We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in Downtown Toronto”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Ranked #36 of 136 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location in Downtown Toronto”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This Hilton Garden Inn is very typical of the brand; clean and efficient. The employees were very pleasant and professional. I like the location because it's within a few blocks of the theaters and restaurants on King Street - and only a few extra blocks to Union Station - all very walkable on a nice day. My only criticism with Hilton Garden Inns is that a few years ago they converted to adjustable mattresses - I expect as a marketing idea. I stay at a fair number of these hotels and find that most of these mattresses are now broken. By the time I wake up it's like sleeping in a hammock. That was the case on my recent stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poorfarm153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    586
    186
    57
    61
See reviews for
321
387
66
436
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hotel is in a great location, especially for late night food and drinks. The outside streets can get a little rowdy with college kids, but inside the hotel is quiet. Great staff, nice rooms and free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nepean
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for a dance competition. The parking is valet only and there were backlogs caused by multiple guests arriving at once. As a result, cars were backed up out on to the street and clogging traffic. Our room overlooked the construction on the street and the bar next door with an outdoor patio. The noise level was incredible. On our last day my daughter got ill and I asked the front desk if I could get cutlery so that she could eat in our room. The response was - you and your daughter can try stopping upstairs at the restaurant to see if they will lend you cutlery. No customer service whatsoever. I sent in an official complaint; was told that it would take a few days to get back to me and ... heard nothing. Further e-mails were not responded too. I will not go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, insist that you not be put on the side that has the bar with the outdoor pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGITDMarkKochhar, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We are so sorry we were not able to provide you and your daughter with the quality of service and comfort you deserved during your recent stay with us. Please know that this is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we will use your comments as part of our ongoing training for improved guest satisfaction and we hope you will consider staying with us again so we may show you this improved quality hospitality. If we may be of any additional assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our offices directly.

Thank you,

Mark Kochhar
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed for two nights in jaccuzi suite. Vallet parking staff are VERY polite, professional and friendly!!! Front desk, management, night security, kitchen and restaurant staff are very friendly and accommodating as well! Had a very nice stay. Really liked the underground valet parking where they take your car with a car elevator below the hotel to a secured area.

Rooms and hotel are clean. Restaurant is on second floor.
Have not checked out the pool or other things they offer other than restaurant.

ONLY negative was when we got to our room we had no remote for TV so we asked room service to check it out or send us one and no one followed through what so ever.

Restaurant is menu is different then room service menu and more expensive.

Will be staying again! Loved their customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My arrival was quick and courteous. My departure was also completed without delay. The staff was always prepared to assist me with any inquiries that I had. The valet service was done in a timely manner and the staff handled the impatient customers well with a pleasant demeanor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here as part of a getaway weekend from Thursday-Sunday. The hotel check-in process was friendly and quick. The location was a 20 minute walk from the train station and is in an area that you can walk to most areas of downtown (we walk a lot). The room was your standard hotel and was clean and looked to be well run. The free wifi was quick and we didn't have any issues in the room or anywhere on the property. The only issue was that the hotel is in an area with night clubs. We asked for a higher floor facing away from Peter St as this was suggested in some of the reviews on Trip Advisor. Our room was 815. We could easily still hear the club that wraps around a nearby building into the alley area. It was very obvious and there wasn't much we could do about the noise. I could only imagine that it would be really loud on the lower floors. Perhaps it is better higher up? Anyways there was nothing the hotel could do about it as it is not on their property but it may be an issue for some. The room includes a room safe (pet peeve) and had plenty of hot water (another pet peeve). Overall the hotel is great and I would suggest staying here if you are able to find a room that is away from the nearby clubs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stroudcrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is my second stay at this property and once again I was very pleased. Location is excellent on Peter Street one block from either King Street West or Queen Street for entertainment/restaurants and an easy walk in to the heart of the financial district. Easy walk to Rogers Centre for baseball.

Clean rooms, good size, everything works very well. My only issue was with the A/C which was not very powerful. Even setting it at its lowest setting (65 degrees) the temperature never got below 73 degrees. It was a hot week in Toronto but still, that seems weak.

For a clean, convenient hotel that's relatively new and in good shape, look no further.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTLSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#34 of 136 in Toronto
3,030 reviews
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#10 of 136 in Toronto
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#32 of 136 in Toronto
2,334 reviews
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Address: 92 Peter St, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#38 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing