We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whirlpool in the bedroom.. exceptional!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Whirlpool in the bedroom.. exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a night, got the whirlpool room and have to say it was unforgettable! The room and the hotel in general are extremely clean. Would definitely recommend this hotel, especially because of its central location in Toronto.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salsaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGITDJessieWallace, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Salsaa,

Thank you so much for such a great review! We are so glad you enjoyed one of our upgraded rooms, they are great for a relaxing getaway in the city - especially as the weather gets colder.

I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jessie Wallace
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    491
    150
    48
    48
See reviews for
248
308
53
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here because the room rate was $20/night less than the conference hotel. The room was comfortable and clean. I was on a Hilton Honors floor and the room had free internet, a fridge and a microwave. It was convenient because the portions at restaurants were large, and i could save $ on food by taking leftovers back to the room and heating them up later. I liked that they had a little window within the window that could be opened for fresh air. The hotel was only 2 and a half blocks from Queen Street, a few blocks from the theater area, a few blocks from good shopping. Overall, good location even though the surrounding blocks were mostly under construction. The pool, hot tub and fitness room were small but serviceable. I had little interaction with the staff, so hard to comment there. I did not use the restaurant, so hard to comment there.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor, you do not hear much street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WIsconsinTravelerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is the third time we stayed at this hotel and we noticed that the staff and management has changed. I tried to call the front desk to get someone to help with luggage upon check out and tried at least 4 times and let the phone ring several times and no one picked up. I was told the desk clerk was in the back room. My husband experienced the same problem. Right now there is a lot of construction near the hotel and it starts early morning. Although the hotel is convenient in the entertainment district many of the roads are being torn up and you are walking under scaffolds. Parking is also a problem and the manager admitted to that. We ended up keeping our car in a lot across from the hotel as my husband needed access to the car daily. The service in the restaurant was lacking when we had dinner only once.

Room Tip: Stay in a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGITDJessieWallace, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Janice D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am really sorry to read that you did not have a positive experience at our hotel, from trying to get assistance with your luggage, to having parking challenges. I can assure you that we take feedback like this very seriously, and that our guests' satisfaction is extremely important to us. Hearing that repeated phone calls weren't answered is concerning to me, and I will make sure to address this. Further, while we have very limited parking spaces, it is always our endeavour to assist our guests with finding alternative parking in the area.

Please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel to discuss your stay further
Thank you again for your time
Kind Regards,
Jessie Wallace
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

For someone in business, a 15 minute wait to sit, followed by 30 minutes wait for the food is just not acceptable. Loses the value of a breakfast coupon voucher for Diamond Members. I guess given the tub in the bedroom, this garden inn is not a business hotel. I expected being able to grab something and run. The room was spacious and clean though. The breakfast experience killed my day and I was late for a meeting. The regular Hilton in Toronto is a better choice for business travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've stayed with my group in this hotel October 11-14.
Arriving in the hotel after 12.5 hours flight and being welcome wormly by Shawn, the deputy manager, was the start of a wonderful 3 night stay .
He was not the only one - all the staff I dealt with were so co-operative and kind that it felt like we were being visiting family!!
Lora, the F&B manager was so helpful with our special needs, so were everybody!!!
On October 29th, 5 am, because of Hurican Sandy, we arrived back in Toronto by bus instead of flying from New York in order to continue with our flight back home - we spent few hours in between in this hotel - It felt like comming Home!!!
Thank you so much!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with south windows - there's a noisy bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGITDJessieWallace, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Mira G,

Thank you so much for such an awesome review of your stay. We were honored to host your group here, and so happy that everyone was pleased with our front desk and valet staff. Your comments about Laura and Shawn have been shared with the team. Hopefully, we will see you back in the future.

Thank you again for your time, and we wish you safe travels.
Kind Regards,
Jessie Wallace
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is okay, but not as nice as other downtown hotels. Unfortunately, its also very loud with construction by day and party goers by night (outside). Forget about breakfast at the restaurant. As is typical with Hilton breakfasts, it takes forever if you even get served. At this hotel, I was seated at a dirty table which no one ever came to wipe and no one took my order. After 20 minutes and a yogurt I left without any staff even so much as glancing my way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lark_law1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was very easy to access from the Gardiner Expressway. Near many restaurants that offer a variety of food options. The hotel is also very close to the theatre district. We were there to see a concert at Air Canada and it was easy to get there. It was raining hard while we were there so we used taxis but many of the places are within walking distance.
The hotel is relatively new so the decor was current. The rooms nicely appointed. Our room, corridors and lobby were all very clean. Room was sound proof. Valet staff friendly as were the people serving breakfast. Wish we had had time to go to the pool. Only issue was the front desk staff were a little confused about whether the restaurant was open or not and how to access a taxi. They were friendly!

Room Tip: We enjoyed ou corner room as it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mclark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#31 of 137 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 1,725 reviews
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#34 of 137 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Templar Hotel
Templar Hotel
#74 of 137 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#26 of 137 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Address: 92 Peter Street, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#38 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing