We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in downtown Toronto.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Ranked #38 of 137 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in downtown Toronto.”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I stayed at the HGI Toronto for the first time in February. My previous experiences with Toronto downtown hotels had not been good. Other hotels were over-priced and pretentious.

This hotel however was a breath of fresh air. A beautiful hotel in a great location. The staff was fantastic from check-in to check-out. The valet parking was quick and easy. The rooms are clean and very spacious. It is a fairly new hotel so everything is modern and un great shape.

The restaurant was fantastic. The free breakfast for Diamond members was a made to order breakfast, not a boring buffet. The bar was friendly and the evening menu was amazing. But all of that would not have mattered if the staff was not so fantastic. Everyone was welcomed with a smile and amazing service.

From now on whenever I stay in downtown Toronto, this will be the hotel for me.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPig_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    593
    189
    58
    63
See reviews for
331
391
67
439
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I booked 3 rooms on short notice focusing on being in downtown Toronto. There were other choices, but I am glad this was our choice given how friendly, confortable and relatively inexpensive it was. The service was quite good. Valet parking was expensive, but this is expected in a city like Toronto with limited downtown space.

The room was a fairly typical Hilton Garden Inn room, which I like, with great & free high speed access, a fridge that came in very handy and a solid shower and bed. The rooms were warm and comfortable, and the hotel has a small but cozy lobby with a fireplace, business center and small market shop.

We could walk to the CN Tower and Skydome as well as many restaurants, and the customers we were calling on were close by, so the location in Toronto was great for us.

With these Hilton hotels, I am always pretty certain of what to expect. For downtown Toronto, I recommend this property.

Room Tip: This is a vertical hotel that appears to be somewhat busy. I suggest a room away from the elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoasterWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giurgiu, Giurgiu, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed there for 6 nights. Comfortable bed, breakfast was ok. Nice view from upper floors. Walking distance to main attractions. There was a door between our room and the next one and we felt a little bit uncomfortable, we could hear our neighbours conversations with no effort and they could do the same.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is a great hotel, excellent value, nice pool and fitness area. My only complaint is that the front desk staff could have been a bit more accommodating. I found them to be a bit rude and difficult to deal with.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had a Wag Jaunt for a 2 day stay this past week for 4 friends ( my 19 yr dtr. and her friend and myself and a friend). We had no trouble getting there - handy to Lakeshore Blvd. Walking distance to so many things to do and see. Cora's is just down the street for lunch. They let us have early check in and late check out. I thought it would be noisy at night when the clubs close but we were on the 9th floor on the east side and did not hear a thing.
Breakfast was wonderful- the staff encouraged us to take whatever we wanted to go - with paper bags made available. Nice lobby with fresh cookies in the evening.
We would love to come back.

Room Tip: Higher up is probably quieter - we were on the 9th floor and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EDV1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgitdgm, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear EDV1958 - thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review here after your most recent stay. We have had a great response from the folks who booked through WagJag Jaunt - especially about the breakfast (although it IS the same for everyone!). Please don't be a stranger and come back and visit us again soon!

Sally Ifill, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnes Water, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The hotel is walking distance to downtown and public transport is right outside. We came in from Australia and the staff were fantastic in directing us to all the places that were of interest. The reception and bar staff were great in giving us suggestions and tips on where to go and how to get there. The hotel is a bit old and has a strange smell of tooooo many chemicals used in cleaning, but I guess that does mean they do clean. The rooms were small but had everything and generally we had an enjoyable stay and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotabbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgitdgm, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear hotabbots - thank you posting your review here but I am concerned that we are not the hotel you stayed at! The reason I say that is that we are not an old hotel - when you stayed in September 2011, we had been open just 2 and 1/2 years! Of course, I do realise that IS old for some cities where hotels open up almost weekly - so maybe I am mistaken! Either way, we certainly do appreciate the feedback and would love to welcome you back one day!

Sally Ifill, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I recently stayed at te Hilton Garden Inn to try something different. The lobby is quite lovely, the parking is expensive. Be aware that this is in the club district so be prepared to encounter drunk people on the weekend stumbling about. The room was clean and quite large. We had a room with a stand up shower which was fine by me. I truly disliked the bed. It was an adjustable bed that allows you to choose the softness, I found it to be lumpy and uncomfortable. we enjoyed the pool and hot tub albeit not very deep. There is also a small fitness center. My fav part was the breakfast buffet. The price is very reasonabe and the quality of the food was great. They let you take some take out back to the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesPharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgitdgm, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, March 4, 2012
Dear JamesPharm - thank you so much for having posted your review here after your recent stay. So sorry that you found the bed to be uncomfortable. The breakfast really is getting the best reviews on here recently!

Regards,

Sally Ifill, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Residence Inn Toronto Downtown/Entertainment District
Downtown West
SoHo Metropolitan
SoHo Metropolitan
#9 of 137 in Toronto
751 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Hilton Toronto
Hilton Toronto
#34 of 137 in Toronto
3,065 reviews
Downtown West
Hyatt Regency Toronto
Hyatt Regency Toronto
#32 of 137 in Toronto
2,379 reviews
Downtown West
InterContinental Toronto Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown
Address: 92 Peter St, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
#38 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing