We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place to eat”

Jack Astor's Bar and Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Jack Astor's Bar and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #133 of 8,432 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“nice place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

we where there for a birhtday on two ocacions great place ,good food !great service!we have a
very good time!you has to trie that steak whit the gaucho souce! it is goooood!overall we love!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank printing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    226
    113
    33
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

It's what I picture as a stereotypical North American restaurant.

Great atmosphere, superb music, staff were friendly, helpful and enjoyed serving us!

The food was sensational, and beer even better.

Lots of selection and reasonably price for the center of Toronto.

Really enjoyed the meal start to finish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leeweedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Super attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Liking the menus offered at Jack Astor's we quite often select to eat there during our travels. This one though had an exceptional attentive staff.When ordering the Pad Thai I was immediately asked if I am ok with peanuts! When one of our friends dishes was not quite what she expected it to be she was immediately offered credit for it and the chance to order another one. The waitress was frequently passing the table asking if there was anything she could do for us. All this even more surprising because the restaurant was very busy.
A very pleasing dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foto928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is quite a good restaurant. There is a nice variety in the menu (a fair amount of Asian style dishes). The staff were very friendly and attentive even though it was quite busy. If you do not like cigarette smoke don't let them sit you near the patio doors as it was quite stinky inside the place near the doors.
When in town check it out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nasus Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great food & Ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Though the climb to get to this restaurant is substantial, the service, ambiance, and food is very much worth it. I went here twice in 2 days just to make sure it wasn't a fluke; let me tell you it isn't.

The service was quick and attentive, although we did wait a little too long to get our drinks. In the restaurant part the ambiance was quiet and you could have a conversation, but in the pub part, the music was a little loud. The food was fabulous! Steak was cooked perfectly, and everything else was delicious.

I would definitely eat here again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HRLY-RDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Astor's Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jack Astor's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing