We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice patio, mediocre food”

Vagabondo Italian Ristorante & Lounge
Ranked #823 of 8,516 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Yonge Street
Transit: By subway, King street station is the closest walk to Vagabondo. Go south to Wellington and one block East to Vagabondo.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice patio, mediocre food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a great place to sit outside on a warm spring evening! Centrally located, but sheltered from the hustle and bustle of a great city, their patio is the place to linger. When we arrived at the restaurant on Sunday night, everyone was seated outside and the inside part of the restaurant was empty, which is weird to see while many other restaurants are full.
The answer to that mystery is the food. The best way to describe it would be "uninspired". Also, when ordering a $42 steak, you would expect it to arrive as ordered - medium rare, not well done. The potatoes that come with the steak looked burned. The grilled calamari was fresh and good in texture, but bland. The eggplant parmesan was the highlight of the meal, the only dish we both liked.
The service is prompt and pleasant, but does not make up for the food and seems rushed, especially at the beginning when they almost nag you to choose your food faster.
I would not recommend this place, other than for its patio, which may be a good place to meet friends and share some appetizers and drinks - but don't expext much in terms of food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GalinaCalgary_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    46
    25
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Caveat Emptor!!! You are forewarned.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went here for a pre-theatre dinner. The restaurant was empty so we thought we can have a quick meal and go to theatre on time. Maybe we should have noted this is a yellow flag...

The decor was tired and service was inattentive. Even though the place was empty the waiter sat us near the door and stayed most of the time close to the bar area so it was hard to get service. Food was forgettable.

So you are forewarned. Caveat emptor!!! (buyer beware)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian_Hon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“been stood up”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Having made a reservation for 7 for a pre-show dinner for Dec. 6th, I was unpleasantly surprised to be told on arrival that there was no reservation made under my name and would it be possible that it was made under another name. After my negative response the question was repeated several times, and the only comment the manager was able to come up with was: "who did you speak with...." as if that would produce a table for us. This being the pre-Christmas season, the restaurant was fully booked.
Needless to say we will not consider this restaurant ever again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCBToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal, strange atmosphere”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We ate at Vagabondo, after realizing that the other restaurant we had booked was further away than anticipated. My daughter, who was with us, had eaten there before, and so we made our decision, as we had two hours before theatre.
We walked in at noon, just as it had opened. The young woman who greeted us said that it would be a few minutes, so we waited while she took down bar stools, arranged some chairs, and then we chose a table. She informed us that if we ordered pizza, it would take at least 20 minutes as the oven needed to be fired up : not a problem. Menus were brought, water poured, and we were left to make our choices. We had an Argentinian Malbec, ordered our food, and were served within reasonable time. Four pieces of bruschetta were nicely done, grated Parmesan was offered at the table. A basket of bread was brought along with butter, and olive oil brought when requested. All food was delicious. Minestrone was hot, thin crust pizza well prepared, arugula salad with shaved Parmesan and pine nuts was lightly dressed, a plate of salmon and vegetables nicely plated and tasty. The grilled calamari was delicious, very tender, and substantial. Had I known that it would be served on a bed of greens I would not have ordered the salad. We brought home one slice of pizza, one calamari and half of the salmon dish.
Now for the "strange" bit; we were the only diners, and this is even stranger since it has occurred before in this restaurant according to other reviews. Since I am curious, I'll keep an eye on upcoming reviews.
We would certainly eat there again, especially as it is across from Bluma Appel Theatre, home of Canadian Stage, so a good spot for pre theatre food. Service and food were very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piratepirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great venue as it was close to the Elgin Theatre”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My sister and I went to eat there as it was close to a show we were going to the Elgin Theatre. Service was fine. We both ordered 2 glasses of house wine (rather expensive per glass I feel) and 2 pizza's each. Substantial in quantity and tasted delicious. As this was a Wednesday evening, I can't say if the ambiance was great or not. We were the only customers there. Clean and spacious though. If using the Entertainment vouchers (beware as the set up has changed and it is no longer an easy delivery to use your voucher).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonkeyWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vagabondo Italian Ristorante & Lounge also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Vagabondo Italian Ristorante & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing