We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why the long wait for breakfast? Not focused towards business traveller.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Ranked #38 of 138 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

For someone in business, a 15 minute wait to sit, followed by 30 minutes wait for the food is just not acceptable. Loses the value of a breakfast coupon voucher for Diamond Members. I guess given the tub in the bedroom, this garden inn is not a business hotel. I expected being able to grab something and run. The room was spacious and clean though. The breakfast experience killed my day and I was late for a meeting. The regular Hilton in Toronto is a better choice for business travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,136 - 1,142 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've stayed with my group in this hotel October 11-14.
Arriving in the hotel after 12.5 hours flight and being welcome wormly by Shawn, the deputy manager, was the start of a wonderful 3 night stay .
He was not the only one - all the staff I dealt with were so co-operative and kind that it felt like we were being visiting family!!
Lora, the F&B manager was so helpful with our special needs, so were everybody!!!
On October 29th, 5 am, because of Hurican Sandy, we arrived back in Toronto by bus instead of flying from New York in order to continue with our flight back home - we spent few hours in between in this hotel - It felt like comming Home!!!
Thank you so much!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with south windows - there's a noisy bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGITDJessieWallace, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Mira G,

Thank you so much for such an awesome review of your stay. We were honored to host your group here, and so happy that everyone was pleased with our front desk and valet staff. Your comments about Laura and Shawn have been shared with the team. Hopefully, we will see you back in the future.

Thank you again for your time, and we wish you safe travels.
Kind Regards,
Jessie Wallace
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is okay, but not as nice as other downtown hotels. Unfortunately, its also very loud with construction by day and party goers by night (outside). Forget about breakfast at the restaurant. As is typical with Hilton breakfasts, it takes forever if you even get served. At this hotel, I was seated at a dirty table which no one ever came to wipe and no one took my order. After 20 minutes and a yogurt I left without any staff even so much as glancing my way.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lark_law1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was very easy to access from the Gardiner Expressway. Near many restaurants that offer a variety of food options. The hotel is also very close to the theatre district. We were there to see a concert at Air Canada and it was easy to get there. It was raining hard while we were there so we used taxis but many of the places are within walking distance.
The hotel is relatively new so the decor was current. The rooms nicely appointed. Our room, corridors and lobby were all very clean. Room was sound proof. Valet staff friendly as were the people serving breakfast. Wish we had had time to go to the pool. Only issue was the front desk staff were a little confused about whether the restaurant was open or not and how to access a taxi. They were friendly!

Room Tip: We enjoyed ou corner room as it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mclark10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We had a long, fun weekend in Toronto and this was a terrific place as a center of operations. We were able to walk to the CN tower, Chinatown and all around. The only downside was the club next door was loud at night but we were high up enough that we didn't lose sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Guided by other reviews on tripadvisor, I chose the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown for a recent stay in Toronto. As usual, the other reviewers didn't lead me astray! It was the perfect location for our needs - close to restaurants and shopping - and was new, clean, and very comfortable. We had a room on the top floor, but I could still hear noise from the club next door on Friday and Saturday nights. Since I live in downtown Vancouver, I'm used to city noise and active nightlife, so it didn't bother me, but if you're coming from a quiet suburb or are very sensitive to noise at night, this might not be the ideal location for you. I had a very pleasant stay, and especially liked the fabulous shower.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank girl_from_vancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The room was clean and spacious. Excellent beds and pillows. The room had a large LCD TV, microwave, fridge and coffeemaker with 2 mugs.
Please note this hotel sits in a club area of the theatre district and if you are a light sleeper ask for a room on a higher floor on the quiet side of the building- it will help.
The pool is small and the hot tub temp felt quite cool.
Restaurant staff appeared lost and guessing on what they should do next during the breakfast hours of the hotel's restaurant - however the food was always served hot.
Let's end this review on a good note - Fresh cookies were available at the front desk after 5pm and always looked forward to this little treat after a day of meetings.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank advcardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#36 of 138 in Toronto
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Toronto Downtown
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#29 of 138 in Toronto
2,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Address: 92 Peter St, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Toronto
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range: $165 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing