We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed Dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tappo

Tappo
Ranked #5,296 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Liked the interior decor of this place and the delicious food. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Excellent service overall.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelAdventurer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    54
    37
    34
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dreadful disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Lovely decor and ambiance. The menu is a bit pricey but they is to be expected in the Distillery. Half way through our meal our waiter put on his jacket on and left ... never to return. We sat quite awhile with no one taking over our table, no drinks, no table clearing, no nothing. Eventually we just put our jackets on to leave and as we were standing at our table ready to leave a waitress finally approached us and .. offered us coffee or dessert. We are standing up with our coats on! No apology. Just pretention. We asked for the bill and left. Never to return.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charli70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and wine in an intimate, relaxed setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We chose Tappo because we were looking for a relatively quiet restaurant in a setting with nice ambience. With its location in the Stone Distillery building in old town Toronto, Tappo provided a nice, atmospheric setting. Service was excellent, and our waiter was very pleasant and attentive. The food was very good: steak with a red wine reduction was very tender and tasty; the fish dish was good but not great. Flourless chocolate cake for dessert was wonderful. All dishes were presented in a pleasing but unpretentious manner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oldgreywolfVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Wedding Night Blues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Went for a family wedding reception - don't know who was at fault more - the Wedding Planner or the venue but things were a little more than chaotic at the beginning and the Seating Plan was 'lost'. First wedding I've been to where you choose your own seat! Having said that the meal was delicious, if the service left a little to be desired. Again drinks were very expensive but as I've already said they are everywhere in Toronto. It is a lovely venue but still think a little more attention to detail wouldn't have gone amiss.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodie50XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful addition to the Distillery District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

When I fall for a new restaurant I really fall hard...
I first went to Tappo in the spring 2012....and was thrilled by the food, the pace of the room and the amazing wait staff.
I returned with a large (8) group and was curious to see if they could duplicate the experience....Yes....obviously there was less chatting with the staff ...but it was another great meal.
At the end of July, I took out my friend and boss to celebrate both a Birthday and another "year end"....
We had a great small table....another very relaxed but attentive waiter and another amazing meal.
The Osso Buco , the Lobster Ravioli...are two must haves....but don't be disappointed as the menu seems to change on a regular basis....
Only comment...the room looks amazing...on two occasions when we ordered "more expensive" red wine...it was a touch on the warm side....they have a wine fridge, they could have a chiller....but room temperature is not ok when it is really hot outside.
I am sure they will solve this...they have the drive to make this a top spot in Toronto.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank richard bowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tappo also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Tappo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing