We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bistro & sushi next door to the hotel”
Review of Forte Bistro & Lounge - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Forte Bistro & Lounge
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: Richmond/York
Transit: The closest TTC stop is Osgoode station, but easily walkable from Queen station.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bistro & sushi next door to the hotel”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were well served by this French bistro/sushi restaurant next door to the Hilton where we stayed for a business trip. We both opted for French and quite enjoyed it. Price was reasonable, setting was professional. Not terribly busy on a Tuesday night, which suited us. The scallops were excellent, and the bison was a great choice.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Aerocraft67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
318 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Nice, but can be expensive”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Went for lunch - the menu is French / Mediterranean. Reasonable prices except for the drinks. A soda is $5. No refills. It adds up quickly. The warm sake is the same price! The omelette is always nice and comes with frits or salad.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Some really special dishes, and some not...”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The menu at Forte reads well and gets your tastes buds dancing. However, when the food arrived it was hit or miss, extremely.

The Onion Dumplings were amazing. The soup fantastic. In general all the appetizers were great. The entrees and desserts, not so much. The dessert really not so much. And I hate that. When the last course of the meal turns out to be lack luster.

The dining room itself was OK. We didn't find it overly comfortable, the lighting was WAY to bright for dinner service. It lacked some sort of mood - perhaps better lighting and music could have helped. The wine list was good, however there was only 1 Ontario wine on the list. We always like to see a little more support for home grown stuff. We understand the French and Italians make great one, but a big long list with just 1 Ontario winery?

I'd try it again, but if it didn't do better I'd give up.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meebjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quiet Tasty but no Ambiance”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We ate here on a Monday night and sadly not too many people were there thus no ambiance however food was decent -fish veggies and very eclectic menu...not sure if it is worth the money but decent....no chocolate on the dessert menu??

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 22minky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
“Lack of everything”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Went to lunch on August 23, 2011 with my sister. When I called to make the reservation, I was assured that I could have the fish without batter because I am on a non-gluten diet. But the server said that the chef would not change it because the fish is very small and it would ruin the presentation. Okay, so I ordered the mussels and frites. Service was very slow even though there were only a handful of patrons. The mussels were teenie tiny and over-cooked and the fries were soggy and lukewarm. Fortunately, my sister’s fish pie was better. They did not have de-caffeinated coffee (WHO doesn’t have decaff?) and they offered mint herbal tea but then said they didn’t have any. They also didn’t have any of the chocolate desserts so we had no choice but to have the express dessert.
The server's attitude was bordering on rude and service was extremely slow. The only positive element was the hostess who was friendly.
Can't believe that there are good ratings online for this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodvalueSeeker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forte Bistro & Lounge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing