We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique art pieces at very affordable prices”
Review of INDEXG B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toronto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
INDEXG B&B
Ranked #13 of 116 Toronto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The rooms are really stylish, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is healthy, simple, delicious. But best of all is the art shop and gallery attached where you can pick up original artworks from local artists at really affordable prices - from small lino cuts to painted wooden blocks, photographs and jewellery. This is a wonderful little corner of artisticToronto and everyone should be encouraged to turn off the main drag and find it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for INDEXG B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 77 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

It is nice to stay somewhere 'different' and this is it. A B&B above an art gallery! It is in a great location in a residential street on the up in the 'grungier' (and interesting) end of town. We loved the minimalist decor in our room and eating our continental breakfast in the gallery was a pleasant start to each day. Restaurant choices are a short walk away and the streetcar on Queen Street West gets you downtown in no time. Holly is a friendly and welcoming host. We would tell our friends to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

A friend in Toronto referred me to Index G for a recent visit. I'm used to staying in hotels and probably wouldn't have stayed here without the reference. It was great! The room was very clean, fairly large and had uncluttered, modern decor. Everything like new. Pretty much exactly like a newer hotel room only much more affordable. The owners Holly and Lee were very gracious and couldn't have been nicer. They live on the 3rd floor with rooms on the 2nd. You feel they're there if you need anything but never intrusive. Simple continental breakfast is served in the gallery. It's on a sidestreet in very trendy, younger, artsy area just west of downtown center. Walking distance to many restaurants, bars. If you'll be spending a lot of time closer to city center/Yonge St, factor in a short streetcar ride or a longish walk.
Given the surprisingly high price of hotel rooms here, this was an exceptional value. If you aren't looking for all the bells & whistles of a hotel (housekeeping, 17 towels, etc..) this is a great place. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goingsolo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I first stayed at Index G after finding it in an internet search. It seemed too good to be true but it wasn't. First off, this neighborhood is COOL. From the Gladstone to the Drake to the Beaconsfield and more art galleries that you can shake a stick at. West Queen West is an eclectic area that is both chic and gritty. It waaaaay cooler than the more touristy areas on the east end.

The rooms have a lovely zen-like feel to them and there is something so cool about eating breakfast in an art gallery. I like Index G so much it's become my annual fall trip.

We'll be heading back up in a couple weeks and I can't wait to see all of the new things happening in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: It's an up and coming area so don't stay here if you need a sanitized tourist trap.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filmstress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at Index G for 4 days. Really liked the clean and contemporary decor- a pleasant departure from the more traditional look you usually find at B and B's. It is located in a walkable and trendy area. Breakfast was ok. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnthegoPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I enjoyed a 2-night stay at IndexG recently on my first trip to Toronto. The property came highly recommended by a friend and I found it to be every bit as great as he did. I am an art lover, so the location above an art gallery was ideal. Holly is a most gracious host (as well as a talented photographer). My room was a good size and perfectly clean as was the bathroom. Furnishings are sleek and modern and the bed was very comfortable. The small continental breakfast in the sunny gallery was a wonderful treat and enough to start your day. The neighborhood is funky/urban chic with many many gorgeous boutiques, restaurants and bars. While IndexG is not in the middle of downtown, the streetcar is just a block away on Queen Street and easily connects with many other lines as well as the subway. Walking in this town is a pleasure, though, so you may just want to hoof it and take in all the beauty and color Toronto has to offer. As a B&B, this property would be best for a more independent traveler who does not require at lot of services or assistance or who wants more of a real neighborhood experience. I look forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: Only one room does not have an en suite bath so be sure to double check.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit_Bos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

A great price got us a simple breakfast, a contemporary room (not easy to find in many B&Bs), a hip Toronto location, and wonderful hospitality from Lee and Holly.

Easy transit options, a grocery store and fantastic restaurants are just steps away.

And it's lovely to have your breakfast each morning in an art gallery.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Queen Street and West Queen West
Drake Hotel Toronto
Drake Hotel Toronto
#11 of 137 in Toronto
624 reviews
West End
Gladstone Hotel
Gladstone Hotel
#24 of 137 in Toronto
766 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#8 of 137 in Toronto
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Toronto
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to INDEXG B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about INDEXG B&B

Address: 50 Gladstone Ave, Toronto, Ontario M6J 3K6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Toronto
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
INDEX G B&B is a 5 bedrooms Contemporary styleBed and Breakfast, located at the Queen West Art and Design district in Downtown Toronto.Great location at affordable price.We are just a short walk to various art galleries, restaurants, bars, cafe, shops and much more.Public transit almost right at door steps. Dufferin bus stop is a few steps away and 1 minute walk to the 24 hours Queen streetcar stop. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing