We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Amaya's Bread Bar

Amaya's Bread Bar
Ranked #4,763 of 8,432 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North End
Cross street: Yonge & Lawrence
Transit: Lawrence subway, walk north on Yonge Street to Glenforest Road, located on the South-East corner of Glenforest and Yonge.
Toronto
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overrated”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Meant to write this ages ago... This place is nothing special, they don't understand what " hot" means which is a sin in a curry house, the hype exceeds its abilities sadly as its at the end of my road, the service was just. ..,.." Ok" , the prices are excessive , food reasonably tasty....but if you want it "hot " and you get "medium" ten its going to struggle...maybe I will try it again...

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always enjoy eating here!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Amaya and Amaya Bread Bar are a favourite of mine. We love the great selection of dishes and the quality of the food preparation. We recently ate here with family (6 of us total).

We noticed that a new feature since the last time we came (quite a while back) is the ability to mix a number of different curries with different proteins. My wife and her family are vegetarian so this greatly expands their menu for vegetarians by allowing paneer as the protein in addition to the usual meats.

The dal as usual was exquisite and the garlic naan was outstanding as well. Great group experience for sure!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CanucksFan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
766 reviews
474 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 589 helpful votes
“The flavour! The atmosphere! So rich, reasonable! (A 4.5!)”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Amaya's Bread Bar is a real treat for those who enjoy rich flavourful Indian food! It's warm, spicy foods, Amaya provides comfort food, Indian style! Located north of Lawrence on Yonge, Amaya's is situated in a trendy upscale area in Toronto that allows people to go shopping before or after a meal. The atmosphere is really nice inside, it's warm and modern and looks professionally done. Though the washrooms (at least the men's) were on the tight side with a carpeted hallway leading to the washrooms. It's the one area of the restaurant that looked tacky. The service was friendly, quick and attentive. There was always someone around to top off your water (you'll need it!). My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the tandoori chicken and coleslaw appetizer, the butter chicken, the Amayan curried beef, the basmati rice and most especially the garlic naan. I believe if you find a decent Indian restaurant, they can always do a solid garlic naan. Amaya's garlic naan is solid! The tandoori chicken appetizer was a nice warm beginning, a bit of spice with a juicy piece of meat. This separates Amaya's tandoori from many other places, their tandoori chicken was not dried out. The butter chicken is a warm, rich creamy concoction that leaves you craving more immediately. The Amayan curried beef leaves a nice spicy bite to the meal that makes you need a top off on your water! The bed of basmati rice provides a light comfortable setting for your main dishes. The only problem with the food aspect of my dinner was not with the food at all, it was with the ginger ale. It was slightly flat and not cold, it was on the warmish side. I want my drinks cold! As you can see, other than reletively minor complaints, Amaya's Bread Bar provides an awesome meal experience. Like most decent Indian places, there is a price to pay for the quality of the food. It's not cheap, but not expensive. It's reasonable! I would strongly suggest a visit Amaya's Bread Bar if you want to enjoy a great Indian meal that won't break the bank!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdsuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Okay food, a little over rated”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Everyone talks about Amaya all the time so I finally tried it out. The food, service, etc were all fine but I don't understand the hype and prefer some of the other Indian restaurants in Toronto.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraFeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome food and service!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I'm from Detroit, after coming here I felt that we were missing out on so much. The food was genuine, made with fresh ingredients and filled with flavor. Their naan and madras chicken curry was ever so filling. I was surprised by their service. My waiter was courteous, honest and hospitable. The downside was their biriyani, it could have used more flavor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rushbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amaya's Bread Bar also viewed

 

Been to Amaya's Bread Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing