We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for it's price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Ranked #35 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel for it's price!”
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The hotel has a very good location. It's walking distance to restaurants and especially to CN Tower. We took one of those hop on and off tour bus and there was a stop not that far from the hotel.. We only stayed there for 1 night but we made the most out of it. The hotel staff was very nice and let us leave our luggage before and after check in so that we can go around the city. The room was very clean w/ very new furnishings. I am glad w/ Hilton Garden Inn's TV's. It's not like those old tv's from Marriott. We had bed and breakfast rate..food was really good. For the price we paid during our stay, it was really worth it. I'll stay in a Hilton Garden Inn again soon!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NChaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    587
    186
    58
    61
See reviews for
323
388
66
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

I stayed here Aug 15 for one night. The front desk was very busy, but polite
and apologized for the wait. I was there for a bachlorette party and had requested
2 adjoining rooms with 2 queen beds in each. The girl at the front desk was very helpful
and eventhough they were very busy, was able to get us our adjoining rooms.
The rooms are spacious, and clean with a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker.
I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking to in the heart of the action.
It is a 5 min walk to some of Toronto's best bars, clubs, and dining. It is also a 5 - 10
min walk to the theater district, Skydome, CN Tower, Roy Thompson Hall, and the Opera
house. It is about a 15 - 20 min walk to the Eaton Centre.
Yes when you get in to the hotel later at night you are questioned by the concierge what room you are in. This is because it is a very busy area at night, with all people who have just left the bars and clubs in the area so they have to make sure that some of those
intoxicate people are not just wandering into the hotel. I would rather be questioned then for them to let anyone just walk in! And the Valet parking was a bit tight, but it's Toronto, and space is limited!
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is heading to Toronto.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripplanner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

If you are looking for a hotel centrally located and no too expensive, this might be your place. It looked brand new and it was very clean, everything from room to washroom and public hotel spaces. There were a microwave and a mini fridge which was very convenient, and they actually worked. LCD TV and free internet connection at decent speed were available. Breakfast too expensive for what you got, even if the cooked food is made upon request. Try for free the delicious kind of home-made biscuits available all evenings at the front desk (or the fresh fruit in the morning for that matter) and go to grab your breakfast somewhere else. Gym is very good, and to my surprise, was empty the couple of times I went about. Don’t take the limo to the airport. It cost you at least double of the standard taxi ride. Main attractions (CN Tower, Skydome) are less than 10 min walk, as they are all the theatre district amenities. You don’t need a car to get the most of the city; I rather recommend you walk as much as you can, you would not regret it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thousandeurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
234 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

This is newish Hilton GI hotel, centrally located, with friendly service, clean. We stayed here for 5 days, and have almost no complaints. They should probably only improve housekeeping, as they occasionally forget to do certain things (replace used cups, sugar, to dust around the room...). You can also hear noises from the connecting rooms through the interconnecting doors, but there is nothing to do about that... Otherwise, our stay was fine, nice, clean, staff is great especially Andrew from the restaurant staff. They also have good fitness center, smallish pool, and quality restaurant. Free internet is included in price and of decent speed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Newish Hotel only a few blocks from the Rogers Centre and inside the Entertainment District (night club next door but no noise issues).

Clean and comfortable rooms, flat screen tv and decent size bathrooms.

Reception open 24 hours and free internet in the rooms a hugh bonus.

Great location to base your hoilday from.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

I spent a couple days in T.O. on a mini-vacation for some cycling, shopping, and the New York Yankees visiting the Blue Jays. I like squeaky clean new hotels. And this is one of them. Nice people behind the front desk, my HiltonHHonors requests were granted, and so on. Some caveats: The valet parking [only option] is $35 CAD. They use industrial-style elevators to move your car to lower floors, so trained operators are needed. Searching around for alternate parking in the area is a crapshoot, as much parking in the area [only a few blocks from the Rogers Centre/Skydome and inside the Entertainment District] is outdoors and prices are jacked up for events and weekends. I was able to jerk the system a bit by parking elsewhere and walking a couple blocks.
Otherwise the room was clean [and cleaned], the fridge and microwave worked too. And the free internet is speedy.
If you're there on a weekend there's a club/restaurant with music directly downstairs on the south side of the hotel. Try not to get a room on that side, even high up.
I think the place is best for the business or leisure traveler that comes in via foot, cab or public transportation - the excellent trolley system is nearby.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5w30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2009

At first i thought this was the perfect Hotel for our first trip to Toronto. The location is great, the hotel itself is fairly new so everything was clean and nicely presented. But then it was all down hill from there. First, there was absolutely no housecleaning/maid service! We were there for 4 days/3 nights and every day we had to track down a maid to request clean towels. We requested to have a maid clean our bathroom and take the trash out, no one ever came! Second, after 11pm you have to use your room card to get into the building. After swiping your card then you are questioned by someone about which room you are going to. One night, while we were coming back into the hotel, we had one guest come up to our room to visit us....but we were informed that our guest had 10 minutes!!!! and that after 10 minutes they were going to come up into our room to check if our guest was still there??!! Our guest was not spending the night only visiting us!! Third, when it was time to check out there was no bell boy to help with our bags. We were informed that we can get the cart and use it ourselves. Fourth, when we gave the valet our ticket stub he came back with the wrong car! It is not that hard to match up numbers on tickets to find a vehicle. How easy could it have been for someone else to leave with our truck if they could bring us the wrong car? Fifth, we were told there was 24 hour room service, when we inquired about room service we were told the kitchen was closed! Sixth, we were told over the phone that we could get a roll out bed (cot) for free, when we arrived we were informed that to add a roll out bed would be a fire hazard.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#10 of 136 in Toronto
721 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#34 of 136 in Toronto
3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#32 of 136 in Toronto
2,337 reviews
Downtown West
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#40 of 136 in Toronto
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Address: 92 Peter St, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#38 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing