We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking art work in a serene setting overlooking Lake Ontario.”
Review of Museum of Inuit Art - CLOSED

Museum of Inuit Art
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canada’s only public museum south of the Arctic devoted exclusively to Inuit art and culture. Explore over 600 works of art, including sculpture in stone, antler, ivory and bone, innovative prints, drawings, ceramics and textile art from our permanent collection and on loan from first-class collections across Canada. The Museum of Inuit Art is located inside the Queen’s Quay Terminal Building at Toronto’s Harbourfront. Open Monday-Sunday 10 AM to 6 PM.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breath taking art work in a serene setting overlooking Lake Ontario.”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Beautiful artwork, great audio tour and a unique look at an important period of history and the people who created the artwork.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank cobaltmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice cute quick stop on the way”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I personally thought this was a cute little attraction on my way to the distillery district. There are plenty places to see around the harbourfront when you explore the city. This is a cozy little shop/gallery where you can buy plenty of beautiful inuit art. Any piece would be a nice investment for the home I think. I just think this place is absolutely adorable in between walks. Also, the employees are very kind and knowledgeable!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi-AMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilghman, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good introduction to Inuit art”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

This small museum in a harborfront shopping gallery has a fairly representative collection of Inuit art. It also has a young and enthusiastic staff to discuss the art with you. It also has well-done signage that explains what you're looking at.
My wife and I are dealers in Inuit art and we see a great deal of it, but we're always happy to see more and to see unfamiliar works by favorite artists. For people unfamiliar with Inuit art, this museum would be a good introduction. You'd leave knowing a little about Inuit culture and 20th century history. Some experts and art dealers might be a little snooty about the collection, but it is what it is and that ain't bad.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank marylandtravel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
597 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I have never seen so much Inuit art in one place! It also traces the history of Inuit art with pieces of each era. If you enjoy Inuit art or want to learn about it, this is the place to go. Definitely a hidden gem.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank FuzzyBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“educative”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

museum located in the heart of harbofrount centre,..entrance admission is cheap, but if ur cheap u can get a coupon from Toronto public library and get there for free..overall, museum is dedicated to Inuit art,native people etc...90% of the exhibits are sculptures..not bad

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank stacey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Inuit Art also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing