We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too cool but not cozy”
Review of The Local Company

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Local Company
Ranked #4,884 of 8,641 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East End
Cross street: Fenwick Avenue
Transit: Chester Subway Station or Pape Subway Station
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Too cool but not cozy”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This place confused me.
The host waiters etc were so nice, but there atmosphere and food was like a cardboard cut out of how things are supposed to look.... In a magazine.
No warmth. It felt like a movie set not a local cozy restaurant.
And please man, this is Toronto we drink 'real' cocktails here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank omm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    1
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Just don't...”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Mediocre food and service...
Washrooms stinks.
Many strange faces around...
The music gets too loud when it transforms to a club.
There was no dj around, just a set that they downloaded from the net...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stumbled upon this place years ago, and have always been pleasantly surprised by both the food and service. It's really more of a club, but we have had several, very good dinners there over the years before the club scene takes hold. The sweet potato fries are among the best I've ever had! Worth a try for something not-Greek on the Danforth!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank murphy713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An Incredible Dinner on the Danforth!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had an awesome evening out with a friend. The food and service were amazing!

We enjoyed martinis, oysters, calamari; I had the steak dinner and she had the braised ribs. Everything was to die for! Definitely check this place out!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolyne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Out on the Danforth for an event and was looking for something not Greek....I know then why go to the Danforth. This restaurant was really good! The service was bang on. Our table had most of the appetizers and split everything so we all had a taste of each item.
Sweet Potato Frites, as you would expect... Chorizo Meatballs...really different. With bit of kick. Fried Calamari...always a test to see if it’s turns to rubber not the case here light batter really tasty... Grilled Lamb Chops. Grilled to perfection Mushroom Risotto....very velvety...truffle oil might not have been necessary but could be just being picky... Grilled Vegetables & Quinoa was a nice addition to round out all of the food. Kind of a dog’s breakfast as a menu mix but actually was really enjoyable with a great selection of wines. Nice Danforth surprise for me!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local Company also viewed

 

Been to The Local Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing