We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rectory Cafe

Rectory Cafe
Ranked #325 of 8,434 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Toronto
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The food was great, and service quick. A few signs might help locate it better. But just of the boardwalk to the right of Wards Beach. It's by the water edge, but the wall prevents seeing the water from the seating area.

Great food though, better than the other fast food options elsewhere on the island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    87
    22
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Secret Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This a fabulous treat! We were cycling on the Islands yesterday and discovered this wonderful retreat.It felt like we were somehow transported to a magical place far away. Loved the experience and lunch

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sublime island venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The Rectory Cafe on Toronto Island
A slice of cottage country on the City's doorstep, The secluded oasis that is Rectory Cafe is located on Ward island within a shady sun- dappled copse scooched up to The Island's tree lined board walk.
With interesting menu options and cocktails this is a delightful place to dine at any time of day but an especially beguiling venue in the evening when most of the day trippers have returned home as it is open till 10pm in the summer.
www.therectorycafe.com
www.britgirlintoronto@wordpress.com

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went to the Rectory Cafe on Ward's Island for lunch. It was a very pleasant surprise. It is a very small cafe with indoor and outdoor seating in a beautiful setting. Our server was excellent as was the food. Portion size was just right for lunch and our food was served prompty. The burgers were very tasty and probably the best in recent memory. There are many kinds of exotic teas on the menu that are worth a try. Just a beautiful cafe to stop in on a trip to the beautiful islands.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoyBar_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nutrition meets Nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our day away from the bustle and noise of the city was capped by a wonderful lunch at the Rectory Cafe, Ward's Island. After a short ferry ride from Toronto's harbour front and a leisurely walk through the pathways and gardens, we came upon the cafe just in time for lunch. We were seated at a nicely shaded table on the patio. I ordered carrot-ginger-orange soup, the frittata and a glass of viognier. The service was friendly and prompt, the food fresh and very tasty. The Rectory Cafe has a relaxed, country atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagmamanCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rectory Cafe also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Rectory Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing