We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely new hotel, massive room, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Ranked #34 of 132 Hotels in Toronto
Dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely new hotel, massive room, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights. Had never been to Toronto before. Walking distance of most things. Very very helpful and friendly reception staff. Room was massive with 2 of the most comfortable beds ever. Lovely big clean modern bathroom. Large plasma tv. Did not use the restaurant, bar or pool available. Again reception staff more than helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    560
    174
    53
    58
See reviews for
301
365
60
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

I went to The Hilton Garden Inn on Peter Street for a one night stay with my BF to celebrate our Anniversary, we opted for the King Room with Jacuzzi and Fireplace. For anyone wondering (like we were), the tub is huge, more than enough room for two people. The room itself and the hotel were very nicely decorated, combining old and new accents. We were on the 9th floor facing West and the view was so-so, but to be honest I wasn't there for the view anyway. I found it very quiet, although I did note a club directly next door with a patio, I could see the noise being a problem in the summer with nightlife in full swing. The area is FULL of restaurants and it's literally a 5 min walk from Front Street. The staff were very friendly and unintrusive, check in and check out were quick, under 5 mins. All in all, a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starry_One27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

Downtown Toronto for $125/night was great. I had to work a lot from my room. The comfortable ergonomic desk chair was great and free internet helped. Conveniently located with lots of great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilgrim-tabibito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

This Hotel was excellent! Stayed here 3 nights last weekend and I couldn't have asked for anything better. The rooms were very clean and nice. Everything was brand new and of great quality. The breakfast at the restaurant downstairs was delicious!! Although Friday and Saturday Night was a bit noisy compared to Thursday night it was tolerable. It is in a great location and in walking distance to all the entertainment in downtown Toronto!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny1010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

I want to start this review and say that 80% of the stay was an excellent one. The hotel is located in a perfect spot downtown, in the Theater District/Entertainment District and was well within walking distance to some of the major attractions. The price was good, the rooms clean and the staff very friendly. They have complementary coffee in the morning downstairs (not the gross room coffee), a restaurant and fresh baked cookies in the evening. The rooms had a nice flat screen TV and a small fridge to store any items in. The parking is a bit on the steep side at $35 but I assume that this might be the going rate for most hotels in the Toronto area. There are plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance as well as some Theaters and the Second City.

However, the hotel is located right next to a nightclub. The room we had looked out onto the nightclub's back patio. We heard it on Friday night and it wasn't too loud and was tolerable. Saturday night was a different story though. The music at the nightclub was very loud until 2 AM and we heard people down at the patio screaming until 3 AM. To make matters a bit worse, there seemed to be large groups of young people there on Sat night and we had a group of very noisy neighbors. Those two things combined, the nightclub and the noisy neighbors made it a very difficult night on Saturday.

To the hotel's credit, they did comp us our night for Saturday and did give us a free breakfast which was actually very tasty. We asked to move rooms first, but they did not have any available away from the nightclub. (Probably since those who complained earlier had already moved!) While I don't mind some noise in the night, the particular night we were there was not tolerable. It was probably our bad luck for being there near spring break. I would recommend this hotel for younger people who would like to be right in the middle of the Entertainment District or for those that don't mind a bit of noise or are night owls. If you are sensitive to noise, I would suggest maybe staying here during the week and not on a weekend.

Overall though the rest of the stay was pleasant and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manda33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

What a great place to stay in Toronto. The rooms were very clean and cozy. This place has a great service. Most likely will recommend to all my friends to stay there while in Toronto.
Close proximity to CN Tower and China Town as well as to all the night life. The best location ever!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PrimoP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

My family and I stayed at the Garden Inn for a week this January and found it incredible. The weekend became very busy but due to such helpful staff, my children remember Sonya and Melita for thier kindness in relocating our room and making sure we could get a peaceful sleep. The location welcomes a lot of party goers but there is no need to worry with such lovely people at the front desk to take care of you. I as well as my family would recommend this hotel to anyone with having great location and clean rooms. PLUS the great service allows you to feel comfortable in approaching with any concern you might have. A good stay is guaranteed here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briana1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#33 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,920 reviews
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#30 of 132 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Address: 92 Peter Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#38 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing