing