We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely Exceptional Experience”

Jacobs & Co. Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Jacobs & Co. Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 8,443 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: King St. West
Transit: Brant Street
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truely Exceptional Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

You definately get what you pay for. Did not have a reservation which confused the hostess for a moment, we were seated at the oyster bar. Wine was excellent. The caeser salad presentation is fantastic. Our steaks were perfect. Service and ambiance was flawless. One of the best experiences in Toronto.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    103
    40
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Definitely not a good choice if you're penny pinching. It's one of the best steak houses I've ever been to. A real find in the heart of Toronto!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlatravelsfar
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The Monkey Bread is to DIE FOR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Ok, the steak, whatever, it was steak, expensive steak at that....you can buy steak that was raised here or there, grassfed vs corn fed.....it all seemed like steak to me, but the monkey bread was amazeballs!! The best ive ever had anywhere!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank marlatravelsfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Looking for good steak? Look no further”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Jacobs knows their beef, and their meat cellar is impressive to say the least. The restaurant itself is dimly light and elegantly decorated, with a piano bar in the downstairs section. Their menu is a little pricey but worth the splurge. The caesar salad is made fresh, table side. The fries are fried in duck fat and delicious. The tartare is wonderfully seasoned and very fresh. A note on their sides, they are definitely made for sharing as the portions are very generous. Finally, the steak...oh so delicious. Regardless of which cut you get, you will not be disappointed. A nice touch at the end of the meal, muffins to take home!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Steak, but the exorbitant prices knocked off 1 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I recently dined at Jacobs. The first impressions of the outside of the restaurant were not favourable. It looks like a concrete bunker. Once inside, there is a long wide nondescript hall and a number of steps leading down to an overstaffed host table. Then the journey... around here, over there, and up the same number of steps that we climbed upon entering the restaurant. Why?

Once seated, we were welcomed by a friendly and knowledgeable waiter, and a stable of pretty girls that seemed to either walk around pouring water, or just stand there looking pretty. When about to order, we were given a lesson in beef. Dry aging, length of aging, grass fed, corn fed, local producer, US producer, Australian producer, Japanese producer. I think too much information, but then again, they have to set themselves apart from other steakhouses and thus try to justify their high prices.

Truth be told, my 12 oz strip loin was one of the tastiest I have had, but at a cost of $75. Everything was much, much above average in cost. Should a Caesar salad cost $17, even though it's made at table side? Should shrimp cocktail be charged $6 per shrimp? Sides at $12? I must add that everything was very tasty. As for the very high cost of everything on the menu..... they charge what the market will bare. There are no doubt many people in the city that will not look at or flinch at the menu prices, and that's who Jacob's caters to. I'm not in that rarefied group.

Will I ever come back? Not unless someone else pays the bill. There are many high-end steakhouses in Toronto that are less pretentious and less exorbitant, with a lot more atmosphere.

Note. You would think that with the price of a meal here, they would offer complimentary valet parking. No. It's $20, that the waiter will add into your bill. Tricky that they add GST, and then you a tip on it. Not realizing this, how many people give the valet another tip? Shame on you Jacob's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hazelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacobs & Co. Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Jacobs & Co. Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing