We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howard Johnson”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Toronto Scarborough
Ranked #121 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed for one night, Good hotel, nice and clean for the price. Staff are freindly and helpful. Location close to 401 was a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank KANNARD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 230 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

absolutely horrible & disgusting!! wish I could give it a 0/5 i would recommend this hotel only to my worst enemies, you couldnt pay me to stay here. rude staff, messed up reservations, wrong room , "under renovation"

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariakeith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Well we stayed there for a few days ... It was a scortching few days and our air conditioner only blew hot air ... The shower wasn't working properly, then to top it all off the hair dryer didn't work ...
We had no chair for the outside balcony ... And whats worse they are renting half the hotel to students which have access to all the amenaties that us paying customers pay for ... The pool and hot tub are barely usable due to this ! ! ! Had workers in and out of our room for days and nothing being done ! Horrible, terrible, beware people this place is a dump ! Take your time to use online tools to find better hotels ... For $19.00 more, you can stay at the Crowne Plaza or Holiday Inn .... And I have videos or this horrible experience ...

Room Tip: They are all horrible ... You don't have the choice of what room or side that is available ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank myystery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I just returned from an overnight stay here. Booked on hotwire.com and it was billed as a two star. I feel I was overcharged at $82 USD (including taxes) for one night.
Pros -
Only about 10 minutes from the Toronto Zoo - which was our destination.
LOTS of hot water.
Apartment sized fridge/freezer in room
Free WiFi
Comfortable beds.

Cons -
Exterior Halls and it looks like they're about to fall apart - clearly visible concrete patches.
Neighborhood looks sketchy at best, people just hanging out on parking lot guard rail
Require a $100 deposit at check in
No lock on the door - had to prop a chair under the handle.
Only one washcloth; one hand towel & one bath towel in room - which I booked for 2 adults and 2 kids. Called and asked for 4 bath towels, was brought 2 - almost 10 minutes later - although they were warm, must have just come out of the dryer.
NO TUB! Only a shower - not kid friendly with a 4 and 2 yr old.
No Clock, No phone book, no desk
Only the overhead light worked - bedside light didn't work.

Overall if you're looking for a place to sleep it works, but don't bring little kids.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klltraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

disappointed with this hotel during my stay last week (30th June), trip advisor rating is wrong and is misguiding, it should be 1 star, when i check-in no one in the reception and there is a sign board saying to call "0", need to call someone for check-in..... the steps carpets are very ugly, no elevator, high humid and smell in the corridor, bathroom is in very bad condition, no bath tub just a shower with a curtain...horrible......inside room carpet also is dirty and the carpet is just spread like a sheet and you could see the dirty edges when you enter the room....breakfast forget about it...totally unclean...not worth staying, never recommend

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmkrish_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

there were bugs in my tea maker, lice in the pillows

Room Tip: don't come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This hotel was an utter disappointment. I will do this in point form starting with the good.

The good:

-bid on priceline for 41 USD + taxes and fees = less than 50 USD which is a pretty good deal however I have stayed at the Pickering Comfort Inn and the Scarborough Travelodge for less and they are both waaay better hotels

- friendly staff, flatscreens, fresh waffles in the breakfast buffet, quick check-in

The bad:

- minutes from one of the worst neighborhoods in Canada (Morningside/Lawrence) and the hotel is not well lit both outside and inside

- no elevator. no handicap friendly at all. I was on the 4th floor with 4 bags. Not a great way to star a hotel stay especially after a 3 hour drive.

- dirty and old hotel with new flatscreens and linens basically

- arrived and wanted to have a shower, one hand towel and one face cloth in bathroom. called down for more. was only brought up hand towels and face clothes. The next day the room cleaned and I was left with no bath towels only one of each small towel. Had to call down and this time was brought up 2 bath towels. Had to leave a note for staff to leave bath towels - found this very odd.

- the carpets are soiled and the shower did not work properly

- The hotel is literally feet from busy Kingston Road and my room faced the road which was loud especially at night and early morning.

- the breakfast was OK. 2 cereals, bagels, toast, fresh waffles, muffins, coffee, juice, tea. No eggs, protien or yogurt which is very common at most 2 star breakfasts.

- the location is not great for Scarborough. To get to the 401 takes about 12-15 minutes because there are no left turns onto Kingston so you have to go to Morningside and then north. Also not close to Scar Towne Centre or DVP. I heard it is very close to the zoo, but then again you cant turn left (East) on Kingston so you would have to go west then turnaround and go east on Kingston, which is a waste of time and gas.

- no restaurant/bar/pool/workout room

I guess this summarizes the hotel well. I have been staying at hotels in the Scarborough area for work for about 2 years now. I have to say that this is easily the worst "name-brand" hotel I have stayed at in Scarborough. There are a lot of good and reasonably priced alternates in the area which I would stay at instead. This is a 1 star hotel at best and is comparable to one of those mom and pop run motels you see on the side of the road.

Room Tip: lower level if you dont want to hike up 3 sets of stairs each day. or just dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cleffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Etobicoke
Stay Inn
Stay Inn
#65 of 135 in Toronto
269 reviews
Scarborough
Best Western Plus Executive Inn
Scarborough
Grand Motel Toronto
Grand Motel Toronto
#92 of 135 in Toronto
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scarborough
New Plaza Motel
New Plaza Motel
#96 of 135 in Toronto
16 reviews
Downtown West
Fairmont Royal York
Fairmont Royal York
#23 of 135 in Toronto
3,946 reviews
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Toronto Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Toronto Scarborough

Address: 4694 Kingston Rd, Toronto, Ontario M1E 2P9, Canada (Formerly Howard Johnson Scarborough)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 135 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range: $51 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Toronto Scarborough 1.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knights Inn Toronto Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing