We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A must-visit for cheese lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carens Wine and Cheese Bar - CLOSED

Carens Wine and Cheese Bar
158 Cumberland St., Toronto, Ontario, Canada (Midtown)
+1 416-962-5158
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, European, Wine Bar, Soups, French, International, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Yorkville's hidden gem; Carens wine and cheese is a quaint, rustic French restaurant specializing in a vast selection of wine and cheese from all over the world. Serving lunch and dinner every day of the week and classic brunch on weekends, Carens boasts a unique dining experience and a delightful summer patio unlike any other.
Burlington, Ontario
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A must-visit for cheese lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is a great idea. A restaurant focused primarily on wine and cheese. Who knew? They have delicious and reasonably-priced oysters, great soups, appetizers and mains. But the real secret is the cheese. The wine menu is followed by cheese platters, fondue, and individual cheese selections. So yummy and great service from Cory.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank edemec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    21
    12
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still a Must on a Visit to Toronto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Tucked away on Cumberland Street in Yorkville, Carens Wine and Cheese is still a must visit when I am in Toronto. My latest visit for lunch did not disappoint. The wine list is substantial yet not overwhelming. The server introduced me to a very good Canadian Pinot Noir from Niagara. The mussels appetizer was very flavorful. The Stilton burger was great, fairly large and juicy. Lunch was an A+ experience. Their menu also includes wine, cheese and fruit pairings which are well thought out. The prices are a bit high, but is not unexpected for a Yorkville eatery

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IG2BTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Go out back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is a terrific restaurant with great food and nice wine pairings. I didn't know that it had a terrace courtyard out back, and it is super cute. Make sure you go sit out there -- even it it's cold, as they have heaters.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank musicmansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great people! Laid back atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were staying at a hotel in the area and wandered in one night for drinks. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. The staff was super nice and friendly and Alana's expresso martini's were yummy! We came back the next night for more of them. Sad to say we didn't eat anything, but if we're in the area again we sure will!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank MissLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“My favourite place in Yorkville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Caren's is an unassuming treasure. Across the street from the Cumberland movie theatre, it's easy to miss, but am I ever glad I found it. Aside from the extensive variety of cheeses and wines by the glass, it has a varied menu of salads, sandwiches and hearty mains. The mac-and-cheese is among the best I've ever had. And brunch, too, is generous and delicious. In the summer, the back patio is an oasis away from the bustle of Yorkville. In the winter, hearty dishes take away the chill.

Helpful?
1 Thank estragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carens Wine and Cheese Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing